Slack Notify - Indigo Notification Plugin for Slack

Posted on
Sun Feb 22, 2015 11:10 am
achterberg offline

Slack Notify - Indigo Notification Plugin for Slack

Plugin for one of the internet's current poster children, Slack

Posting a message like:

*f.lux* _set_ to %%v:159384927%%\n`And this is a line displayed as code.`\n:bulb: <https://slack.com>

results in the following eye candy:

Optionally uploading an image with the message.
The plugin will also optionally upload a local file (e.g., the indigo log) to Slack.

The plugin is here, with instructions. Discussions should probably remain in this forum post though. Feel free to clone, make changes, and issue a pull request. I'm new to GitHub but this way, hopefully, contributions and improvements will be seemless. I am not a python developer, and this plugin is guaranteed to break in production :D . The code is a mess (PEP 8, what?). It works for me so far, but not every feature (Indigo and Slack) has been tested thoroughly. I'll try to fix things as they come up. I "borrowed" code snippets from other plugins and have attempted to provide credit.

For a simple python script:
Added to an embedded or external python script and with a few custom icons uploaded to Slack it will produce output like:

Posted on
Mon Feb 23, 2015 8:42 pm
matt (support) offline
Site Admin

Re: Slack Notify - Indigo Notification Plugin for Slack

This is really cool. Thanks for sharing it.

Now I have another reason to try out Slack. :-)

Posted on
Tue Feb 24, 2015 12:49 pm
achterberg offline

Thanks. I was wanting to explore writing a plugin and since I am hardware poor, I thought it was a good target. Maybe easier than a device plugin I think. To anyone wanting to develop a plugin, there is a learning curve, like everything, but there are plenty of examples and good documentation to do so.

Posted on
Sun Feb 07, 2016 7:30 pm
willidiots offline