Alexa no longer discovering Indigo installed/managed devices

Posted on
Fri Dec 20, 2019 6:01 am
autolog offline
Posts: 3077
Joined: Sep 10, 2013
Location: West Sussex, UK [GMT aka UTC]

Re: Alexa no longer discovering Indigo installed/managed dev

CliveS wrote:
... and I can now "Turn On and Off " the garage door, (anyone got "Open Garage Door" to work?). ...


You won't get "Open Garage Door" to work with the standard setup for the plugin as it is emulating a Philips Hue lamp and it doesn't make sense to open a lamp. :wink:

However, you can set up a Routine in the iOS Alexa App to process an Indigo Action setup in the plugin, such that you can then say open and close. :)

Posted on
Fri Dec 20, 2019 2:03 pm
CliveS offline
Posts: 420
Joined: Jan 10, 2016
Location: Medomsley, County Durham, UK

Re: Alexa no longer discovering Indigo installed/managed dev

autolog wrote:
CliveS wrote:
... and I can now "Turn On and Off " the garage door, (anyone got "Open Garage Door" to work?). ...


You won't get "Open Garage Door" to work with the standard setup for the plugin as it is emulating a Philips Hue lamp and it doesn't make sense to open a lamp. :wink:

However, you can set up a Routine in the iOS Alexa App to process an Indigo Action setup in the plugin, such that you can then say open and close. :)


Thanks for the pointer Jon, I used a virtual device and turned it on/off in a routine, works great.

Alexa, Open garage door
Hey Siri, Close garage door
Hey Siri, Open garage door
Alexa, Close garage door
All work 100%

I am in seventh heaven :)

CliveS

Indigo 7.4.0 : MacOS Catalina 10.15.1 : Mac mini Server (Mid 2011) : 2 GHz Core i7. : 8 GB. : 2 x 256GB Samsung EVO SSD
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The best way to get the right answer on the Internet is not to ask a question, it's to post the wrong answer

Posted on
Sat Jan 04, 2020 4:36 pm
Fxguy offline
Posts: 121
Joined: Mar 24, 2011

Re: Alexa no longer discovering Indigo installed/managed dev

Hoping someone can help, I miss Alexa being able to control indigo.

So I bought a 1st Gen Echo Dot with Firmware Version 641571120 installed. I followed all of Jay's instructions step by step (twice) and still no luck. Alexa will discover my TV but not the Hue Bridge. I'm not even getting any activity in the Log Window either.

Can someone please help me try to troubleshoot?

Thanks!

Posted on
Sun Jan 05, 2020 7:42 am
autolog offline
Posts: 3077
Joined: Sep 10, 2013
Location: West Sussex, UK [GMT aka UTC]

Re: Alexa no longer discovering Indigo installed/managed dev

As a first step, reload the plugin and post all the startup messages output to the Indigo Log.

Just to double check nothing untoward is happening.

Also, double check that the IP address is correct for your host computer if overridden in the plugin config. :)

Posted on
Sun Jan 05, 2020 9:15 am
Fxguy offline
Posts: 121
Joined: Mar 24, 2011

Re: Alexa no longer discovering Indigo installed/managed dev

Thanks.

I'm sure the IP address is correct.

Here is the output of reloading:

Reloading plugin "Alexa-Hue Bridge 3.0.35"
Stopping plugin "Alexa-Hue Bridge 3.0.35" (pid 44970)
Alexa-Hue Bridge Alexa-Hue Bridge shutdown requested
Alexa-Hue Bridge HTTP server stopping...
Alexa-Hue Bridge HTTP server stopped
Stopped plugin "Alexa-Hue Bridge 3.0.35"
Starting plugin "Alexa-Hue Bridge 3.0.35" (pid 51064)
Alexa-Hue Bridge Alexa-Hue Bridge initialising . . .
Alexa-Hue Bridge Plugin Host IP Address is discovered as: '192.168.0.7'
Alexa-Hue Bridge non-Echo network traffic being filtered out
Alexa-Hue Bridge Alexa discovery request logging enabled
Alexa-Hue Bridge Warning Debugging enabled for Alexa-Hue Bridge: General, Server, Broadcaster, Responder, non-Echo Network Filter, Method Trace
Started plugin "Alexa-Hue Bridge 3.0.35"
Alexa-Hue Bridge Alexa-Hue Bridge initialization complete
Alexa-Hue Bridge 'Alexa Hue Bridge' has 3 Alexa Devices published
Alexa-Hue Bridge Starting Hue Bridge 'Alexa Hue Bridge' web server thread
Alexa-Hue Bridge Starting Hue Bridge 'Alexa Hue Bridge' discovery thread as 'Auto Start Discovery' requested
Alexa-Hue Bridge Alexa-Hue Bridge 'Alexa Hue Bridge' started: Host: 192.168.0.7 Port: 8178
Alexa-Hue Bridge Alexa-Hue Bridge checking network access by attempting to access 'www.google.com'
Alexa-Hue Bridge Alexa-Hue Bridge network access check to www.google.com successfully completed.

Tim

Posted on
Sun Jan 05, 2020 1:49 pm
autolog offline
Posts: 3077
Joined: Sep 10, 2013
Location: West Sussex, UK [GMT aka UTC]

Re: Alexa no longer discovering Indigo installed/managed dev

Hi Tim,
Looking at your log output, I see you have activated the non-Echo filter in the plugin config.

Have you defined an Echo device for your new Gen 1 device?

The notes against the option says:
Enable the non-Echo Filter to filter out network traffic that doesn't come from an Echo. If you enable this, YOU MUST DEFINE INDIGO ECHO DEVICES to refect the Echos you have in use, otherwise the plugin won't receive any messages from the Echos as it won't know about them. Using the filter will reduce the network load on the plugin and may help to make it run more effectively.

Posted on
Mon Jan 06, 2020 12:04 pm
Fxguy offline
Posts: 121
Joined: Mar 24, 2011

Re: Alexa no longer discovering Indigo installed/managed dev

Thanks! Hadn't realized that was what was going on. Defined the device and all is good now!

Posted on
Mon Jan 06, 2020 2:31 pm
autolog offline
Posts: 3077
Joined: Sep 10, 2013
Location: West Sussex, UK [GMT aka UTC]

Re: Alexa no longer discovering Indigo installed/managed dev

Fxguy wrote:
Thanks! Hadn't realized that was what was going on. Defined the device and all is good now!

Excellent - glad you got it working. :D

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest