Autolog Foscam HD Controller Discussion

Posted on
Tue Oct 27, 2020 8:19 am
autolog offline
Posts: 3404
Joined: Sep 10, 2013
Location: West Sussex, UK [GMT aka UTC]

Re: Autolog Foscam HD Controller Discussion

Hi Bill,
That feature is designed to work on jpgs stored on the Apple Mac and already retrieved from the camera. It won't work trying to access the SD card on the camera. You need to set the camera up so that the plugin can FTP to the camera and retrieve the images.

See the documentation here: Foscam_HD_Controller Wiki :)

Posted on
Tue Oct 27, 2020 9:34 am
bking77 offline
Posts: 10
Joined: Nov 15, 2018

Re: Autolog Foscam HD Controller Discussion

Here is a piece of the plugin log when the error happens:

2020-10-25 19:50:37.676 DEBUG Plugin.polling.run 'Outside Camera' [192.168.1.22:88] Start of While Loop ...
2020-10-25 19:50:37.724 DEBUG Plugin.DebugSend.run Command: getDevState [camera]
2020-10-25 19:50:37.724 DEBUG Plugin.MonitorSend.run Command Sent To Camera Outside Camera [192.168.1.22:88]: http://192.168.1.22:88/cgi-bin/CGIProxy.fcgi?usr=<USERNAME>&pwd=<PASSWORD>&cmd=getDevState
2020-10-25 19:50:37.803 DEBUG Plugin.DebugReceive.run <CGI_Result>
<result>0</result>
<IOAlarm>0</IOAlarm>
<motionDetectAlarm>2</motionDetectAlarm>
<soundAlarm>0</soundAlarm>
<record>0</record>
<sdState>1</sdState>
<sdFreeSpace>31016944k</sdFreeSpace>
<sdTotalSpace>31147664k</sdTotalSpace>
<ntpState>0</ntpState>
<ddnsState>0</ddnsState>
<url></url>
<upnpState>0</upnpState>
<isWifiConnected>0</isWifiConnected>
<wifiConnectedAP></wifiConnectedAP>
<infraLedState>1</infraLedState>
<humanDetectAlarmState>0</humanDetectAlarmState>
</CGI_Result>

2020-10-25 19:50:37.803 DEBUG Plugin.DebugReceive.run Response received from camera: Outside Camera [192.168.1.22:88] to 'getDevState' =
<CGI_Result>
<result>0</result>
<IOAlarm>0</IOAlarm>
<motionDetectAlarm>2</motionDetectAlarm>
<soundAlarm>0</soundAlarm>
<record>0</record>
<sdState>1</sdState>
<sdFreeSpace>31016944k</sdFreeSpace>
<sdTotalSpace>31147664k</sdTotalSpace>
<ntpState>0</ntpState>
<ddnsState>0</ddnsState>
<url></url>
<upnpState>0</upnpState>
<isWifiConnected>0</isWifiConnected>
<wifiConnectedAP></wifiConnectedAP>
<infraLedState>1</infraLedState>
<humanDetectAlarmState>0</humanDetectAlarmState>
</CGI_Result>

2020-10-25 19:50:37.807 THREADDEBUG Plugin.method.processGetDevState CLASS: Plugin
2020-10-25 19:50:37.808 THREADDEBUG Plugin.method._ftpClientRetrieve CLASS: Plugin
2020-10-25 19:50:37.853 ERROR Plugin.DebugMessageHandling._ftpClientRetrieve alarmFtpDateFolder: Line '688' has error='550 Can't change directory to /IPCamera/MGS2012_00626EEE429C/snap: No such file or directory'

Thanks,
Bill

Posted on
Tue Oct 27, 2020 9:48 am
autolog offline
Posts: 3404
Joined: Sep 10, 2013
Location: West Sussex, UK [GMT aka UTC]

Re: Autolog Foscam HD Controller Discussion

Hi Bill,
What happens if you paste /IPCamera/MGS2012_00626EEE429C/snap into Finder > Go > Go to Folder ?

Posted on
Tue Oct 27, 2020 3:59 pm
bking77 offline
Posts: 10
Joined: Nov 15, 2018

Re: Autolog Foscam HD Controller Discussion

Hi Jon, thanks for your replies.

When I use "Go to Folder" it takes me to the 'snap' folder within the 'MGS2012_00626EEE429C' folder.

Regarding your first reply, I'm quite confused. Isn't the FTP Client mode suposed to fetch the files from the camera's FTP server? Do you have any suggestions as to how I could set up the plugin?
Sorry about my limited understanding of FTP stuff,
Bill

Posted on
Wed Oct 28, 2020 11:34 am
autolog offline
Posts: 3404
Joined: Sep 10, 2013
Location: West Sussex, UK [GMT aka UTC]

Re: Autolog Foscam HD Controller Discussion

It's probably me getting confused as it was coded a while ago and I don't use FTP for my usage.

I will have to fit an SD into one of my cameras and test it out to be able to offer further advice.
It may take 2-3 days.

Apologies for the inconvenience. :|

Posted on
Wed Oct 28, 2020 4:41 pm
bking77 offline
Posts: 10
Joined: Nov 15, 2018

Re: Autolog Foscam HD Controller Discussion

Absolutely no problem. I'm very grateful for your work on this plugin! BTW, I'm curious as to how you get the images onto your computer without FTP. I was under the impression that was the only way to do it.

Thanks,
Bill

Posted on
Mon Nov 09, 2020 10:10 am
autolog offline
Posts: 3404
Joined: Sep 10, 2013
Location: West Sussex, UK [GMT aka UTC]

Re: Autolog Foscam HD Controller Discussion

Hi Bill,
Sorry it has taken longer than I anticipate to get back to you. :|

Bottom line, is I now know what is wrong and I should be able to fix it in due course.

In more detail, I have finally setup a test camera, with SD Card and managed to get it linked to the Foscam HD Controller plugin on my development system. It was a bit problematic as I was having problems accessing the camera (Foscan R4M) via a web browser (that uses a Foscam plugin). I tried on my Mac and on Windows. Finally resolved by downloading the FoscamVMS app from the Mac App Store. I reset the camera and using the Foscam App on my iPhone updated to the latest firmware. So everything on the camera front is up-to-date.

So it looks like the camera setting I have to use is Original, not Amba.

Assuming you are using FoscamVMS, the FTP server on the camera is enabled by going into the section for Storage Management > Video storage path = SD card. Clicking on the Manage SD card button will launch a web browser to display the FTP files.

What this showed me is that the file naming structure of the files on the SD card has changed. I will need to change how the plugin handles this. It is slightly more involved than I would like as it affects how the files will be stored on the Mac when the plugin FTPs to the camera to retrieve the images.

It is fixable and I will upload a test release to Github when I have it sorted. This may take a week or so as I am focusing my available time on a couple of other plugins at the moment.

Anyway this post is just to say I haven't forgotten your issue and I believe it is resolvable. :)

Posted on
Tue Nov 10, 2020 4:33 pm
bking77 offline
Posts: 10
Joined: Nov 15, 2018

Re: Autolog Foscam HD Controller Discussion

Hi Jon,
That all sounds great and I'm looking forward to trying out the update! Thanks for figuring this out!
Bill

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest