Raspi3 totally unreliable WLan

Posted on
Thu Feb 09, 2017 11:56 am
Umtauscher offline
User avatar
Posts: 339
Joined: Oct 03, 2014
Location: Cologne, Germany

Raspi3 totally unreliable WLan

Hi,

after I finally installed everything succesfully, I realize that my Raspi3 regularly drops the WLan connection. When I ping it constantly I have several drops , sometimes it never comes back online..
The same happens, if the accesspoint is rebooted. The Raspi never comes back online.
Power managemant on Wlan0 is already switched off - that seems to be commonly known upon Raspi users.

Has anyone succeeded in making the Raspi3 reliably work via WLan or do I really have to use Ethernet cabling?
Thanks for your input

Wilhelm

P.S: I have already ordered a second Raspi to rule out a hardware defect.

Posted on
Thu Feb 09, 2017 12:15 pm
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 5912
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Raspi3 totally unreliable WLan

I mostly use ethernet (15 rpi) , just one with wifi.
I need to reset the wifi access point once a week. Other wise its is ok.

This behavior might be be due to your wifi environment: if you have MANY wifi routers around your airwaves might be crowded. Then any wifi solution is not really stable

Karl

Posted on
Thu Feb 09, 2017 12:36 pm
andarv offline
Posts: 121
Joined: Jun 28, 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Raspi3 totally unreliable WLan

I'm not sure I can help with any of the technical stuff. But I can say that rPi3 on wifi works flawless here, I have 4 of them all on wifi and haven't had any issues at all., I never reboot them manually but piplugin does every night(?).
wifi wise there connected to uniFi AP, there are few other networks interfering.
All of them are running different versions of Karls img, oldest is about 6-7 months.

Anders

Posted on
Thu Feb 09, 2017 4:04 pm
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 5912
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Raspi3 totally unreliable WLan

I never reboot them manually but piplugin does every night(?).
in the last 2 versions(> 7.39.49) you can actually switch off the reboot at midnight. .. did not work before= was always rebooting at midnight.

on the wifi issue: may I suggest to download a wifi scanner on your laptop or an android phone, walk around and check if you have many signals from other wifi routers in the area of your RPIs.
if yes, that will likely be it.

Karl

Posted on
Fri Feb 10, 2017 4:48 am
Umtauscher offline
User avatar
Posts: 339
Joined: Oct 03, 2014
Location: Cologne, Germany

Re: Raspi3 totally unreliable WLan

Hi Karl,

thank you for your suggestion. Certainly - I live in a quite "crowded" environemnt and there are 9-12 several networks in the vacinity.
Nevertheless I have tons of devices here that use my wlan and none of them has such a problem.
An example of a ping to my Rasperry:
64 bytes from 192.168.1.51: icmp_seq=11 ttl=64 time=176.166 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.51: icmp_seq=12 ttl=64 time=245.488 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.51: icmp_seq=13 ttl=64 time=309.008 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.51: icmp_seq=14 ttl=64 time=20.172 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.51: icmp_seq=15 ttl=64 time=75.049 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.51: icmp_seq=16 ttl=64 time=64.916 ms
Request timeout for icmp_seq 17
64 bytes from 192.168.1.51: icmp_seq=18 ttl=64 time=203.427 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.51: icmp_seq=19 ttl=64 time=973.195 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.51: icmp_seq=20 ttl=64 time=430.523 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.51: icmp_seq=21 ttl=64 time=320.801 ms
Request timeout for icmp_seq 22
64 bytes from 192.168.1.51: icmp_seq=22 ttl=64 time=1091.365 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.51: icmp_seq=23 ttl=64 time=441.492 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.51: icmp_seq=25 ttl=64 time=223.716 ms
Request timeout for icmp_seq 26
Request timeout for icmp_seq 27
Request timeout for icmp_seq 28
Request timeout for icmp_seq 29
Request timeout for icmp_seq 30
Request timeout for icmp_seq 31
64 bytes from 192.168.1.51: icmp_seq=26 ttl=64 time=6049.074 ms
Request timeout for icmp_seq 33
Request timeout for icmp_seq 34
Request timeout for icmp_seq 35
Request timeout for icmp_seq 36
Request timeout for icmp_seq 37
Request timeout for icmp_seq 38
Request timeout for icmp_seq 39
64 bytes from 192.168.1.51: icmp_seq=33 ttl=64 time=8002.806 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.51: icmp_seq=34 ttl=64 time=7025.699 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.51: icmp_seq=35 ttl=64 time=6051.583 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.51: icmp_seq=36 ttl=64 time=5053.647 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.51: icmp_seq=37 ttl=64 time=4053.952 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.51: icmp_seq=38 ttl=64 time=3055.519 ms

Using the ethernet port, I get responses constantly with about 0.4 ms response time with no interruption.
I am still waiting for my second raspi3 so lets wait how that goes.
Cheers
Wilhelm

Posted on
Fri Feb 10, 2017 8:04 am
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 5912
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Raspi3 totally unreliable WLan

Could you restart you wifi router and check if it gets better afterwards?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Fri Feb 10, 2017 9:33 am
Umtauscher offline
User avatar
Posts: 339
Joined: Oct 03, 2014
Location: Cologne, Germany

Re: Raspi3 totally unreliable WLan

Already did that several times. The accesspoints are Airport Express in bridge mode btw.

Posted on
Fri Feb 10, 2017 9:50 am
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 5912
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Raspi3 totally unreliable WLan

AS for a measurement I strongly suggest you get a real wifi tool on an android device. There you can see all the wifi channels and how they overlap at which place. It give much better info than just the standard laptop wifi section tool. And iPhones unfortunately do not offer anything in this area.

Ane more thing: place the RPI ~ 1 m away from one of the airports and try again.

Also if you have too many access points they might overlap and do not improve the throughput but actually decrease it.

I had 4 unifi access points and I am now down to 3 and it works better. ( now have 2 unifi 2GHz @ channel1 one at channel 11; the 5 GHz are all on the same channel since they do not overlap as much.)

PS:
at my house I have a list of ~ 180 wifi routers-channels (neighbors in unifi lingo) collected over 2 days. Most of them are drive by wifi hotspots in cars. They can screw things up too. Stationary are ~ 14 they are real wifi routers of neighbors.

Posted on
Sat Feb 11, 2017 1:38 pm
Umtauscher offline
User avatar
Posts: 339
Joined: Oct 03, 2014
Location: Cologne, Germany

Re: Raspi3 totally unreliable WLan

Hi Karl,

the second Pi3 has arrived and I have it running for 30 Minutes now.
Suprisingly it seems it really was a hardware defect.

Thanks you for your support
Wilhelm

Posted on
Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:51 pm
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 5912
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Raspi3 totally unreliable WLan

That's astonishing. They normally have pretty good qc.
But happy that is works now.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Sun Feb 12, 2017 10:31 am
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 5912
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Raspi3 totally unreliable WLan

As I am kind of done with the pibeacon plugin I am considering some new things:
-Sprinkler with rpi
-Send scheduled actions to rpi( runs autonomously )
- any other suggestions ??






Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Mon May 22, 2017 7:25 am
AndyVirus offline
Posts: 205
Joined: Mar 18, 2014
Location: Newport Pagnell, UK

Re: Raspi3 totally unreliable WLan

As I am kind of done with the pibeacon plugin I am considering some new things:
-Sprinkler with rpi
-Send scheduled actions to rpi( runs autonomously )
- any other suggestions ??


I have a PI in my garden soley to collect data from my FlowerPower plant sensors and uploads the collected data to the Parrot FlowerPower cloud via their API.
I dont run this as a PiBeacon as I would assume that i cant have 2 services running at the same time making calls to the bluetooth module.
If it is possible to integrate FlowerPower into PiBeacon that would give me one more PiBeacon server :-)

https://github.com/Parrot-Developers/node-flower-bridge

Posted on
Mon May 22, 2017 2:40 pm
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 5912
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Raspi3 totally unreliable WLan

Thats a cold idea. Will check.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Mon May 22, 2017 7:22 pm
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 5912
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Raspi3 totally unreliable WLan

I ordered one. Will see how it works. Will try to get it integrated into pibeacon At least for reading it directly.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Tue May 23, 2017 7:33 am
johnpolasek offline
Posts: 821
Joined: Aug 05, 2011
Location: Aggieland, Texas

Re: Raspi3 totally unreliable WLan

AndyVirus wrote:
As I am kind of done with the pibeacon plugin I am considering some new things:
-Sprinkler with rpi
-Send scheduled actions to rpi( runs autonomously )
- any other suggestions ??


I have a PI in my garden soley to collect data from my FlowerPower plant sensors and uploads the collected data to the Parrot FlowerPower cloud via their API.
I dont run this as a PiBeacon as I would assume that i cant have 2 services running at the same time making calls to the bluetooth module.
If it is possible to integrate FlowerPower into PiBeacon that would give me one more PiBeacon server :-)

https://github.com/Parrot-Developers/node-flower-bridge



I'd be VERY leery of dealing with Parrot after my experience with their AR Drone... Back when it was top of the line, I could access the raw GPS data from the drone and order it to fly an autonomous multipoint path, but when Parrot introduced a "new and improved" Bebop drone, they pushed out a software update that removed the "Arm" command required to allow autonomous flights and encrypted the GPS data for the AR drone When I asked about it, I was told that those features were now exclusive to the newer model and that there would be no further development of the AR series... So if Parrot ever introduces a new product with improved features, be prepared for them to cripple their existing line to "encourage" you to upgrade.

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest