Indigo Server Installation

Posted on
Wed Apr 08, 2020 7:39 am
McIntoshBear offline

Indigo Server Installation

My Indigo server (MacMini, monitor, keyboard, mouse, power line interface ) currently lives on the dinning room table. I want to move the server to another location in my home so we can again use the table for it's intended purpose but am a bit uncertain where to locate it. I am interested in learning how others have installed their Indigo server and associated hardware. I am thinking about adding an uninterruptible power supply to bridge the gap before my emergency generator kicks in to the list of hardware. Any thoughts on this subject would also be appreciated.

I must admit that I am not good at searching the form so if these topics have been discussed I would also appreciate a pointer to them. Thanks for your input.

Posted on
Wed Apr 08, 2020 12:58 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin

Re: Indigo Server Installation

My Mac mini and all my networking stuff is in the master closet. The builder puts the structured wiring cabinet in there along with the alarm panel, so it made sense to put the Indigo Mac and interfaces in there as well. YMMV.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Wed Apr 08, 2020 1:27 pm
RogueProeliator offline

Similar to Jay's, mine lives in the office closet sitting on a shelf in the rack... Z-Wave is on a quality USB Extender cable and mounted on the wall next to the rack. It is on one end of the house and has a LOT of electronics and (presumably) interference around it but it works great.

I have the server on a UPS, but the INSTEON interface would need to go straight to wall I believe.

Adam

Posted on
Wed Apr 08, 2020 2:41 pm
jalves offline