Errors when setting temps and modes

Posted on
Sat Jan 09, 2016 6:22 pm
petematheson online
Posts: 657
Joined: Sep 14, 2014
Location: Southampton, UK

Errors when setting temps and modes

Hi Peter,

I seem to be getting emails every day to say:

Dear user,

We would like to notify you that your attempt to remotely implement a change to the following zone failed at 01/10/2016 00:06:15 UTC:

Zone: Nursery


Is there a good way to troubleshoot this?
The actions all work manually when I try them.

Posted on
Sun Jan 10, 2016 8:04 am
howartp offline
Posts: 3273
Joined: Jan 09, 2014
Location: West Yorkshire, UK

Re: Errors when setting temps and modes

Hi Pete,

The only time I had that was when I tried to change a zone manually too close to a scheduled time.

Do you know what changes you were making at that time?

If it's happening daily, can you turn on debug then let it happen tonight and send me log section from around that time?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Wed Jan 13, 2016 2:40 pm
petematheson online
Posts: 657
Joined: Sep 14, 2014
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: Errors when setting temps and modes

Upgraded to your latest one and still issues with setting the temp. I'm going to have to disable this for now as It seems to be leaving the bathroom on all day.

Email in my inbox:
Dear user,

We would like to notify you that your attempt to remotely implement a change to the following zone failed at 01/13/2016 20:34:01 UTC:

Zone: Bathroom

Log below:
Action Group Turn Heating Off in Bathroom
Evohome Debug zoneRevert action called
Evohome Debug Indigo device selected: 77969129
Evohome Debug Evo device selected: 1324056
Evohome Debug Cancelling override
Evohome Debug Delaying refresh for 5 seconds to allow API processing
Evohome Debug Delaying refresh for 5
Evohome Debug Delaying refresh for 4
Evohome Debug Delaying refresh for 3
Evohome Debug Delaying refresh for 2
Evohome Debug Delaying refresh for 1
Evohome Debug Refreshing zone data
Evohome Refreshing zone data
Evohome Debug isZone: True
Evohome Debug izHW: False
Evohome Debug devID: 148824419
Evohome Debug devName: Evohome Living room
Evohome Debug Updating device for zone Living room
Evohome Debug isZone: True
Evohome Debug izHW: False
Evohome Debug devID: 235177840
Evohome Debug devName: Evohome Nursery
Evohome Debug Updating device for zone Nursery
Evohome Debug isZone: True
Evohome Debug izHW: False
Evohome Debug devID: 439899091
Evohome Debug devName: Evohome Boys Room
Evohome Debug Updating device for zone Boys Room
Evohome Debug isZone: True
Evohome Debug izHW: False
Evohome Debug devID: 62908831
Evohome Debug devName: Evohome Main Bedroom
Evohome Debug Updating device for zone Main Bedroom
Evohome Debug isZone: True
Evohome Debug izHW: False
Evohome Debug devID: 2442156
Evohome Debug devName: Evohome Ensuite
Evohome Debug Updating device for zone Ensuite
Evohome Debug isZone: True
Evohome Debug izHW: False
Evohome Debug devID: 77969129
Evohome Debug devName: Evohome Bathroom
Evohome Debug Updating device for zone Bathroom
Evohome Debug isZone: True
Evohome Debug izHW: False
Evohome Debug devID: 1788349094
Evohome Debug devName: Evohome Conservatory
Evohome Debug Updating device for zone Conservatory
Evohome Debug isZone: True
Evohome Debug izHW: False
Evohome Debug devID: 1087527589
Evohome Debug devName: Evohome Dining Room
Evohome Debug Updating device for zone Dining Room
Evohome Debug Refreshing zone data... Done
Evohome Refreshing zone data... Done

Posted on
Wed Jan 13, 2016 4:04 pm
howartp offline
Posts: 3273
Joined: Jan 09, 2014
Location: West Yorkshire, UK

Re: Errors when setting temps and modes

Hi Pete,

I'm wondering if either or both of us is misunderstanding or misinterpreting what this function does.

I've just executed it on two of my zones which are NOT currently overwridden or modified from the schedule in any way - I expect I will receive emails overnight warning me that these actions have failed.

I'll keep playing with combinations of what mode zones are in, and executing the 'cancel' command, to see what results in the emails being sent and what doesn't.

Peter

Posted on
Fri Jan 15, 2016 3:19 am
petematheson online
Posts: 657
Joined: Sep 14, 2014
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: Errors when setting temps and modes

Thanks Peter - I've had to disable use of this for now as it's leaving my zones on permanent heat all day.

My understanding is that I should be able to use motion sensors to use the 'Set Hotpoint' command to say, set that Zone at 19 Degrees.
When I check the Evohome controller it then shows this as a permanent over-ride.

So then my 'Cancel zone override' that's delayed by 20 minutes should then remove this permanent override and set the system back to whatever schedule it was set to before.

All of the motion sensors / permanent triggers seem to work fine, it's just the cancel override that doesn't always seem to trigger. (It sometimes does, but often doesn't)
When I manually run the action, again it sometimes works but sometimes doesn't.

I guess I could come up with some logic that says if a cancel override job has run, but it's state is still permanent override then run the same action again until it's successful ?

Posted on
Fri Jan 15, 2016 3:27 am
petematheson online
Posts: 657
Joined: Sep 14, 2014
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: Errors when setting temps and modes

Ah, I have just noticed something this morning actually (working from home).
The room i'm currently in, I manually twisted the TRV to 20 degrees.

Evohome controller (and iPhone app) is showing it's still set to 9 degrees, current temperature 14.5 Degrees.

Something weird is afoot !

Posted on
Fri Jan 15, 2016 3:01 pm
howartp offline
Posts: 3273
Joined: Jan 09, 2014
Location: West Yorkshire, UK

Re: Errors when setting temps and modes

Hi Pete.

Like you, I can't get this error to occur on demand.

Re turning the TRV manually, I seem to recall reading somewhere (but can't find where) that this is correct behaviour - the TRV doesn't send override commands back to the controller (whereas, I think, the remote thermostats (cute round things) do send overrides back to the controller)

I'm about to post the latest version which is essentially the same as the private copy I sent you, but with the "Decrease zone temperature" bug fixed.

Peter

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron