How do I speak a variable

Posted on
Mon Jan 15, 2018 7:01 am
MarcoGT offline
Posts: 1091
Joined: Sep 11, 2014
Location: Germany

How do I speak a variable

Hi all,

I am trying to let Indigo (v7) speak a variable.
I thought that using %%v:ID%% worked, but it doesn't. I am using the standard "speak" field in the Indigo GUI. I would like to avoid python because the action shall be maintainable by my father :D

Thanks

Posted on
Mon Jan 15, 2018 7:46 am
DaveL17 offline
User avatar
Posts: 6742
Joined: Aug 20, 2013
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Re: How do I speak a variable

I don't believe that the Speak field in the Indigo UI supports substitutions.

I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]

Posted on
Mon Jan 15, 2018 9:15 am
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 2794
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Re: How do I speak a variable

I've built a speak utility into one of my plugins, it is currently for Airfoil setups but could pretty easily be modified to give you flexibility like being able to use whatever the system output is and being able to use variables. Just let me know what you need out of it entirely and I'll see what I can do (if you want to go down that route).

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

HomeKit Bridge | Device Extensions | Security Manager | LCD Creator | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Powermiser | Homebridge Buddy

Check Them Out Here

Posted on
Mon Jan 15, 2018 10:21 am
MarcoGT offline
Posts: 1091
Joined: Sep 11, 2014
Location: Germany

Re: How do I speak a variable

Ideally I would need a plugin where you can mix a combination of sentences + variables to be spoken, for example:

"The outside temperature is" + var_1 + "degrees with humidity of + "var_2" % + "Max temp will be " + var_3 + "and min temp will be" + var_4.

Something like this :)

Posted on
Mon Jan 15, 2018 10:31 am
DaveL17 offline
User avatar
Posts: 6742
Joined: Aug 20, 2013
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Re: How do I speak a variable

My Announcements plugin does precisely this. It’s in the plugin store. It’s still in beta, but works well as it sits.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]

Posted on
Mon Jan 15, 2018 10:36 am
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 2794
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Re: How do I speak a variable

I would just go with Dave's plugin :wink:, it's already there and working.
Last edited by Colorado4Wheeler on Mon Jan 15, 2018 11:28 am, edited 1 time in total.

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

HomeKit Bridge | Device Extensions | Security Manager | LCD Creator | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Powermiser | Homebridge Buddy

Check Them Out Here

Posted on
Mon Jan 15, 2018 10:58 am
MarcoGT offline
Posts: 1091
Joined: Sep 11, 2014
Location: Germany

Re: How do I speak a variable

DaveL17 wrote:
My Announcements plugin does precisely this. It’s in the plugin store. It’s still in beta, but works well as it sits.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


I only find the Announcer plugin by nsheldon, but not your Announcement plugin

Posted on
Mon Jan 15, 2018 11:28 am
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 2794
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Re: How do I speak a variable

MarcoGT wrote:
I only find the Announcer plugin by nsheldon, but not your Announcement plugin


Try the GIT link for it if you can't find it.

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

HomeKit Bridge | Device Extensions | Security Manager | LCD Creator | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Powermiser | Homebridge Buddy

Check Them Out Here

Posted on
Mon Jan 15, 2018 11:31 am
MarcoGT offline
Posts: 1091
Joined: Sep 11, 2014
Location: Germany

Re: How do I speak a variable

Yes, I got it from Git.
I created a new announcement device, but then I can I create a schedule to speak that announcement?

Posted on
Mon Jan 15, 2018 11:40 am
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 2794
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Re: How do I speak a variable

I'm not sure if his are callable or not, I know they are devices but the only action I know of is to refresh the announcements. If you want to try mine out you can get it from my Git repository and it's an action rather than a device so it can be called on the fly.

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

HomeKit Bridge | Device Extensions | Security Manager | LCD Creator | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Powermiser | Homebridge Buddy

Check Them Out Here

Posted on
Mon Jan 15, 2018 12:57 pm
MarcoGT offline
Posts: 1091
Joined: Sep 11, 2014
Location: Germany

Re: How do I speak a variable

Your solution works fine, thanks a lot.
Thanks also to Dave for the support.

Posted on
Mon Jan 15, 2018 2:28 pm
DaveL17 offline
User avatar
Posts: 6742
Joined: Aug 20, 2013
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Re: How do I speak a variable

Yes, my plugin is system output agnostic. It's just for constructing the announcements themselves.

I'll take care of getting it up on the store (thought I had done that).

I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]

Posted on
Tue Jan 16, 2018 10:41 am
ckeyes888 offline
Posts: 2417
Joined: Nov 26, 2009
Location: Kalispell, MT

Re: How do I speak a variable

Speaking of speaking variables...can that be done with a Python script?

Thanks,

Carl

Posted on
Tue Jan 16, 2018 11:09 am
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 2794
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Re: How do I speak a variable

Yes it can:

Code: Select all
indigo.server.speak("Hello world", waitUntilDone=True)

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

HomeKit Bridge | Device Extensions | Security Manager | LCD Creator | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Powermiser | Homebridge Buddy

Check Them Out Here

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests