Alexa no longer discovering Indigo installed/managed devices

Posted on
Wed Sep 11, 2019 6:35 am
MR_ROBOT_ offline
Posts: 7
Joined: Feb 11, 2019

Re: Alexa no longer discovering Indigo installed/managed dev

I seem to be having same issue as described by others here :(
I have:
1x Gen 2 Dot with version 644580520
1x Gen 3 Dot with version 2785573252
1x Echo Plus Gen 2 with version 2785573252
1x Sonos Beam (integrated Alexa) with version 5200013

All was working with Alexa Hue Bridge plugin until about a week ago when Aexa Hue Bridge plugin suddenly stopped detecting devices.
Tried everything in this thread so far but no joy:
1. Turn off all devices apart from Gen 2 echo dot and rediscover - no luck
2. Remove all devices from alexa.amazon.com and rediscover - no luck
3. Restart plugin and rediscover - no luck
4. Create new Alexa hue bridge with single device setup and attempt rediscovery - no luck
5. Restart Indigo Server - no luck
6. Reset power on router - no luck
7. Ensured ethernet is OFF and only wifi connected on mac Mini HA Indigo Server - no luck

Guessing from above comments its the xxx520 s/w update that stopped it working.

Have i missed some other options to try and bring my setup back to life? I miss the convenience of Alexa throughout the house with Indigo controls.

Posted on
Wed Sep 11, 2019 8:52 am
roquej offline
User avatar
Posts: 309
Joined: Jan 04, 2015

Re: Alexa no longer discovering Indigo installed/managed dev

On my system, discovery works - it finds all the devices. However, the commands don't work.

I have:
3 Dots v2
1 Echo v2
1 Echo show v2
1 Fire Cube

This configuration worked properly until this week. :(

JP

Posted on
Wed Sep 11, 2019 8:57 am
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 15595
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Alexa no longer discovering Indigo installed/managed dev

MR_ROBOT_ wrote:
Have i missed some other options to try and bring my setup back to life?


Short of getting a gen 1 device, there doesn't appear to be anything else to try.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Wed Sep 11, 2019 8:58 am
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 15595
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Alexa no longer discovering Indigo installed/managed dev

roquej wrote:
On my system, discovery works - it finds all the devices.


Yep, that seems to be the typical scenario after the Echo firmware update unfortunately.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Wed Sep 11, 2019 9:25 am
Barnman offline
Posts: 87
Joined: Mar 01, 2009
Location: Parkton, NC

Re: Alexa no longer discovering Indigo installed/managed dev

jay (support) wrote:
MR_ROBOT_ wrote:
Have i missed some other options to try and bring my setup back to life?


Short of getting a gen 1 device, there doesn't appear to be anything else to try.

I’m searching eBay for one, seems to be a lot of people listing gen 2’s as a gen 1. I found one that the picture is a gen 1, but in his reviews, a person asked and made sure it was a gen 1, and still received a gen 2. I’m a little leery about purchasing!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Wed Sep 11, 2019 10:06 am
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 15595
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Alexa no longer discovering Indigo installed/managed dev

There was an Echo Plus (gen 1) on Amazon the other day when I looked. I asked but nobody replied that they'd tried that one yet, but it might work. More expensive though.

And, yeah, when I looked at eBay there were several claiming gen 1 but showing picts of gen 2.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Wed Sep 11, 2019 10:07 am
Barnman offline
Posts: 87
Joined: Mar 01, 2009
Location: Parkton, NC

Re: Alexa no longer discovering Indigo installed/managed dev

jay (support) wrote:
There was an Echo Plus (gen 1) on Amazon the other day when I looked. I asked but nobody replied that they'd tried that one yet, but it might work. More expensive though.

And, yeah, when I looked at eBay there were several claiming gen 1 but showing picts of gen 2.

Is that the one with the hub?

Posted on
Wed Sep 11, 2019 10:59 am
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 15595
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Alexa no longer discovering Indigo installed/managed dev

Barnman wrote:
Is that the one with the hub?


Yep.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Wed Sep 11, 2019 11:01 am
Barnman offline
Posts: 87
Joined: Mar 01, 2009
Location: Parkton, NC

Re: Alexa no longer discovering Indigo installed/managed dev

jay (support) wrote:
Barnman wrote:
Is that the one with the hub?


Yep.

I guess the only reason I hesitate, is one of my gen two’s didn’t update, and it is still down again


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Wed Sep 11, 2019 12:54 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 15595
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Alexa no longer discovering Indigo installed/managed dev

Barnman wrote:
I guess the only reason I hesitate, is one of my gen two’s didn’t update, and it is still down again


That's an interesting question then: is anyone with a gen 1 Echo down? I'm not.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Wed Sep 11, 2019 8:00 pm
mundmc offline
User avatar
Posts: 541
Joined: Sep 14, 2012

Re: Alexa no longer discovering Indigo installed/managed dev

Just noting this- I have 2 Echo 1’s, at least 2 dot 1’s, and assorted other echo stuff.

No problems here, though I have encountered a POTENTIAL new difficulty in discovering new devices on my Echo 1.

Posted on
Thu Sep 12, 2019 7:24 am
jalves offline
Posts: 525
Joined: Jun 16, 2013

Re: Alexa no longer discovering Indigo installed/managed dev

I've been watching this thread with some trepidation. Currently my system is working just fine (knock wood) and I'm hoping it stays that way.

Just to add some data points to this discussion, my setup is:
1 Echo, Software version 641571120
2 Dots, Software version 644580520
1 Dot, Software version 645583020
1 Dot, Software version 641575220

Hope this helps in what appears to be a very muddled puzzle.

Running Indigo 7.3.1 on a 27" iMac (mid-2017), 40G memory, 1T Fusion Drive, OS X 10.14.6
Jeff

Posted on
Thu Sep 12, 2019 11:51 am
bmiddaugh offline
Posts: 3
Joined: Nov 17, 2013

Re: Alexa no longer discovering Indigo installed/managed dev

Noticed this same exact thing happened to me on Tuesday evening.
Nothing on the network or my server changed, just Alexa suddenly unable to do anything with indigo.
I checked the echo dot firmwares and sure enough, they were all the ones that seem to kill this plugin.
After several hours of troubleshooting, I decided to chuck the alexa-hue bridge and set up the homekit bridge.
Everything back up and...
added bonus...
I no longer have the depressed sounding "ok" when I ask siri to turn on any lights or any other actions.

Posted on
Thu Sep 12, 2019 1:25 pm
Colly offline
Posts: 279
Joined: Jan 16, 2016
Location: Ireland

Re: Alexa no longer discovering Indigo installed/managed dev

Colly wrote:
3 Echo's on my network, plus 2 x Fire TV and a couple of Fire Tablets.
Echo software versions 641575220 x 2 and the other is 2785572740.
No issues at all :D

So the Amazon Software gremlins visited me today for firmware updates. I knew they were due to visit so took one of my Gen 2 dots offline (not the master dot the plugin needed to work). As everyone else has been finding out my system then went offline. Just reconnected my older firmware dot (641575220) and everything back up and running. I wonder will the gremlins leave me alone now :lol:

Posted on
Thu Sep 12, 2019 2:41 pm
kwijibo007 offline
Posts: 293
Joined: Sep 27, 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Alexa no longer discovering Indigo installed/managed dev

bmiddaugh wrote:
After several hours of troubleshooting, I decided to chuck the alexa-hue bridge and set up the homekit bridge.


It would cost me over $2000 to replace all my Alexas with HomePods . As fabulous as the HomeKit plugin is, there is still the potential that Apple may one day kill it with a software update too.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest