Upgrade to Python 3?

gskarp
Posts: 148
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 4:50 pm

Upgrade to Python 3?

Post by gskarp »

Just wondering if this will be updated for use with future versions of Indigo.
vtmikel
Posts: 646
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2012 12:45 pm
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: Upgrade to Python 3?

Post by vtmikel »

Wondering the same! This plugin has been a staple for my system for some time. How else will I automatically turn up the volume of my kitchen zone when I get something from the fridge! :)
srkinard
Posts: 320
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2016 5:55 pm
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Upgrade to Python 3?

Post by srkinard »

Just updated to 2023.1.1 for the improvements, and this is the only Plugin I use that's not compatible. Are there any plans to update it? I use this to console two different Onkyo Receivers I have...control power states, trigger off power states, set volume levels at evening schedules, switch inputs, etc.

They are the central hardware in both my HT setups.

Thanks
Ross
srkinard
Posts: 320
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2016 5:55 pm
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Upgrade to Python 3?

Post by srkinard »

Hoping this plugin isn't abandoned at this point...
gillekes
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 5:29 am

Re: Upgrade to Python 3?

Post by gillekes »

I also hope the plugin gets updated.

Gilles
bluehouse
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 9:21 pm

Re: Upgrade to Python 3?

Post by bluehouse »

I wasn’t even aware of this plugin until I saw this thread. I’d add one more vote for a request to update.

I use the Pioneer plugin daily and appreciate the work Dave did for that python 3 update. Adding the Onkyo plugin would fill the house with automated sound!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
vtmikel
Posts: 646
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2012 12:45 pm
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: Upgrade to Python 3?

Post by vtmikel »

I've attempted to convert the plugin to Python 3 but it's beyond my skill.
srkinard
Posts: 320
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2016 5:55 pm
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Upgrade to Python 3?

Post by srkinard »

Honestly, I just finally moved to Home Assistant OS running on a N100-based mini PC. Had a good long run with Indigo, but there's a lot of integrations that HA has that Indigo doesn't. Now tied into my Litter Robot, my Bambu Labs printer, ESP32 nodes, etc. Plus, HA detected all my existing Z-wave nodes, showed me some of them needed firmware updates and processed them for me. Planning to move soon so I figured I'd learn it so I'd set up the new place better.
User avatar
norcoscia
Posts: 1213
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2015 5:54 am

Re: Upgrade to Python 3?

Post by norcoscia »

Wow, are you saying you just stuck your indigo Z Wave stick into your HA box and it had access to all your devices - just wondering because if it can just be unplugged from indigo and plugged into HA it would be a great way to get Z Wave FW updates in (assuming you could do that and then just put it back into your Indigo machine.)

Has anyone tried this?
_______
Norm
srkinard
Posts: 320
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2016 5:55 pm
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Upgrade to Python 3?

Post by srkinard »

I did....nothing edits the nodes in the USB stick memory. I was able to move the Z-Stick back to the Indigo mini and pick up where I was...I did that twice until I got some of the automations done.
srkinard
Posts: 320
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2016 5:55 pm
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Upgrade to Python 3?

Post by srkinard »

You'll need the Z-wave JS integration in HA, then give it about 20-30 minutes to talk to all the nodes it sees. You may need to wake some of them if they are battery powered.
But 2 of my Aeon Labs MultiSensor 6 devices had firmware updates, one of my GE modules, and one or two others.
killerdan56
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2024 6:27 am

Re: Upgrade to Python 3?

Post by killerdan56 »

Lol trying asking AI to update the code
https://www.perplexity.ai/

make account and upload the script then ask it to do whatever u need. See what it says.
User avatar
RogueProeliator
Posts: 2516
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2012 3:54 pm
Location: Baton Rouge, LA

Re: Upgrade to Python 3?

Post by RogueProeliator »

Hey all -- the new version of the plugin supporting Python 3 and the latest Indigo is now available! This was a near-complete rewrite so please let me know of any bugs or issues as there is a much higher chance of those than normal. However, I wanted to get it out there for those that have been waiting forever...

Note that there is a prerequisite that needs installing prior to the update; it is documented in the announcement post

Adam
gskarp
Posts: 148
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 4:50 pm

Re: Upgrade to Python 3?

Post by gskarp »

Thanks for the upgrade Adam!! Seems to work but I get a bunch of errors when I load the plugin. Not sure it matters. I can post them if you want.
User avatar
RogueProeliator
Posts: 2516
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2012 3:54 pm
Location: Baton Rouge, LA

Re: Upgrade to Python 3?

Post by RogueProeliator »

Thanks for the upgrade Adam!! Seems to work but I get a bunch of errors when I load the plugin. Not sure it matters. I can post them if you want.
Not seeing any on mine, so you shouldn't expect any -- please do let me know what you are seeing. Don't want that even if it is seemingly working properly.
Post Reply

Return to “Onkyo Receiver”