Weather Underground Plugin

Posted on
Thu Mar 20, 2014 6:59 pm
DaveL17 offline
User avatar
Posts: 4020
Joined: Aug 20, 2013

Weather Underground Plugin

Download it here: [Download]

Overview:
The Weather Underground plugin scrapes key weather data from a JSON feed provided by Weather Underground. It allows the user to be able to create devices that represent individual locations for which weather data is presented. The weather data is presented by setting up devices (the data are stored in device state values.) Each location is represented by an individual device.
Last edited by DaveL17 on Fri Aug 15, 2014 8:29 pm, edited 21 times in total.

I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]

Posted on
Thu Mar 20, 2014 8:46 pm
matt (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 18427
Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Location: Texas

Re: Weather Underground Plugin

Hi Dave,

Great contribution -- thanks for sharing it! I've added it to our list of weather related plugins.

Image

Posted on
Thu Mar 20, 2014 9:19 pm
Korey offline
User avatar
Posts: 482
Joined: Jun 04, 2008
Location: Henderson, NV

Re: Weather Underground Plugin

matt (support) wrote:
Hi Dave,

Great contribution -- thanks for sharing it! I've added it to our list of weather related plugins.



Not seeing the download link for the plugin.. I could be blind thou.. :?

--
Korey

Posted on
Fri Mar 21, 2014 3:15 am
DaveL17 offline
User avatar
Posts: 4020
Joined: Aug 20, 2013

Re: Weather Underground Plugin

Korey wrote:
Not seeing the download link for the plugin.. I could be blind thou.. :?

It's available now from the User Contribution Library:

http://www.perceptiveautomation.com/fil ... ds=weather

I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]

Posted on
Fri Mar 21, 2014 6:15 am
jalves offline
Posts: 463
Joined: Jun 16, 2013

Re: Weather Underground Plugin

Wondering what level of developer I need to select in order to use this plug-in. Stratus, Cumulus, or Anvil?

Running Indigo 7.1.1 on a 27" iMac (mid-2017), 8G memory, 1T Fusion Drive, OS X 10.13.6
Jeff

Posted on
Fri Mar 21, 2014 6:23 am
DaveL17 offline
User avatar
Posts: 4020
Joined: Aug 20, 2013

Re: Weather Underground Plugin

jalves wrote:
Wondering what level of developer I need to select in order to use this plug-in. Stratus, Cumulus, or Anvil?

I use the most basic level (Stratus, Developer, No History). It's free, and provides up to 10 calls per minute and up to 500 calls per day (per API Key).

Dave

I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]

Posted on
Fri Mar 21, 2014 11:20 am
colinpartridge offline
Posts: 326
Joined: Jan 13, 2014
Location: London, UK

Re: Weather Underground Plugin

Thought I'd try this plugin with a local pws and I'm getting the following error..
Code: Select all
Wunderground Error              plugin runConcurrentThread function returned or failed (will attempt again in 10 seconds)
  Wunderground Debug              runConcurrentThread initiated.
  Wunderground                    Wunderground: pws:IGREATER22
  Wunderground Error              Error in plugin execution runConcurrentThread:

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "plugin.py", line 342, in runConcurrentThread
  File "plugin.py", line 74, in convStr
<type 'exceptions.ValueError'>: invalid literal for float(): NA

  Wunderground Error              plugin runConcurrentThread function returned or failed (will attempt again in 10 seconds)


It works fine if I use Canada/Toronto for example so I know my developer key is OK.

any ideas

Posted on
Fri Mar 21, 2014 11:46 am
jalves offline
Posts: 463
Joined: Jun 16, 2013

Re: Weather Underground Plugin

DaveL17 wrote:
jalves wrote:
Wondering what level of developer I need to select in order to use this plug-in. Stratus, Cumulus, or Anvil?

I use the most basic level (Stratus, Developer, No History). It's free, and provides up to 10 calls per minute and up to 500 calls per day (per API Key).

Dave


Thanks! Found out that I could select the Anvil plan with History at the Developer level for no cost so I did that. Got to allow for future expansion!

Jeff

Running Indigo 7.1.1 on a 27" iMac (mid-2017), 8G memory, 1T Fusion Drive, OS X 10.13.6
Jeff

Posted on
Fri Mar 21, 2014 1:51 pm
jalves offline
Posts: 463
Joined: Jun 16, 2013

Re: Weather Underground Plugin

So just trying this out but not seeing where I enter my API key. There doesn't seem to be an option for that when I select Plugin or when I create a device.

Running Indigo 7.1.1 on a 27" iMac (mid-2017), 8G memory, 1T Fusion Drive, OS X 10.13.6
Jeff

Posted on
Fri Mar 21, 2014 1:54 pm
DaveL17 offline
User avatar
Posts: 4020
Joined: Aug 20, 2013

Re: Weather Underground Plugin

colinpartridge wrote:
Thought I'd try this plugin with a local pws and I'm getting the following error..
Code: Select all
Wunderground Error              plugin runConcurrentThread function returned or failed (will attempt again in 10 seconds)
  Wunderground Debug              runConcurrentThread initiated.
  Wunderground                    Wunderground: pws:IGREATER22
  Wunderground Error              Error in plugin execution runConcurrentThread:

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "plugin.py", line 342, in runConcurrentThread
  File "plugin.py", line 74, in convStr
<type 'exceptions.ValueError'>: invalid literal for float(): NA

  Wunderground Error              plugin runConcurrentThread function returned or failed (will attempt again in 10 seconds)


It works fine if I use Canada/Toronto for example so I know my developer key is OK.

any ideas


The plugin is trying to convert something into a floating value and is really unhappy about it. Seriously though, what's happening is that Weather Underground is probably returning a string for a variable where a numeric is usually provided. It can be easily fixed, but I'm not in a place to be able to make a revised version of the plugin available until later today.

If you're seeing the error repeat in your log over and over again, I'd suggest disabling the plugin for the time being as it's possibly going to be reaching out to Weather Underground site every time Indigo reloads it.

[EDIT] Nevermind on the location info; I see now that it's in the log data you posted.

Sorry for the troubles,
Dave
Last edited by DaveL17 on Fri Mar 21, 2014 1:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]

Posted on
Fri Mar 21, 2014 1:57 pm
DaveL17 offline
User avatar
Posts: 4020
Joined: Aug 20, 2013

Re: Weather Underground Plugin

jalves wrote:
So just trying this out but not seeing where I enter my API key. There doesn't seem to be an option for that when I select Plugin or when I create a device.


The API key is entered through the plugin configuration menu. In Indigo, go to plugins, Wunderground and select Configure... From there you can enter the key and the frequency that you want to update the data.

On each device is where you enter the location you'd like to monitor.

I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]

Posted on
Fri Mar 21, 2014 2:35 pm
jalves offline
Posts: 463
Joined: Jun 16, 2013

Re: Weather Underground Plugin

The API key is entered through the plugin configuration menu. In Indigo, go to plugins, Wunderground and select Configure... From there you can enter the key and the frequency that you want to update the data.

On each device is where you enter the location you'd like to monitor.


Don't know how I missed this in the first place. Thanks!

Running Indigo 7.1.1 on a 27" iMac (mid-2017), 8G memory, 1T Fusion Drive, OS X 10.13.6
Jeff

Posted on
Fri Mar 21, 2014 2:43 pm
DaveL17 offline
User avatar
Posts: 4020
Joined: Aug 20, 2013

Re: Weather Underground Plugin

jalves wrote:
The API key is entered through the plugin configuration menu. In Indigo, go to plugins, Wunderground and select Configure... From there you can enter the key and the frequency that you want to update the data.

On each device is where you enter the location you'd like to monitor.


Don't know how I missed this in the first place. Thanks!


No problem whatsoever. Thanks for checking it out!

Dave

I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]

Posted on
Fri Mar 21, 2014 3:02 pm
colinpartridge offline
Posts: 326
Joined: Jan 13, 2014
Location: London, UK

Re: Weather Underground Plugin

DaveL17 wrote:

The plugin is trying to convert something into a floating value and is really unhappy about it. Seriously though, what's happening is that Weather Underground is probably returning a string for a variable where a numeric is usually provided. It can be easily fixed, but I'm not in a place to be able to make a revised version of the plugin available until later today.

If you're seeing the error repeat in your log over and over again, I'd suggest disabling the plugin for the time being as it's possibly going to be reaching out to Weather Underground site every time Indigo reloads it.

[EDIT] Nevermind on the location info; I see now that it's in the log data you posted.

Sorry for the troubles,
Dave

No need to apologise, wouldn't have surprised me if I had got the location information wrong..

Colin

Posted on
Fri Mar 21, 2014 3:44 pm
DaveL17 offline
User avatar
Posts: 4020
Joined: Aug 20, 2013

Re: Weather Underground Plugin

colinpartridge wrote:
No need to apologise, wouldn't have surprised me if I had got the location information wrong..

Colin

You are too kind.

I have revised the code, and need to run a test against the WU server. Will ask Jay and Matt to make the new version available later tonight.

Dave

I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest