Can't pair an iTunes Plugin device with iTunes

Forum rules

This is a legacy forum which is locked for new topics. New topics should be started in one of the other forums under Extending Indigo

Posted on
Wed Dec 12, 2012 2:40 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 18216
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Can't pair an iTunes Plugin device with iTunes

If you're using it, iTunes 11 broke the plugin and we don't have any ETA on when/if we'll get it working again.

If you're still running iTunes 10.x, then wait about 15 minutes and try to pair again with debug on and paste in the results. The error you're seeing below likely means that you tried multiple times in a row and Python isn't releasing the network connections quickly enough.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Wed Dec 19, 2012 12:43 am
yschutzer offline
Posts: 3
Joined: Dec 10, 2012

Re: Can't pair an iTunes Plugin device with iTunes

I am indeed running iTunes 11. Since my Indigo server is on the same machine as the iTunes library I need, I'll use applescript in the meanwhile.
All I really needed is something like this:

if application "iTunes" is running then
tell application "iTunes"
play track "Doorbell" of playlist "Sounds"
end tell
else
activate application "iTunes"
tell application "iTunes"
play track "Doorbell" of playlist "Sounds"
end tell
delay 5
quit application "iTunes"
end if

Posted on
Thu Mar 07, 2013 5:56 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 18216
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Can't pair an iTunes Plugin device with iTunes

FYI - Indigo 6 b6 (just released) fixes the iTunes 11 problem with the iTunes plugin.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Thu Apr 18, 2013 12:00 pm
stoffergoffer offline
Posts: 37
Joined: Apr 16, 2013

Re: Can't pair an iTunes Plugin device with iTunes

I still get this error using indigo b7 and itunes 11, can we continue the thread?
I dint have parallels or anything.

My log looks like this:
iTunes Debug logging enabled
iTunes Debug getDeviceConfigUiValues called
iTunes Debug getDeviceConfigUiValues(): this is a new device
iTunes Debug getDeviceConfigUiValues(): new guid: BD560F6DB16F78CB
iTunes Debug getDeviceConfigUiValues(): starting pairing thread
iTunes Debug pairingThread: Starting run method
iTunes Debug pairingThread: Waiting for pairing message
iTunes Debug pairingThread: Received pairing message
iTunes Debug pairingThread: From host: ('10.211.55.2', 51543)
iTunes Debug pairingThread: Closing down
iTunes Debug validateDeviceConfigUi called
iTunes Debug validateDeviceConfigUi: Pairing message was received from ip: 10.211.55.2
iTunes Debug getMediaServerList: called
iTunes Debug getMediaServerList: ip: 10.37.129.2 and host: MacPro-001F5BB4DE7F.local
iTunes Debug validateDeviceConfigUi: serverList:
[('10.37.129.2', u'MacPro-001F5BB4DE7F.local', u'MacPro-001F5BB4DE7F.local:3689')]
iTunes Debug validateDeviceConfigUi: Pairing message was not received from a known host: 10.211.55.2
iTunes Debug pairingThread: Starting run method
iTunes Debug dacp.open: exception: (48, 'Address already in use')
iTunes Debug dacp.open: address in use exception, trying another
iTunes Debug pairingThread: Waiting for pairing message
iTunes Debug closedDeviceConfigUi: device config dialog closed
iTunes Debug closedDeviceConfigUi: pairing thread exists
iTunes Debug closedDeviceConfigUi: pairing thread is running, cancelling
iTunes Debug pairingThread: Received pairing message
iTunes Debug pairingThread: From host: ('127.0.0.1', 51545)
iTunes Debug pairingThread: Closing down

Posted on
Thu Apr 18, 2013 1:03 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 18216
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Can't pair an iTunes Plugin device with iTunes

You do have something that's causing your Mac to have two different IP addresses though: notice that we receive the pairing message from 10.211.55.2 but then your iTunes server is then broadcasting it's bonjour information on 10.37.129.2. So, either you have two physical interfaces running (ethernet and wifi maybe) or you have another app that's creating a virtual network connection.

This has nothing to do with the iTunes version I don't believe.

The Mac name looks kinda odd though (MacPro-001F5BB4DE7F.local) - I wonder if that's a clue...

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Fri Apr 19, 2013 2:57 am
stoffergoffer offline
Posts: 37
Joined: Apr 16, 2013

Re: Can't pair an iTunes Plugin device with iTunes

Thank you for the great support Jay!!!
Hmm, i really can't see what is causing this. I once had parallels installed. Could it be a seperate ip from back then? Or could this have something to do with my network setup? We have multiple wifi routers in my house. Also is that ip my public ip address?
My mac is actually a hackintosh, so that may cause a strange name.

Posted on
Fri Apr 19, 2013 9:07 am
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 18216
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Can't pair an iTunes Plugin device with iTunes

Those two addresses belong to network ranges that are reserved for internal networks. I have no idea why you have two distinct networks. Open your System Preferences and click the Network icon. If you have more than one interface listed that has a green dot next to it then you have multiple networks active on your Mac. Unless your Mac is routing between the two for some reason, I'd recommend disabling all except the primary one.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Fri Apr 19, 2013 12:24 pm
Dewster35 offline
Posts: 1030
Joined: Jul 06, 2010
Location: Petoskey, MI

Re: Can't pair an iTunes Plugin device with iTunes

FWIW, I've noticed some general wonkiness when having both ethernet and wireless enabled on my mac mini. Not sure why... you would think just one would have the persistent connection to the network.

Posted on
Thu Apr 25, 2013 1:49 am
stoffergoffer offline
Posts: 37
Joined: Apr 16, 2013

Re: Can't pair an iTunes Plugin device with iTunes

All right i disabled everything else but wifi, but no luck. I will try some other things and reply if anything succeeds. Othewise there's simple scripts for everything the plugin does, right?

Posted on
Thu Apr 25, 2013 7:19 am
Dewster35 offline
Posts: 1030
Joined: Jul 06, 2010
Location: Petoskey, MI

Re: Can't pair an iTunes Plugin device with iTunes

stoffergoffer wrote:
All right i disabled everything else but wifi, but no luck. I will try some other things and reply if anything succeeds. Othewise there's simple scripts for everything the plugin does, right?


Scripts work for everything but the ability to change shuffle and repeat (unless something has changed in the last few weeks). Just google "doug's itunes scripts" and you'll find a whole pile of scripts to do a whole bunch of different scripts to do anything you can imagine.

Posted on
Thu Apr 25, 2013 8:36 am
stoffergoffer offline
Posts: 37
Joined: Apr 16, 2013

Re: Can't pair an iTunes Plugin device with iTunes

Dewster35 wrote:
Just google "doug's itunes scripts" and you'll find a whole pile of scripts to do a whole bunch of different scripts to do anything you can imagine.


Nice!! thank you!

Posted on
Thu Apr 25, 2013 10:51 am
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 18216
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Can't pair an iTunes Plugin device with iTunes

The old iTunes attachment script is also included in the install - that should perform all the actions you need.

You never said what network interfaces were listed in your Network system preference...

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron