Help me write a plugin for a 3rd party web controlled relay

Posted on
Sat Jul 16, 2016 4:24 am
ravedog offline

Help me write a plugin for a 3rd party web controlled relay

Hello everyone,

New to Indigo (moving from an ISY).

I'm a bit overwhelmed. I wish there were documentation for walking thru creating a plugin for a sample device. I have no experience with Python, however, if I could get some of you to walk me thru the process from end to end - then I can apply that to other things I'd like to do. I'm hoping that asking for help in thsi way its not too offputting - it's how I learn.

I have this device (several), Its a ControlByWeb Relay X-310 (http://www.controlbyweb.com/x310/). It's a 4 in 4 out relay that can be accessed thru a web interface. It also can be controlled by issuing HTTP GET requests for control or query status.

I want to be able to turn each output relay (1-4) into virtual devices so they can be mapped to a KPL or just accessed thru the WEB INTERFACE. So I need to be able to issue commands to change states (on or off) - and also be able to query the device's state.

Inputs should also be able to be queried as well (in my case, some will be temperature (1-wire) and some will be digital input).

I can successfully issue commands using cURL in the terminal and see the response. But that is as far as I can go.

I'm not sure if this should be a plugin per se or just a series of scripts. As I said, I'm totally lost as to how to do this successfully in Indigo. (I did have this working in the ISY but in an extremely limited fashion: I can issue a HTTP Get request to change a relays state but cannot query the device to parse the value back in the ISY.... it's sort of a one-way interface... command goes out and thats it).

Also, there is a way to configure the device to push out changes to an external server submitting an XML file based on state change.