[ANSWERED]: Can someone explain me the concept of Polling

Posted on
Sat Jun 20, 2015 12:21 pm
PeteVis offline

[ANSWERED]: Can someone explain me the concept of Polling

I'm still very new to zwave, and some of these terms are not entirely clear to me.

Am I correct in thinking that "polling" is Indigo initiating a request to a device and asking for certain data ?
And that "Wake up" is the device physically being triggered (in the case of i.e. a PIR motion sensor) and sending data to Indigo ?

Ifso,
In my current scenario, I have a few Aoetec Smart switches, they are plugin sockets and they apparantly have power usage metering.
I do not really care about the power usage metering for now, but in Indigo, in the device settings, it has polling enabled, "only when activity detected".

Since I don't need the power usage statistics, is it safe (maybe even preferable) to just turn off the polling for these devices ? Would they still work as a remote controlled switch ? Would this free some resources on the zwave network ?
The reason I am confused is that the sentence 'only when activity detected' makes it sound that the activity should be initiated from the device itself (the physical switch). It sounds like polling stands for communication going from Indigo to the device, and thus, turning off polling would render the switch uncontrollable by Indigo ?

Posted on
Sat Jun 20, 2015 2:06 pm
howartp offline

Re: Can someone explain me the concept of Polling

You are correct with Polling - it is Indigo sending a status request to devices. It is NOT Indigo sending a command (on/off etc).

Most Zwave devices send their status to Indigo whenever they are changed locally at the device (light switch, plug-in socket, sensor). If it is say a plug-in socket that has power-metering in, the device might only send 'I've been turned on' - so with 'only when activity detected' Indigo would then poll for the power level value.