Front Door Lock and Garage Door

Posted on
Wed Sep 19, 2018 10:27 am
petematheson offline
Posts: 724
Joined: Sep 14, 2014
Location: Southampton, UK

Front Door Lock and Garage Door

Hi All,

2 Things:

I have an Aeotec Garage Door Opener. I've added it to Home Bridge as both a Switch (default) and a Garage Door Opener.
I have it working, except it always thinks the door is opposite to what it is.
Setting the Invert switch on the plugin seems to do nothing, although I imagine if that worked then it would fix my issue so not sure if that's a bug?

I have a front door lock, and I can say to Lock / Unlock - however whenever I ask it to Unlock, it unlocks the door and immediately locks it again?

Posted on
Wed Sep 19, 2018 6:42 pm
Coolcaper offline
Posts: 257
Joined: Aug 30, 2013
Location: Australia

Re: Front Door Lock and Garage Door

I can’t comment about the door lock but with the garage door controller try removing it from HomeKit and add it again with the invert set from the get go. Same thing happened to me so it should work.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Mon Sep 24, 2018 3:05 am
petematheson offline
Posts: 724
Joined: Sep 14, 2014
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: Front Door Lock and Garage Door

Perfect that seemed to do the trick :)

Posted on
Mon Oct 29, 2018 5:09 am
PeteVis offline
Posts: 158
Joined: Jun 19, 2015

Re: Front Door Lock and Garage Door

I'm having the same issue with my garage door (virtual on/off device)

I'm searching for this invert switch, but can't find it. Would any of you be so kind and tell me where this invert switch is set ?

Edit : nevermind, found it. In my case just editing the garage door did the trick.

Posted on
Wed Dec 05, 2018 2:40 pm
dnomode offline
Posts: 349
Joined: Apr 12, 2008
Location: North Georgia

Re: Front Door Lock and Garage Door

Mine also shows Open when the garage is closed. The invert switch is not available on mine. What am I missing?
Screenshot 2018-12-05 15.37.10.png
Screenshot 2018-12-05 15.37.10.png (215.8 KiB) Viewed 196 times


Thanks for the help.

Edmond

Posted on
Wed Dec 05, 2018 2:53 pm
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 2749
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Re: Front Door Lock and Garage Door

The only time 'Invert' is available is if the device you are referencing has an On and Off state. Your 'Garage Door Right' doesn't have an On and Off state so that's why invert doesn't show. Choose a light switch, as an example, and you'll see Invert show up.

That being said, what kind of garage door opener is it? Out of the box it should support most of the standard ones but if you have one that isn't as widely used you may have to create a virtual device for it so you can get On and Off.

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

HomeKit Bridge | Device Extensions | Security Manager | LCD Creator | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Powermiser | Homebridge Buddy

Check Them Out Here

Posted on
Wed Dec 05, 2018 9:07 pm
dnomode offline
Posts: 349
Joined: Apr 12, 2008
Location: North Georgia

Re: Front Door Lock and Garage Door

I have a Chamberlain garage door opener and I'm using this kit to control it.
https://www.smarthome.com/insteon-74551 ... s-kit.html

Edmond

Posted on
Sat Dec 08, 2018 12:57 pm
dnomode offline
Posts: 349
Joined: Apr 12, 2008
Location: North Georgia

Re: Front Door Lock and Garage Door

So anyone have an idea on how to make this work correctly using the Insteon I/O Link? The Apple Home App still thinks the garage is open when its closed.
Screenshot 2018-12-08 13.55.13.png
Screenshot 2018-12-08 13.55.13.png (416.91 KiB) Viewed 97 times


Thanks for the help

Edmond

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest