Ble Temp Sensor

Posted on
Thu May 03, 2018 1:00 pm
rml2112 offline
Posts: 13
Joined: Apr 13, 2016

Ble Temp Sensor

I have Four Raspberry pi setup with pibeacon, and I am trying to add a ble temp sensor.
I have a MYBlue T ble temp sensor and I am having trouble getting it to send back any temp data .
It shows the beacon Mac address and that always updates
but when I edited to add ble sensor it won't update
not sure what logs to add

thanks
Bob
Attachments
temp 3.jpeg
temp 3.jpeg (209.04 KiB) Viewed 1974 times
temp 2.jpeg
temp 2.jpeg (112.39 KiB) Viewed 1974 times
temp 1.jpeg
temp 1.jpeg (38.65 KiB) Viewed 1974 times

Posted on
Thu May 03, 2018 5:45 pm
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 8333
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Ble Temp Sensor

A.) check if on RPI
~/parameters has entries for BLEsensor .. something like this:
Code: Select all
  "sensors": {
    "BLEsensor": {
      "862350368": {
        "mac": "C5:7D:B7:58:B4:22",
        "multTemp": "1",
        "multiplyTemp": "1.",
        "offsetTemp": "0.",
        "type": "myBLUEt",
        "updateIndigoTiming": "0"
      }
    },

if yes .. I need to dig deeper
if no:
1. check if connection works fine
2. push config to RPI # x in menu

but it should update on its own .. need to check the code

B)
are you sure the MAC tuber is correct? they only show the first 4 and last 4 letters..
use the BLEscan tool on the rpi to figure out the MAC #

Karl

Posted on
Thu May 03, 2018 6:09 pm
rml2112 offline
Posts: 13
Joined: Apr 13, 2016

Re: Ble Temp Sensor

Hi,
Here is the section from the pi ~/pibeacon/parameters
Does that sensor send more than one Mac address?
I'm fairly new to this
thanks
Bob
Attachments
pi_sensor.jpeg
pi_sensor.jpeg (125.53 KiB) Viewed 1941 times

Posted on
Thu May 03, 2018 6:22 pm
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 8333
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Ble Temp Sensor

parameter file looks good

the sensor sends every 60-90 secs a simple BLE package

just how did you get the mac number? .. it shows it backwards in the phone scanning tools

in menu you can select BLE report .. that will do most of the scanning for you and print a report to the indigo logfile .. (it will need to reboot the RPI after the scan)

Karl

Posted on
Thu May 03, 2018 6:32 pm
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 8333
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Ble Temp Sensor

this will do the scanning on the RPi (thats what the menu option does):

Code: Select all
sudo hciconfig hci0 down; sudo hciconfig hci0 up ; sudo timeout -s SIGINT 100s hcitool lescan


then find your reverse BLEsensor MAC# (first 2 and last 2 digits) and copy the WHOLE number to the indigo device

output looks like:
Code: Select all
sudo hciconfig hci0 down; sudo hciconfig hci0 up ; sudo timeout -s SIGINT 100s hcitool lescan
LE Scan ...
33:9E:60:AA:C8:6B (unknown)
79:BB:9F:B1:B1:39 (unknown)
2C:E6:96:AE:59:96 (unknown)
...
33:9E:60:AA:C8:6B (unknown)
40:CB:C0:D0:FF:C2 (unknown)
40:CB:C0:D0:FF:C2 (unknown)
C5:7D:B7:58:B4:22 224BD75C    <<<<< this is my BLEtemp sensor MAC #   C5:7D:B7:58:B4:22
2C:E6:96:AE:59:96 (unknown)
D0:D2:B0:88:7B:76 (unknown)
D0:D2:B0:88:7B:76 (unknown)
40:CB:C0:D0:FF:C2 (unknown)
00:EA:23:11:2B:E4 (unknown)
00:EA:23:11:2B:E4 XY-2BE4-59
2C:E6:96:AE:59:96 (unknown)
...
40:CB:C0:D0:FF:C2 (unknown)
00:EA:24:02:EC:04 (unknown)
00:EA:24:02:EC:04 XY-EC04-5E
2C:E6:96:AE:59:96 (unknown)
D

Posted on
Fri May 04, 2018 11:17 am
rml2112 offline
Posts: 13
Joined: Apr 13, 2016

Re: Ble Temp Sensor

Hi,
I did have an incorrect Mac address,
thank you for your help

Bob

Posted on
Fri May 04, 2018 1:50 pm
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 8333
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Ble Temp Sensor

Works now?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Fri May 04, 2018 2:53 pm
rml2112 offline
Posts: 13
Joined: Apr 13, 2016

Re: Ble Temp Sensor

Works Great

Thanks

Bob

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests