Controling harmony ultimate HUB from Indigo

Posted on
Thu Jul 10, 2014 4:07 am
haavarda offline

Controling harmony ultimate HUB from Indigo

I have been following this thread on the vera forum:

http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/ ... 28.60.html

It discusses how to control the Harmony ultimate hub from the vera controller. And in post 69 there is a description and something called HarmonyHubControl binary.
I am not a programmer and have very little knowledge about this, but I would very much like to see Indigo controlling my harmony ultimate hub. Can someone say anything about this file and how one could go about to get this working with Indigo?

If there is anybody else that would like to start develop a plugin for harmony ultimate this can maybe be a good starting point.

Håvard

Håvard

Posted on
Thu Jul 10, 2014 7:04 am
colinpartridge offline

Re: Controling harmony ultimate HUB from Indigo

I managed to install pyharmony libraries according to this post http://forums.logitech.com/t5/Harmony-Hub-Based-Remotes/Ultimate-Hub-API/td-p/1049607/page/4 and managed to get indigo to run a shell script to change an activity. It was very kludgy and not exactly swift but that was probably down to me not having a clue what I was doing. One of the issues is that some of the libraries are for python 2.6 so you can't run the scripts directly from within Indigo ( I don't think). There isn't a full list of commands available but all I was interested in was changing activities. I notice that you can now control Nest Thermostats and Remote Buddy from your Harmony Remote.

Colin
Last edited by colinpartridge on Wed Sep 10, 2014 6:54 am, edited 1 time in total.

Posted on
Thu Jul 10, 2014 10:25 am
haavarda offline

As I understand it Colin you used terminal to execute your activity? How do you control it from Indigo? Is this solution stable?

Is there a workaround to get this to run natively from Indigo? Any Python/Indigo experts that could get this to work?

Håvard

Håvard