Want to replace control 4

Posted on
Tue Sep 27, 2016 10:49 am
spoof720 offline

Want to replace control 4

I'm very new to home automation, but the subject is fascinating to me and a growing hobby of mine. I currently have a Control4 box in my house, with a 5 zone amp, and a wireless music bridge. When Control4 works it seems to be a fine system, but as of lately I've been getting a lot of error codes, time outs and unresponsiveness. I called the control 4 dealer who originally installed the unit and he informed me there was a software update available for a price. Long story short, I didn't like his approach and I'm looking into something different. We also recently purchased the Phillips hue bridge, and are transitioning rooms in the house to wireless hue lights. At 30 dollars a bulb, I've decided to add them as lights go out. Now control 4 has a plugin that will control the philips bridge, but again I will have to pay the dealer to install. We have a nest thermosat, and three Apple TV 's, and three tv's set up to run through control 4. I'm going to add an additional 2 zones of speakers, so will be getting a new 7 or 8 zone amp. I also have an alarm system setup that isn't currently communicating with control 4, but would like to tie it together. I'm wondering if this platform can handle what I'm currently doing with control 4. Forgive my naïveté and respond accordingly.

Posted on
Wed Sep 28, 2016 2:52 am
petematheson offline

Re: Want to replace control 4

Hi and welcome!

I don't have any experience of Control4 particularly, other than when I asked them to quote for something a few years back and it was extortionate! :)

Indigo is pretty good at all of the items you have mentioned, specifically: