Mac Commander Plugin (Legacy Ver 1.1.0)

Posted on
Sun Jun 24, 2018 7:33 am
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 2794
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Re: Mac Commander Plugin

I can confirm that the underlying function that plugin uses does, indeed, work on 10.12. I need to set up a few things to test the plugin itself against this but if the underlying method works and the plugin does not it should be fairly easy for me to get the plugin updated.

What are you sharing settings on the destination? You need to have remote login and remote apple events enabled on it so that the Indigo computer is allowed to connect to it.
Screen Shot 2018-06-24 at 7.29.58 AM.png
Screen Shot 2018-06-24 at 7.29.58 AM.png (58.93 KiB) Viewed 4231 times

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

HomeKit Bridge | Device Extensions | Security Manager | LCD Creator | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Powermiser | Homebridge Buddy

Check Them Out Here

Posted on
Sun Jun 24, 2018 7:36 am
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 2794
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Re: Mac Commander Plugin

The plugin DOES WORK on 10.11 and higher, no problems. I was able to easily open iTunes from the indigo system to any computer on my network, from El Capitan to High Sierra.

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

HomeKit Bridge | Device Extensions | Security Manager | LCD Creator | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Powermiser | Homebridge Buddy

Check Them Out Here

Posted on
Sun Jun 24, 2018 2:20 pm
ckeyes888 offline
Posts: 2425
Joined: Nov 26, 2009
Location: Kalispell, MT

Re: Mac Commander Plugin

I have the destination machine setup to accept everything.
Pretty sure it’s confirmed in that the plugin works fine under 10.8.

I’ve attached a screen shot of the sharing settings for it.

Thanks,

Carl
Attachments
87F62929-7576-45E5-AE69-69E6C0610347.jpeg
87F62929-7576-45E5-AE69-69E6C0610347.jpeg (63.45 KiB) Viewed 4183 times

Posted on
Sun Jun 24, 2018 2:22 pm
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 2794
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Re: Mac Commander Plugin

ckeyes888 wrote:
Pretty sure it’s confirmed in that the plugin works fine under 10.8.

It works on all versions of macOS, I've confirmed it.

Does your password have any special characters in it such as backslashes or quotes? Is there a firewall running on the destination? There aren't many things that can prevent this from working, I have dozens of these devices talking to a number of different computers with no issues.

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

HomeKit Bridge | Device Extensions | Security Manager | LCD Creator | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Powermiser | Homebridge Buddy

Check Them Out Here

Posted on
Sun Jun 24, 2018 2:48 pm
ckeyes888 offline
Posts: 2425
Joined: Nov 26, 2009
Location: Kalispell, MT

Re: Mac Commander Plugin

The password on the remote machine is just one character. Hard to imagine it's an issue.
God, I hate upgrading. Never had a single thing go smoothly in my 30 years of this.

Thanks,

Carl

Posted on
Sun Jun 24, 2018 2:52 pm
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 2794
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Re: Mac Commander Plugin

Try to run the following in AppleScript Editor, if it doesn't work or prompts you for anything then something is wrong with the basics:

Code: Select all
set remMachine to "eppc://YOUR_USERNAME:YOUR_PASSWORD@DESTINATION_IP_ADDRESS"
tell application "Finder" of machine remMachine
   open file "YOUR_VOLUME_NAME:Applications:iTunes"
end tell


It should launch iTunes. Since Mac Commander is based on firing AppleScript there should be little difference (the plugin does more than just this but this is the very basic thing it does).

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

HomeKit Bridge | Device Extensions | Security Manager | LCD Creator | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Powermiser | Homebridge Buddy

Check Them Out Here

Posted on
Sun Jun 24, 2018 3:13 pm
ckeyes888 offline
Posts: 2425
Joined: Nov 26, 2009
Location: Kalispell, MT

Re: Mac Commander Plugin

That script, as far as I know, will not work under 10.12.
I tried this:
Code: Select all
set remMachine to "eppc://Display:xx@192.168.1.90"
tell application "Finder" of machine remMachine
   open file "Display:Applications:CP Home"
end tell

and always get an application not running error.

Can't imagine how this could ever work.

Thanks,

Carl

Posted on
Sun Jun 24, 2018 3:16 pm
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 2794
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Re: Mac Commander Plugin

ckeyes888 wrote:
That script, as far as I know, will not work under 10.12.

I've already stated several times that this script DOES work under 10.12. My Indigo server runs 10.12 and this script works just fine and it works on destination computers that are 10.8 all the way through 10.13. If it is not working for you then something else is wrong.

According to what you pasted you are saying that your computer named 'Display' has a volume named 'Display' as well? Generally the hard drive is named 'Macintosh HD' or 'macOS' or something.

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

HomeKit Bridge | Device Extensions | Security Manager | LCD Creator | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Powermiser | Homebridge Buddy

Check Them Out Here

Posted on
Sun Jun 24, 2018 3:18 pm
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 2794
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Re: Mac Commander Plugin

Also, try what I put to see if iTunes will work, we know that application works pretty much globally.

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

HomeKit Bridge | Device Extensions | Security Manager | LCD Creator | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Powermiser | Homebridge Buddy

Check Them Out Here

Posted on
Sun Jun 24, 2018 3:26 pm
ckeyes888 offline
Posts: 2425
Joined: Nov 26, 2009
Location: Kalispell, MT

Re: Mac Commander Plugin

Also tried this one:

Code: Select all
set remMachine to "eppc://Display:xx@192.168.1.90"
tell application "Finder" of machine remMachine
   open file "Macintosh HD:Applications:CP Home"
end tell


Same result, app not running.

i'll try the iTunes script but don't see it anywhere.

Thanks,

Carl

Posted on
Sun Jun 24, 2018 3:30 pm
ckeyes888 offline
Posts: 2425
Joined: Nov 26, 2009
Location: Kalispell, MT

Re: Mac Commander Plugin

Also, it would awesome if this method would work but there are a lot of docs online that say the “eppc” approach
no longer works in 10.12.
If it did maybe my original scripts would still work?

Thanks,

Carl

Posted on
Sun Jun 24, 2018 4:48 pm
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 2794
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Re: Mac Commander Plugin

Not
Code: Select all
open file "Macintosh HD:Applications:CP Home"

But
Code: Select all
open file "YOUR_VOLUME_NAME:Applications:iTunes"


Apple did not break EPPC, it's still there and working just fine. In fact I just read the release notes and Apple hasn't done anything negative to AS like taking away key functionality as far as I can see.

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

HomeKit Bridge | Device Extensions | Security Manager | LCD Creator | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Powermiser | Homebridge Buddy

Check Them Out Here

Posted on
Sun Jun 24, 2018 4:52 pm
ckeyes888 offline
Posts: 2425
Joined: Nov 26, 2009
Location: Kalispell, MT

Re: Mac Commander Plugin

I’m sorry. I don’t understand. The volume name on the remote machine is Macintosh HD.
What should I change it to? Not too interested in what may work with iTunes but happy to test with it.

Thanks,

Carl
Last edited by ckeyes888 on Sun Jun 24, 2018 4:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Posted on
Sun Jun 24, 2018 4:53 pm
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 2794
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Re: Mac Commander Plugin

ckeyes888 wrote:
Same result, app not running.

i'll try the iTunes script but don't see it anywhere.

Thanks,

Carl

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

HomeKit Bridge | Device Extensions | Security Manager | LCD Creator | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Powermiser | Homebridge Buddy

Check Them Out Here

Posted on
Sun Jun 24, 2018 6:32 pm
ckeyes888 offline
Posts: 2425
Joined: Nov 26, 2009
Location: Kalispell, MT

Re: Mac Commander Plugin

??

Carl

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron