Issue after upgrading to Catalina

Posted on
Mon Oct 12, 2020 2:44 pm
norcoscia offline
User avatar
Posts: 901
Joined: Sep 09, 2015

Issue after upgrading to Catalina

Hi, I just updated my Indigo machine's OS to Catalina and I'm getting an error with HomeKit.

Does anyone have any ideas what I can do???????
Attachments
2020-10-12_13-42-02.jpeg
2020-10-12_13-42-02.jpeg (21.83 KiB) Viewed 210 times

_______
Norm

Posted on
Mon Oct 12, 2020 3:17 pm
FlyingDiver offline
User avatar
Posts: 4486
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: Issue after upgrading to Catalina

Right click on the plugin file and select "Open". Then confirm at the dialog.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Mon Oct 12, 2020 4:01 pm
norcoscia offline
User avatar
Posts: 901
Joined: Sep 09, 2015

Re: Issue after upgrading to Catalina

When I do that I get an Indigo that says this plug-in is already enabled (see below) - Then I click "enable if necessary" but it just comes back with the same error?


my log
Oct 12, 2020 at 2:52:32 PM
Indigo Cocoa client connected
v1.0.2 of plugin HomeKit Bridge is already installed and enabled
Reloading plugin "HomeKit Bridge 1.0.2"
Stopping plugin "HomeKit Bridge 1.0.2" (pid 4623)
Stopped plugin "HomeKit Bridge 1.0.2"
Starting plugin "HomeKit Bridge 1.0.2" (pid 8930)
HomeKit Bridge Caching all HomeKit Bridge devices...
Started plugin "HomeKit Bridge 1.0.2"
HomeKit Bridge Attempting to start 'Homekit Server'
HomeKit Bridge HomeKit Bridge is running the latest version, no update needed
Schedule Crawlspace Temp to Crawlspace Temp Variable
Schedule Update clock
HomeKit Bridge HomeKit Bridge is loaded and ready to use

Oct 12, 2020 at 2:53:38 PM
Indigo Cocoa client disconnected

Oct 12, 2020 at 2:53:56 PM
HomeKit Bridge Error HomeKit server 'Homekit Server' could not be started, please check the service logs for more information,
now issuing a forced shutdown of the service to be safe.

If you continue to have problems starting this server use the Advanced Plugin Actions menu option to rebuild the Homebridge folder.
Instructions at https://github.com/Colorado4Wheeler/Hom ... dge-folder
HomeKit Bridge Attempting to stop 'Homekit Server'


Help :-(
Attachments
Screen Shot 2020-10-12 at 2.55.50 PM.png
Screen Shot 2020-10-12 at 2.55.50 PM.png (25.08 KiB) Viewed 179 times

_______
Norm

Posted on
Mon Oct 12, 2020 4:11 pm
FlyingDiver offline
User avatar
Posts: 4486
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: Issue after upgrading to Catalina

In Terminal, enter:

Code: Select all
sudo xattr -r -d com.apple.quarantine <path to plugin>


Put the path to the plugin at the end of the command.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Mon Oct 12, 2020 4:45 pm
norcoscia offline
User avatar
Posts: 901
Joined: Sep 09, 2015

Re: Issue after upgrading to Catalina

So I had this problem with the SONOS plug-in also and I ran the command below (after finding it in a SONOS thread) - it fixed the SONOS problem but had no effect on the Homekit plug-in error.

I'll try it again using your version which is about the same (sudo xattr -r -d com.apple.quarantine /Library/Application\ Support/Perceptive\ Automation/Indigo\ 7.4/Plugins)


Orginal was (sudo xattr -rd com.apple.quarantine /Library/Application\ Support/Perceptive\ Automation/Indigo\ 7.4/Plugins)


Nope same thing - error dialog pops up a few times and then the Homekit plug-in goes belly up. Same error message in log ....

_______
Norm

Posted on
Fri Oct 16, 2020 1:20 pm
norcoscia offline
User avatar
Posts: 901
Joined: Sep 09, 2015

Re: Issue after upgrading to Catalina

Anybody in Indigo world have any ideas how to fix this - I have tried everything (including the detailed uninstall and reinstall steps Matt listed in a similar SONOS thread issue).

I can’t seem to get it to work..... Sigh

Wish Apple would fix crap like this instead of having half the apple staff designing emoji s....

_______
Norm

Posted on
Fri Oct 16, 2020 10:24 pm
mattmcd offline
Posts: 2
Joined: Oct 16, 2017

Re: Issue after upgrading to Catalina

Hi,

I believe I encountered the same problem and was able to solve it. I just installed Indigo on Catalina for the first time. Initially I had the "developer can not be verified" issues but after correcting that I was still not able to Start the HomeKit Bridge device.

After enabling the debug logging for the HomeKit Bridge plugin it was obvious something was wrong with the HomeBridge configuration file. There were errors complaining about the username being incorrect. Turns out the username was blank - it should be the MAC address of your computer's network interface (all uppercase). I'm not sure if this is an issue with Catalina where the plugin isn't able to query the operating system for its MAC address (security restriction maybe?) or what is going on. Anyway you can manually provide the username.

To solve the problem you can put the username in the plugin configuration. It's hard to find but it's there.
-To find it, edit your "HomeKit Bridge" (whatever you named it) device from the main Indigo devices window.
-Click the Edit Device Settings... button which brings up the Configure HomeKit Accessory Server window.
-Change the Option Screen dropdown to "Server Parameters (Advanced)"
-Check the "Override automatic settings" checkbox
-You should now see the HB user, HB port, and HB callback fields. (For me HB user was blank)
-Paste your MAC address in the HB user field and make sure it's all uppercase.
-Save that.
-Try turning on the HomeKit Bridge device. Reload the plugin if you need to.

Hopefully that helps, it worked for me.

The configuration file is located here but it gets overwritten every time you load the plugin so don't bother adjusting the config file manually.
/Library/Application\ Support/Perceptive\ Automation/Indigo\ 7.4/Preferences/Plugins/com.eps.indigoplugin.homekit-bridge/1455158209/config.json
Attachments
Screen Shot 2020-10-16 at 23.48.08.png
Screen Shot 2020-10-16 at 23.48.08.png (121.01 KiB) Viewed 64 times
Screen Shot 2020-10-16 at 23.48.19.png
Screen Shot 2020-10-16 at 23.48.19.png (105.58 KiB) Viewed 64 times

Posted on
Sat Oct 17, 2020 9:37 am
norcoscia offline
User avatar
Posts: 901
Joined: Sep 09, 2015

Re: Issue after upgrading to Catalina

Thanks - mine had a MAC listed but it was not for my current Indigo machine - I updated it and that cleared the error dialog. Then I had to delegate the server from apple home and rebuild everything. Thanks for getting me going on this - I use HomeKit with some actions to set home and away status for myself (since I take my phone when I leave home).

_______
Norm

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest