need help getting started

Posted on
Sat Nov 28, 2015 1:54 pm
denno offline
Posts: 72
Joined: Sep 17, 2004

need help getting started

Just read about Indigo's integration with Home Remote in the newsletter. Bought the iOS app but can't figure out how to connect it to Indigo.

Posted on
Sat Nov 28, 2015 2:15 pm
Gary_BBGames offline
Posts: 162
Joined: Sep 14, 2015

Re: need help getting started

Hi, this thread covers the basics.

viewtopic.php?f=186&t=15080

Posted on
Sat Nov 28, 2015 2:24 pm
denno offline
Posts: 72
Joined: Sep 17, 2004

Re: need help getting started

Thanks--is there a more basic-level tutorial?
That thread didn't help :)

Posted on
Sat Nov 28, 2015 3:17 pm
Gary_BBGames offline
Posts: 162
Joined: Sep 14, 2015

Re: need help getting started

I'm not a full time Indigo user so my experience will not be that helpful in this instance but I will try.

Have you set up the restful API for indigo ( http://wiki.indigodomo.com/doku.php?id= ... stful_urls )

When you know the URLs you need go to Home Remote and select "add action".

Press the "URL" button and then enter the indigodomo URL and action name.

Select "post/put" and then "name:pass". Add your username and password in the format username:password then press "add to action", then "add action".

Pull down your todsy screen and add the widget and see if the button works.

Posted on
Sat Nov 28, 2015 5:22 pm
howartp offline
Posts: 3660
Joined: Jan 09, 2014
Location: West Yorkshire, UK

Re: need help getting started

Combine my screenshots here with my examples on that thread.

Image

Image

Image

Image


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Sat Nov 28, 2015 8:08 pm
denno offline
Posts: 72
Joined: Sep 17, 2004

Re: need help getting started

Thanks. I am trying to set up an action to set "Family Room" to 30%.

Does this look right? (with http:// in front of it)

127.0.0.1:8176/devices/Family%20Room?brightness=30&_method=put

Posted on
Sat Nov 28, 2015 9:26 pm
Gary_BBGames offline
Posts: 162
Joined: Sep 14, 2015

Re: need help getting started

You don't need %20, just use a space.

Posted on
Sat Nov 28, 2015 10:23 pm
denno offline
Posts: 72
Joined: Sep 17, 2004

Re: need help getting started

When I tried it without the %20 in my browser, it didn't work. The app doesn't need that, though?

Posted on
Sun Nov 29, 2015 1:06 am
Gary_BBGames offline
Posts: 162
Joined: Sep 14, 2015

Re: need help getting started

That's correct. The app encodes the command.

Posted on
Sun Nov 29, 2015 2:16 am
howartp offline
Posts: 3660
Joined: Jan 09, 2014
Location: West Yorkshire, UK

Re: need help getting started

You also need to change 127.0.0.1 to the IP address of your Mac.

(127.0.0.1 in IT speak means 'myself' so it will be working fine in browser on your Mac, but won't work in Home Remote on iOS)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Sun Nov 29, 2015 2:36 am
Gary_BBGames offline
Posts: 162
Joined: Sep 14, 2015

Re: need help getting started

That's a good spot too :)

I'm going to set up a wiki tonight and start populating it.

I have a new baby so it might take a while, but centrally t should be a good resource.

Posted on
Sun Nov 29, 2015 9:42 am
denno offline
Posts: 72
Joined: Sep 17, 2004

Re: need help getting started

Last questions (I think)-
My Internet provider is TimeWarner and I have an Airport Extreme creating my WiFi network. For the IP address, should I use the internal address of the Mac running Indigo server (10.#.#.#) or the external IP address (184.#.#.#)?


I am running Indigo Pro v6 and have "Enable remote Indigo client access" enabled on port 1176. Does that change anything with the setup?


Thanks for all the help-appreciate it.
Last edited by denno on Sun Nov 29, 2015 9:44 am, edited 1 time in total.

Posted on
Sun Nov 29, 2015 9:44 am
howartp offline
Posts: 3660
Joined: Jan 09, 2014
Location: West Yorkshire, UK

Re: need help getting started

10.#.#.#


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Sun Nov 29, 2015 9:56 am
denno offline
Posts: 72
Joined: Sep 17, 2004

Re: need help getting started

Hmm...made the changes but nothing happens when I run it.

I edited my previous message after you replied.--
I am running Indigo Pro v6 and have "Enable remote Indigo client access" enabled on port 1176. Does that change anything with the setup?




Thanks!

Posted on
Sun Nov 29, 2015 10:00 am
denno offline
Posts: 72
Joined: Sep 17, 2004

Re: need help getting started

Here's my Indigo setup
Attachments
2015-11-29_09-59-00.png
2015-11-29_09-59-00.png (210.76 KiB) Viewed 2149 times

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest