NSInternalInconsistencyException trying to make a Trigger

Forum rules

This is a legacy forum which is locked for new topics. New topics should be started in one of the other forums under Extending Indigo

Posted on
Wed Jul 20, 2011 12:42 am
Perry The Cynic offline
Posts: 836
Joined: Apr 07, 2008

NSInternalInconsistencyException trying to make a Trigger

I'm trying to create an Indigo Trigger on a device state change of one of my plugin devices. I pick my device and the next popup menu appears, but it stays empty, and the Indigo log says
Error (client) _updateDevStateKeyPopups() caught exception: NSInternalInconsistencyException -- Invalid parameter not satisfying: aString != nil

Uh... what does that mean? How did I offend Indigo's delicate sensibilities? :)

For what it's worth, here is the device's state definition:
Code: Select all
      <States>
         <State id="state" defaultValue="offline">
            <ValueType>
               <List>
                  <Option value="offline">Offline</Option>
                  <Option value="online">Online</Option>
                  <Option value="resolving">Resolving Address</Option>
                  <Option value="error">Error</Option>
               </List>
            </ValueType>
         </State>
      </States>

Cheers
-- perry

Posted on
Wed Jul 20, 2011 12:50 am
Perry The Cynic offline
Posts: 836
Joined: Apr 07, 2008

Re: NSInternalInconsistencyException trying to make a Trigge

Never mind. It says that when I forget to put a TriggerLabel into the state:
Code: Select all
            <TriggerLabel>Device State</TriggerLabel>


Shouldn't the XML reader check for mandatory elements and complain at load time? That error message is not, uh, terribly helpful. :-)

Cheers
-- perry

Posted on
Wed Jul 20, 2011 6:45 am
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 18225
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: NSInternalInconsistencyException trying to make a Trigge

Yep - all the parsing was done originally in Cocoa and all required fields were checked. We moved some of it to Python just before alpha so that developers would have a hook. We haven't finished the required field checking in that parsing code yet.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests