New to home automation

Posted on
Thu Sep 11, 2014 1:42 pm
MarcoGT offline

New to home automation

Hi all,

I am new to home automation but I am an experienced OSX/Mac user (also iPhone/iPad).
In the next months we will move to a new flat (in Europe, not USA/Canada) and I will start with home automation.
I will go with Z-Wave. The first idea was to buy Fibaro Home Center 2 but then I discovered Indigo.
At home I have two Mac, an iMac and a MacBookPro. Idea is to buy a Mac Mini and run Indigo on it.

I have a few question:

- the Mac Mini will be located in a separate room, so I will not have keyboard/monitor/mouse, then I think I have to use "screen sharing" from a second me
- I do not know if the internet provider I will have in the new house will allow access from external; do I have to setup my router with port forwarding and so on? Can I access Indigo from external? How?

I will have for sure other question, but later :)

Thanks
Marco

Posted on
Thu Sep 11, 2014 1:47 pm
kw123 offline

Re: New to home automation

yes, you can access indigo from the outside:
1. through indigo-touch on your iPhone/ ipad
2. indigo client on your laptop indigo-server at home if you forward the right port on your router , check the prefs in indigo for the port
3. web access similar to iTouch

[EDIT] you can also access indigo while being at home as client server...

Karl

Posted on
Thu Sep 11, 2014 2:10 pm
MarcoGT offline

Does it mean I need to forward ports on my router?
Also for access with Indigo Touch?

Posted on
Thu Sep 11, 2014 3:07 pm
kw123 offline

client server: forward port 1176 to your indigo server on your router, and use either e.g. no-ip.com & dyn dns to directly address your Indigo server or use static IP

Indigo touch & web access
(a) use indigodomo.net (~$2/month)
(b) forward port 8176 to your indigo server ....

I hope thats right, at least thats what I am doing (using port forward and as backup I am also using go prism.com)