Page 2 of 3

Re: TP-Link Plugin - How To (v0.1.2)

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2018 6:47 am
by siclark
Is there a reason you want WiFi rather then zwave?
The tp link non power reporting ones are good when on offer, but neo coolcam sockets from AliExpress are cheaper for power reporting and integrate directly with indigo


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Re: TP-Link Plugin - How To (v0.1.2)

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2018 8:15 am
by MarcoGT
I am just looking for Wall Plug that can be controlled with Indigo; now I have 6 Fibaro but they are expensive

TP-Link Plugin - How To (v0.1.2)

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2018 8:39 am
by siclark
Try these.

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/-/32824823027.html

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Re: TP-Link Plugin - How To (v0.1.2)

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2018 12:30 pm
by jay (support)
jtburgess wrote:
I'll build a new release this week.


Great. I thought about adding an action to reboot the device, but just didn't have time and wasn't sure how useful it was.

I also thought about adding polling so that status would get updated automatically when controlled locally at the switch but again just didn't have time (that's probably more useful since they have control buttons on them). If you want to do that, the easiest way would be to keep a list of devices (use the deviceStartComm and deviceStopComm methods to maintain a dictionary of running devices) and then in the runConcurrentThread loop just cycle through that list periodically and call the getInfo method (which now will update status).

Re: TP-Link Plugin - How To (v0.1.2)

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2018 4:46 pm
by jtburgess
Release 0.2.0 is now on GitHub.

Re: TP-Link Plugin - How To (v0.1.2)

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2018 9:22 pm
by stanleykrasnow
The new version is working well - thank you again.

Re: TP-Link Plugin - How To (v0.1.2)

PostPosted: Wed Dec 12, 2018 2:32 pm
by siclark
jtburgess wrote:
Release 0.2.0 is now on GitHub.

Can you check your github. 0.20. is only 206 bytes vs 12.7kb for the version before, and gives a blank file when unzipped.

Thanks

Re: TP-Link Plugin - How To (v0.1.2)

PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2018 4:49 pm
by Bildhauer1963
I cannot install your version 0.2 to Indigo v7.2, What's wrong?

Re: TP-Link Plugin - How To (v0.1.2)

PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2018 10:48 pm
by siclark
The file is empty. You need to download the full data from GitHub and pick out the plugin file from there.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Re: TP-Link Plugin - How To (v0.1.2)

PostPosted: Sat Dec 22, 2018 8:10 pm
by jtburgess
I don't know how, but the zip file was indeed wrong. I've updated it, and have tested downloading it.
It looks good, now. Sorry for the problem.

Re: TP-Link Plugin - How To (v0.1.2)

PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2019 3:52 pm
by ckeyes888
Got some Techin smartplugs cheap and am having trouble getting the IP address.
In the SmartLife app, which supports them, it shows an IP address of 65.131.203.178
I can’t find an address for it on any of my IP scan tools or on my modem device table.

Would be cool if the plugin could use it’s MAC address which shows as well in the Smartlife app.

Any ideas appreciated!

Thanks,

Carl

Re: TP-Link Plugin - How To (v0.1.2)

PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2019 4:15 pm
by jay (support)
Are you sure they use the same API as the TP-Link devices?

Re: TP-Link Plugin - How To (v0.1.2)

PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2019 4:24 pm
by ckeyes888
Really have no idea. How to find out?

Isn’t it odd that the IP address shown in the app isn’t a local IP?

Edit: Found this info...Support for Teckin Smart Plugs / Tuya API #1557

Thanks,

Carl

Re: TP-Link Plugin - How To (v0.1.2)

PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2019 6:01 pm
by jay (support)
ckeyes888 wrote:
Really have no idea. How to find out?


No idea. Just know that WiFi devices don't necessarily (or even usually) provide the same API, so it seems unlikely that it'll work with this plugin since it's not a TP-Link (but I could be wrong).

ckeyes888 wrote:
Isn’t it odd that the IP address shown in the app isn’t a local IP?


Yeah, seems odd.

ckeyes888 wrote:
Edit: Found this info...Support for Teckin Smart Plugs / Tuya API #1557


No link...

Re: TP-Link Plugin - How To (v0.1.2)

PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2019 7:09 pm
by FlyingDiver
Its either showing the WAN address, or it's showing a private network that the TP-Link devices uses between themselves for the power line side.