feature req. OUTPUT-GPIO-max-1-PIN without dimmer

Posted on
Sun Mar 26, 2017 9:34 am
Asconasny offline
Posts: 134
Joined: Jan 16, 2015

feature req. OUTPUT-GPIO-max-1-PIN without dimmer

Hi.

Ive been using a couple arduino´s for a while and wanted the ibeacon feature.

Well.. im super impressed with this plugin, going to replace my arduinos with some pibeacons.
Excellent work on this. Karl :)

Maybe im missing something.. but is it possible to make a on off device, that behave like the like the output-gpio1 dimmer?
Without the dimmer part, but with on off switch in the indigo ui.

regards
Asconasny

Posted on
Sun Mar 26, 2017 8:40 pm
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 5523
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: feature req. OUTPUT-GPIO-max-1-PIN without dimmer

the difficult part was to make it like a dimmer.. so the only things thats not good for you is the UI?

you can set to 0/100 for on/off

But I could just make it a non dimmer on/off.. will check

KArl

Posted on
Sun Mar 26, 2017 9:32 pm
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 5523
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: feature req. OUTPUT-GPIO-max-1-PIN without dimmer

http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewtopic.php?f=187&t=15152&p=136992#p136992

that was easier than I thought .. if you could try it.

choose OUTPUT-GPIO-1-ONoff as device type

Karl

Posted on
Mon Mar 27, 2017 1:46 am
Asconasny offline
Posts: 134
Joined: Jan 16, 2015

Re: feature req. OUTPUT-GPIO-max-1-PIN without dimmer

Hi Karl

Tried it! It works perfectly
Exactly what i wanted. Thanks :)

Just started using the pibeacon. All the xy beacons you sendt me working perfect.
Some questions:

If a powerfailure, does the pi know the state of the gpio pin it was in, when the power gets back?
Is that being stored somewhere?

Is it possible to run some singel Neopixel Leds on the pi?
And configure it with the plugin?
Would be awesome to use that as a status light for a variable or device. Say. house in nightmode, morning, etc
or alarm. armed, armed home, etc.

One led to rule them all :)

And thinking about the camera. Is that possible or would it interfere with the plugin?

regards
Asconasny

Posted on
Mon Mar 27, 2017 6:31 am
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 5523
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: feature req. OUTPUT-GPIO-max-1-PIN without dimmer

When you set the output through an action there is an option to restore After restart

You can use the rpi gpio out in dummer mode. That actually does a PWM out put
So for e.g. 50% it switches it on /off with 100 hz But the output is limited to 20mA. If that is enough to drive the device. Ok.
if not You would need to add an amplifier. I am using some large led displays - see the display output options They come with their own system and they work fine.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Mon Mar 27, 2017 7:25 am
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 5523
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: feature req. OUTPUT-GPIO-max-1-PIN without dimmer

after i got up, I looked at it in a bit more detail..

1. pibeacon supports ~ 10 different display types.
2. no neopixel driver yet. but this looks really interesting.. will order a strip and try to set it up . Will be a new device model, displays have many x,y pixels, this stripes have mostly one row

Karl

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests