Moving to Vienna

Posted on
Wed Sep 22, 2021 8:54 am
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 7795
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Moving to Vienna

Will try. Next week will visit our son in Chicago. Then 4 days nyc And Oct 9 in Vienna.

Then “Anmeldeschein”, customs declaration, bank, new sim chip , order internet, order stuff. The houses in Vienna seem to be sold empty not a single closet, no mirror in bathroom. Just the kitchen is in. That’s not a problem but an opportunity. But I am afraid the lead times will be months not weeks.

And then wait and relax for many weeks.

Karl.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Wed Sep 22, 2021 9:35 am
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 17064
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Moving to Vienna

Good luck!

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Wed Sep 22, 2021 1:36 pm
durosity offline
User avatar
Posts: 4059
Joined: May 10, 2012
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, Ye Ol' England.

Re: Moving to Vienna

All I can say is https://youtu.be/xJeWySiuq1I


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Computer says no.

Posted on
Wed Sep 22, 2021 2:10 pm
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 7795
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Moving to Vienna

I am a little more old fashioned.

https://youtu.be/-3_tgPq395E


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Thu Sep 30, 2021 11:58 am
mundmc offline
User avatar
Posts: 860
Joined: Sep 14, 2012

Re: Moving to Vienna

Best of luck, Karl! I look forward to pibeacon having weiner schnitzel making functionality.

Posted on
Sun Oct 31, 2021 11:53 am
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 7795
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Moving to Vienna

update

1. boxes have moved from Dallas to Port Wentsworth GA
port w.png
port w.png (529.16 KiB) Viewed 226 times
.. I guess 4- 6 more weeks before unpacking

2. ethernet cabling is done in the house, with temp Netgear switch, 5G antenna and fritzbox are upstairs on balkony
cabling.png
cabling.png (1.55 MiB) Viewed 226 times
,
Newly fully renovated house within new telephone cabling in each room !!!, only by accident for the remote front gate opener system we have cat 5 in most rooms.

3. 5G connection internet speed is not too bad:
Screen Shot 2021-10-31 at 6.35.27 PM.png
Screen Shot 2021-10-31 at 6.35.27 PM.png (137.48 KiB) Viewed 226 times


4. connection to "junkers" heating system is working, though only through app and cloud server (need to change that)

5. Mile watching machine is waiting to be connected through wifi, but also --> cloud

6. Now I need to make some decisions on light bulbs:
I have a rented house, so my options on messing around with wires are limited, may be I can replace the simple switches with dimmers, but the multi switches go through a fuse box and there is the relay. So switching is not done directly though switch -> lamp but n switches ===> fuse box --> relay --> lamp
The shelly buttons are ugly, the ikea buttons look good, but it is a closed system?
Does anyone have experience with them? and any advice

Karl

Posted on
Mon Nov 01, 2021 4:54 am
norcoscia offline
User avatar
Posts: 1004
Joined: Sep 09, 2015

Re: Moving to Vienna

Don’t forget to change your address for your Pokit PRO :-)

_______
Norm

Posted on
Mon Nov 01, 2021 5:18 am
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 7795
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Moving to Vienna

norcoscia wrote:
Don’t forget to change your address for your Pokit PRO :-)
Yes done, but it might take another year before they ship.

And I have another 2 pages of things that have to be changed:
Eg Change country setting for my iPhone w/o loosing apps and purchases


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Wed Nov 17, 2021 12:26 am
mundmc offline
User avatar
Posts: 860
Joined: Sep 14, 2012

Moving to Vienna

I know you posted this a while ago and I’m sorry I missed it; I am incredibly intrigued to see what you do in the space, given you are an awesome problem solver and your plug-ins run half of my house. I look forward to more updates. I hope touching non-Unifi routers was not painful.

Of note though, the last question you asked I don’t think I entirely followed: about the wiring for the lights. Maybe i’m dumm (looked up “stupid” in Austrian), But it seems like some of your switches have to travel back wires to something like your circuit breaker with relays?

Edit: I guess I am confused with a multi relay is

Posted on
Wed Nov 17, 2021 1:12 am
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 7795
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Moving to Vienna

Multi switches setup in the house:
Each switch is a momentary switch
2 wires run back to the circuit breaker board
There a relay is installed that changes states if it gets an Impuls from one of the switches.
That relay output is connected to the light bulbs

Totally different from the wiring in the USA there you have wires from hot to switch 1 , to switch 2 , to switch 3… then to the lamp to neutral or the other way around (hot/neutral)

Karl.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest