Home Remote iOS app after iOS 13 -- unable to load

Posted on
Sun Sep 22, 2019 5:18 am
Seeker offline
Posts: 432
Joined: Aug 05, 2013

Home Remote iOS app after iOS 13 -- unable to load

swipe left for the home screen does not work since the iOS 13 upgrade on Thursday. i see the tile but instead of showing the action buttons, it just says 'unable to load'.

any ideas? this app has been so useful, but it doesn't look like there's much discussion on it recently.

thanks.

Posted on
Sun Sep 22, 2019 5:47 am
howartp offline
Posts: 4515
Joined: Jan 09, 2014
Location: West Yorkshire, UK

Re: Home Remote iOS app after iOS 13 -- unable to load

The author is only on Twitter now.

He has a new version in testing with beta group.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

Posted on
Mon Sep 23, 2019 3:45 pm
kpurintun offline
Posts: 16
Joined: Feb 03, 2017

Re: Home Remote iOS app after iOS 13 -- unable to load

Gosh.. i bee this app back. It is such a perfect app..


Posted on
Wed Sep 25, 2019 3:18 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 17683
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Home Remote iOS app after iOS 13 -- unable to load

Here's a little taste of what you can do with the next release of Home Remote (no HomeKit Bridge required). Thanks Gary for a great update!

By way of explanation, Accents is a Home Remote action that controls a Device Group in Indigo that contains all of the accent lighting I have in the house. And as an extra special treat, Annabelle video-bombed, but today is her 10th birthday so I left her in...

:D

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Wed Sep 25, 2019 3:42 pm
RogueProeliator offline
User avatar
Posts: 2479
Joined: Nov 13, 2012
Location: Baton Rouge, LA

Re: Home Remote iOS app after iOS 13 -- unable to load

Here's a little taste of what you can do with the next release of Home Remote (no HomeKit Bridge required). Thanks Gary for a great update!

Did Jay just willingly use a Google-owned internet site???? :-)

Posted on
Wed Sep 25, 2019 4:27 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 17683
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Home Remote iOS app after iOS 13 -- unable to load

RogueProeliator wrote:
Did Jay just willingly use a Google-owned internet site???? :-)


Indigo Domotics has a corporate Google Account, yes. :lol:

But let's not get this thread off track.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Sat Sep 28, 2019 3:24 am
Gary_BBGames offline
Posts: 164
Joined: Sep 14, 2015

Re: Home Remote iOS app after iOS 13 -- unable to load

Hello guys! Long time no speak. With family, over the years, Home Remote has taken a bit of a back burner and I apologise. The iOS 13 update was submitted yesterday and will hopefully be approved later today, although Apple are very touchy with this app for some reason.

The main new feature is the ability to use Siri Shortcuts and create shortcuts. This means using the shortcuts app, you can tie home remote, and therefore Indigo, into automations, such as trigger a Home Remote action when you wake up alarm gets turned off.

As I said, Apple are super picky in regards this app so I’m going to post the TestFlight link here and if you want to join the beta and get access immediately you can.

https://testflight.apple.com/join/PWIYyvZh

Posted on
Sun Sep 29, 2019 9:01 am
DaveL17 offline
User avatar
Posts: 6403
Joined: Aug 20, 2013
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Re: Home Remote iOS app after iOS 13 -- unable to load

Gary_BBGames wrote:
This means using the shortcuts app, you can tie home remote, and therefore Indigo, into automations, such as trigger a Home Remote action when you wake up alarm gets turned off.

Hello Gary -- I've installed the Test Flight version of the app, but unfortunately I'm not seeing Home Remote in the list of available apps in the Shortcuts App with this workflow:

My Shortcuts
Create Shortcut
Add Action
Apps

Should Home Remote appear in this list?
Attachments
IMG_026C323AD410-1.jpeg
IMG_026C323AD410-1.jpeg (288.41 KiB) Viewed 2780 times

I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]

Posted on
Sun Sep 29, 2019 9:19 am
Gary_BBGames offline
Posts: 164
Joined: Sep 14, 2015

Re: Home Remote iOS app after iOS 13 -- unable to load

You set them up from within the app. Select your actions, tap the microphone icon and set the voice phrase. It will then show up in shortcuts.

Posted on
Sun Sep 29, 2019 9:41 am
DaveL17 offline
User avatar
Posts: 6403
Joined: Aug 20, 2013
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Re: Home Remote iOS app after iOS 13 -- unable to load

Gary_BBGames wrote:
You set them up from within the app. Select your actions, tap the microphone icon and set the voice phrase. It will then show up in shortcuts.

Sorry, I misunderstood. I thought that the shortcuts set in Home Remote with a voice phrase were only for Siri.

Cheers!

I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]

Posted on
Sun Sep 29, 2019 9:44 am
Gary_BBGames offline
Posts: 164
Joined: Sep 14, 2015

Re: Home Remote iOS app after iOS 13 -- unable to load

No worries. You have to set your own voice action. Once you’ve done that it’s available in the shortcuts app for everything else. You’ll need to select “run shortcut” and then select your new shortcut.

Posted on
Mon Sep 30, 2019 1:58 am
durosity offline
User avatar
Posts: 4158
Joined: May 10, 2012
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, Ye Ol' England.

Re: Home Remote iOS app after iOS 13 -- unable to load

jay (support) wrote:
But let's not get this thread off track.


Indeed.. No off tracking of the thread. That's my job.

Also just wanted to say great to see you back working on this app.. i thought it'd been abandoned. Looking forward to finding some time to play with it :)

Computer says no.

Posted on
Tue Oct 01, 2019 4:23 pm
Gary_BBGames offline
Posts: 164
Joined: Sep 14, 2015

Re: Home Remote iOS app after iOS 13 -- unable to load

Version 3.7 is now available in the App Store.!

It supports adding shortcuts via the app, the microphone icon, and with the main shortcuts app then allows further automation via NFC tags, alarms and the like.

I’ll make some videos tomorrow of how the new features can be used, you might not realise it yet, but this is super exciting!

Posted on
Tue Oct 01, 2019 6:44 pm
DaveL17 offline
User avatar
Posts: 6403
Joined: Aug 20, 2013
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Re: Home Remote iOS app after iOS 13 -- unable to load

Congratulations! I've stopped testing and downloaded from the store and everything seems in order.

Thanks for the update.

I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron