HBB - WebServer - could not find device

Posted on
Mon Sep 04, 2017 4:03 pm
Colly offline
Posts: 535
Joined: Jan 16, 2016
Location: Ireland

HBB - WebServer - could not find device

Hi C4W,
Yesterday I added some new devices to HBB and since then I was getting numerous "WebServer could not find device", see below. This was filling my log up so I disabled it. I've since removed all devices and just added 4 motion sensors but I'm still getting log entries once I add any new devices, however it isn't continually being logged now.

Any suggestions on what went wrong?

Code: Select all
#####################################################################
# SUMMARY                                                           #
#####################################################################
#                                                                   #
# Devices for Homebridge to parse          : 179                    #
# Included devices that Homebridge can use : 4                      #
# Devices over 99 that won't work          : 0                      #
#                                                                   #
#####################################################################

   EPS - Homebridge Buddy Warning  Stopping the Homebridge server 'Homebridge for Indigo'
   EPS - Homebridge Buddy Warning  The Homebridge server 'Homebridge for Indigo' has stopped
   EPS - Homebridge Buddy          Starting the Homebridge server 'Homebridge for Indigo', do not try to use Siri until you get a message that the server has started
   WebServer                       could not find device "Tamper"
   WebServer                       could not find device "Tamper"
   WebServer                       could not find device "TV Off"
   WebServer                       could not find device "Tamper"
   WebServer                       could not find device "Pause"
   WebServer                       could not find device "Tamper"
   WebServer                       could not find device "OFF"
   EPS - Homebridge Buddy          The Homebridge server 'Homebridge for Indigo' is back up

Posted on
Tue Sep 19, 2017 4:46 pm
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 2794
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Re: HBB - WebServer - could not find device

I get those too, make sure you don't have spaces or special characters in the name - especially at the front of the name. If you do then create an alias instead.

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

HomeKit Bridge | Device Extensions | Security Manager | LCD Creator | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Powermiser | Homebridge Buddy

Check Them Out Here

Posted on
Thu Dec 21, 2017 5:00 pm
Colly offline
Posts: 535
Joined: Jan 16, 2016
Location: Ireland

Re: HBB - WebServer - could not find device

I seem to be having a number of issues at the moment and seeing as you've been very active for the last few days I said I try HBB again.
I deleted the plugin and installed the latest version. Everything seems to go OK. I've 101 devices so I get the following:
Code: Select all
# Included devices that Homebridge can use : 101
# Devices over 99 that won't work          : 2
If I then select a small number of devices to include I get this:
Code: Select all
# Included devices that Homebridge can use : 3
# Devices over 99 that won't work          : 0
Again all seems good.
Then I get my log filling with this:
Code: Select all
   WebServer                       could not find device "Tamper"
   WebServer                       could not find device "TV Off"
   WebServer                       could not find device "Pause"
   WebServer                       could not find device "OFF"
   WebServer                       could not find device "Tamper"
   WebServer                       could not find device "TV Off"
   WebServer                       could not find device "Pause"
   WebServer                       could not find device "OFF"
   WebServer                       could not find device "Tamper"
This is similar to what I originally posted and only seems to happen when I select a small number of devices.
Aside from that I can add the Homebridge accessory in the Home App but no devices get included.
Is there a way to absolutely ensure that any previous installs are removed before re-installing?
Sorry to bother you with my woes :(

Posted on
Thu Dec 21, 2017 5:10 pm
Colly offline
Posts: 535
Joined: Jan 16, 2016
Location: Ireland

Re: HBB - WebServer - could not find device

Just noticed this also:
Code: Select all
   EPS - Homebridge Buddy Error    Exception in plugin.homebridgeSaveConfig line 1622: Expecting , delimiter: line 30 column 4 (char 643)
                      CODE: json_data = json.loads(config)

Posted on
Thu Dec 21, 2017 6:05 pm
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 2794
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Re: HBB - WebServer - could not find device

So you have a few things going on. One is that you've included your entire Indigo system into a single HBB server so there are 2 devices that won't work. A lot depends on how you have named your devices, strange naming conventions will not only give you those log messages but can also break the config if it's strange enough.

That "tamper" message you get, I'm betting you have a Fibraro motion sensor or two, that's where I get mine. Regardless, those are not critical messages at all. The error you got is probably because you have a bracket or comma or double quotes in a device name. The only way to help with that is to have you print out the log and the config (both available from the plugin menu) and let's take a gander.

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

HomeKit Bridge | Device Extensions | Security Manager | LCD Creator | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Powermiser | Homebridge Buddy

Check Them Out Here

Posted on
Fri Dec 22, 2017 5:11 am
Colly offline
Posts: 535
Joined: Jan 16, 2016
Location: Ireland

Re: HBB - WebServer - could not find device

OK so. I've attached the HB log. I don't seem to be having any joy getting anything from the "Show Config". Hopefully the log will help.
Colorado4Wheeler wrote:
That "tamper" message you get, I'm betting you have a Fibraro motion sensor or two, that's where I get mine.

Yes I have 4 of these little devils..
Attachments
HBB_log.txt
(8.58 KiB) Downloaded 139 times

Posted on
Fri Dec 22, 2017 9:32 am
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 2794
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Re: HBB - WebServer - could not find device

Your log file tells it all, including why you cannot see your log file:

Code: Select all
config.json (/Library/Application Support/Perceptive Automation/Indigo 7/Plugins/EPS Homebridge.indigoPlugin/Contents/Server Plugin/bin/hb/homebridge/175336298/config.json) not found.


Do you have more than one server? It's impossible that you would get those "tamper" messages and have no config file because it wouldn't initialize to the point of giving those.

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

HomeKit Bridge | Device Extensions | Security Manager | LCD Creator | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Powermiser | Homebridge Buddy

Check Them Out Here

Posted on
Fri Dec 22, 2017 12:13 pm
Colly offline
Posts: 535
Joined: Jan 16, 2016
Location: Ireland

Re: HBB - WebServer - could not find device

I've had a few servers trying to get the Home App to populate but deleted those and allowed the plugin to recreate a new one. How do I ensure I've only 1 (other than the obvious of checking my devices)?
When I delete the only visible server and allow the plugin to recreate I get this:
Code: Select all
   Reloading plugin "EPS - Homebridge Buddy 1.0.4"
   Stopping plugin "EPS - Homebridge Buddy 1.0.4" (pid 66860)
   Stopped plugin "EPS - Homebridge Buddy 1.0.4"
   Starting plugin "EPS - Homebridge Buddy 1.0.4" (pid 40375)
   Started plugin "EPS - Homebridge Buddy 1.0.4"
   EPS - Homebridge Buddy          Automatically creating and configuring the first Homebridge server
   EPS - Homebridge Buddy          Building configuration for 'Homebridge for Indigo'
   EPS - Homebridge Buddy Error   

#####################################################################
# WARNING                                                           #
#####################################################################
#                                                                   #
# You have 102 items for Homebridge but it only supports 99, you    #
# will be unable to use some of your items!                         #
#####################################################################

   EPS - Homebridge Buddy         

#####################################################################
# SUMMARY                                                           #
#####################################################################
#                                                                   #
# Devices for Homebridge to parse          : 230                    #
# Included devices that Homebridge can use : 102                    #
# Devices over 99 that won't work          : 3                      #
#                                                                   #
#####################################################################

   EPS - Homebridge Buddy Error    Exception in plugin.buildServerConfig line 4390: 'key itunes_control not found in dict'
                      CODE: if server.pluginProps["itunes_control"]:

   EPS - Homebridge Buddy Error    Exception in plugin.homebridgeSaveConfig line 1622: Expecting object: line 23 column 29 (char 577)
                      CODE: json_data = json.loads(config)

   EPS - Homebridge Buddy          Starting the Homebridge server 'Homebridge for Indigo', do not try to use Siri until you get a message that the server has started
   EPS - Homebridge Buddy          The Homebridge server 'Homebridge for Indigo' is back up
   EPS - Homebridge Buddy          Building configuration for 'Homebridge for Indigo'
   EPS - Homebridge Buddy Error   

#####################################################################
# WARNING                                                           #
#####################################################################
#                                                                   #
# You have 102 items for Homebridge but it only supports 99, you    #
# will be unable to use some of your items!                         #
#####################################################################

   EPS - Homebridge Buddy         

#####################################################################
# SUMMARY                                                           #
#####################################################################
#                                                                   #
# Devices for Homebridge to parse          : 230                    #
# Included devices that Homebridge can use : 102                    #
# Devices over 99 that won't work          : 3                      #
#                                                                   #
#####################################################################

   EPS - Homebridge Buddy Error    Exception in plugin.buildServerConfig line 4390: 'key itunes_control not found in dict'
                      CODE: if server.pluginProps["itunes_control"]:

   EPS - Homebridge Buddy Error    Exception in plugin.homebridgeSaveConfig line 1622: Expecting object: line 23 column 29 (char 577)
                      CODE: json_data = json.loads(config)

   EPS - Homebridge Buddy          Starting the Homebridge server 'Homebridge for Indigo', do not try to use Siri until you get a message that the server has started
   EPS - Homebridge Buddy          The Homebridge server 'Homebridge for Indigo' is back up
   EPS - Homebridge Buddy          EPS - Homebridge Buddy is loaded and ready to use

Posted on
Fri Dec 22, 2017 1:50 pm
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 2794
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Re: HBB - WebServer - could not find device

That looks like an initialization glitch, let me see if I can wrap that into the current dev release and see what that does for you. I should have something in the next 15-20 minutes.

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

HomeKit Bridge | Device Extensions | Security Manager | LCD Creator | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Powermiser | Homebridge Buddy

Check Them Out Here

Posted on
Fri Dec 22, 2017 2:02 pm
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 2794
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Re: HBB - WebServer - could not find device

Ok, update to 1.0.6 via GitHub and that should resolve the issue you are having.

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

HomeKit Bridge | Device Extensions | Security Manager | LCD Creator | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Powermiser | Homebridge Buddy

Check Them Out Here

Posted on
Fri Dec 22, 2017 3:41 pm
Colly offline
Posts: 535
Joined: Jan 16, 2016
Location: Ireland

Re: HBB - WebServer - could not find device

OK so. I've updated and got rid of the errors. I now can't add it in the Home App. Also when I try to show log I get nothing however if I show Config I get as per below:
Code: Select all
   EPS - Homebridge Buddy          {
        "accessories": [],
        "bridge": {
                "username": "DD:22:3D:E3:CE:30",
                "name": "Homebridge for Indigo",
                "pin": "031-45-154",
                "port": 51826
        },
        "description": "Homebridge-Indigo configuration generated by EPS Homebridge Buddy on 2017-12-22 20:52:25 for device Homebridge for Indigo",
        "platforms": [
                {
                        "username": "xxxxxxx",
                        "includeIds": [
                                "1182181030",
                                "1357314596",
                                "503868778",
                                "1027180843"
                        ],
                        "protocol": "http",
                        "name": "Homebridge for Indigo",
                        "includeActions": false,
                        "platform": "Indigo",
                        "host": "127.0.0.1",
                        "thermostatsInCelsius": false,
                        "path": "",
                        "password": "xxxxxxxx",
                        "accessoryNamePrefix": "",
                        "port": "8176"
                }
        ]
}

Any suggestions? Thanks for your time and efforts to date.

Posted on
Fri Dec 22, 2017 3:47 pm
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 2794
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Re: HBB - WebServer - could not find device

So this is where HomeKit can get a bit wonky. Go into the server config -> Homebridge Configuration dropdown -> Check Edit Homebridge User (Advanced) and change one character of the username to a valid hex (0-9 or A-F) and that should force HomeKit to find it again. You only need to change one character for this technique to work.

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

HomeKit Bridge | Device Extensions | Security Manager | LCD Creator | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Powermiser | Homebridge Buddy

Check Them Out Here

Posted on
Fri Dec 22, 2017 4:01 pm
Colly offline
Posts: 535
Joined: Jan 16, 2016
Location: Ireland

Re: HBB - WebServer - could not find device

Done as requested - changed a 3 to 6 and saved.
Still not seeing in Home. I've reloaded the plugin, reloaded the App and lastly restarted my phone for good measure.
It's obviously very wonky at this stage!

Posted on
Fri Dec 22, 2017 4:03 pm
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 2794
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Re: HBB - WebServer - could not find device

Is the other server still loaded into HomeKit? It shouldn't matter but I'm not sure why you wouldn't see it. This is a super obvious question but the HBB server IS on right?

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

HomeKit Bridge | Device Extensions | Security Manager | LCD Creator | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Powermiser | Homebridge Buddy

Check Them Out Here

Posted on
Fri Dec 22, 2017 4:06 pm
Colly offline
Posts: 535
Joined: Jan 16, 2016
Location: Ireland

Re: HBB - WebServer - could not find device

I deleted the other server earlier to avoid confusion. Don't mind the super obvious question at this stage - Yes it's on. The Config log shows the username change has held.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests