Using Fing as a new way to detect smartphone presence

Posted on
Wed Apr 29, 2015 11:43 am
evansgo offline
Posts: 223
Joined: Nov 29, 2013

Re: Using Fing as a new way to detect smartphone presence

Um you have no real-idea about networks do you. Stop trying to neatly organise by ip bang them all in the same 192.168.x.x network and I suspect it will all work fine

Posted on
Wed Apr 29, 2015 12:05 pm
howartp offline
Posts: 4559
Joined: Jan 09, 2014
Location: West Yorkshire, UK

Re: Using Fing as a new way to detect smartphone presence

No need for that comment - Marty is using a 255.255.0.0 subnet mask so there's no reason why he shouldn't use different subnets.

Now, not knowing how Fingscan works in all scenarios, I don't know the full answer, but if it's only using ping then Marty's setup should work fine.

Posted on
Wed Apr 29, 2015 12:22 pm
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 8366
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Using Fing as a new way to detect smartphone presence

when you start fingScan it should tell which subnet it is scanning :

Code: Select all
pr 29, 2015, 1:10:54 PM
  Stopped plugin "fingscan 4.11.5"
  Starting plugin "fingscan 4.11.5" (pid 79907)
  Started plugin "fingscan 4.11.5"
  fingscan                        FINGSCAN--V 4-11-05   initializing     will take ~ 2 minutes...
  fingscan                        indigo variables initialized
  fingscan                        ipDevice folder already exists
  fingscan                        getting password
  fingscan                        get password done
  fingscan                        loaded indigo data
  fingscan                        network info: inet 192.168.1.176 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.1.255       <<<=====  this is the line you should look for
  fingscan                        FING initializing


I have tested it in hotels with class B networks (I believe) but anyway it worked with 255.255.x.x. BUT it will NOT work with 2 subnets. It will use the subnet it is currently in.
the code used is:
Code: Select all
      try:
         ret =subprocess.Popen("/sbin/ifconfig | grep inet | grep -v inet6 | grep -v 127.0.0",shell=True,stdout=subprocess.PIPE)
         lines = ret.communicate()[0].strip(" ").strip("\t").split("\n")[0] # == '\tinet 192.168.49.122 netmask 0xfffffc00 broadcast 192.168.51.255', '']
         self.myLog(255,u"network info: "+str(lines))
         del ret
         lines   = lines.split("inet ")[1].split(" netmask ")
         netmask   = lines[1].split("broadcast")[0].strip()[2:]
         netmask   = int(netmask,16)
         netmask   = int("ffffffff",16)  - netmask
         netmask =  self.intToBin(netmask)
         self.netwType= netmask.count("1")
         netw   = lines[0].split(".")
         netw[3] = "0"
         self.theNetwork= str(".".join(netw))
      except Exception, EText: ## in case it does not work use the default network 192.168.1.x
         self.netwType= 8
         self.theNetwork = "192.168.1.0"
         self.myLog(-2,u"get network did not work: Exception: "+str(EText))
   nwP= self.theNetwork.split(".")
   self.myLog(255,u"settings:  FINGSCAN will scan Network   "+str(nwP[0])+"."+str(nwP[1])+"."+str(nwP[2])+".1-255")


Hope that helps

BUT why do you need 2 subnets? You could only take advantage of it if your router and switches can actually do "subnettig" i.e. traffic isolation. You might need this when you have several real HDTV streamings thing going on at the same time. 3*Netflix is not enough.

Karl

Posted on
Wed Apr 29, 2015 12:57 pm
Marty offline
Posts: 11
Joined: Apr 29, 2015

Re: Using Fing as a new way to detect smartphone presence

Thanks for the help folks, makes a lot of sense.

The subnet division was more for my own sanity than anything - will go back to a single subnet.

Thanks again, and cheers for the fast responses.

Posted on
Wed Apr 29, 2015 1:45 pm
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 8366
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Using Fing as a new way to detect smartphone presence

actually when I think about it it is a good challenge to set this up -- even when you don't need it !

Posted on
Wed Apr 29, 2015 1:52 pm
Marty offline
Posts: 11
Joined: Apr 29, 2015

Re: Using Fing as a new way to detect smartphone presence

Haha! Go for it. :)

They way I saw it (although it appears I may be a fool) was that the number of smart devices will only grow, and it made sense to me to have them in their own subnet.

That way, I could focus Fing on my ranges for smart devices and/or DHCP and leave the rest out of it - I have no need for my always connected devices to be monitored (PS3, wired PCs etc).

As it stands now, I am seeing everything across my subnet, so its actually all working - the only thing missing is the ability to only focus on certain IP ranges.

Edit: What possibly got me confused - while the log states that it is only checking x.x.1-254, ("settings: FINGSCAN will scan Network 192.168.4.1-255") I see devices in my 1,2,3 and 4 subnets showing up just fine...
Last edited by Marty on Wed Apr 29, 2015 1:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Posted on
Wed Apr 29, 2015 1:55 pm
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 8366
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Using Fing as a new way to detect smartphone presence

you can exclude certain devices from being pinged in device/edit for each device , but not completely removed - they would be automatically recreated..

Will think about adding that.

Karl

Posted on
Mon May 04, 2015 4:35 am
evansgo offline
Posts: 223
Joined: Nov 29, 2013

Re: Using Fing as a new way to detect smartphone presence

evansgo wrote:
Um you have no real-idea about networks do you. Stop trying to neatly organise by ip bang them all in the same 192.168.x.x network and I suspect it will all work fine

Sorry, just got back again - that was obviously a late night after a long journey comment, it wasn't meant to come over so undiplomatically....

Posted on
Wed Aug 19, 2015 9:12 am
WouterK offline
Posts: 167
Joined: Aug 19, 2015

Re: Using Fing as a new way to detect smartphone presence

Because I am using a asus rt-ac68u router, I want to use the router informatie in fingscan. I am using Merlin version 378.55.
Seems like fingscan can not connect to the router. I am getting the error:

Router wifi not reachable, userid password or ipnumber wrong?

I did enter the right ipnumber, username and password. Is there anything else what I should do?

Thanks

Regards Wouter
Attachments
Screen Shot 2015-08-19 at 17.11.30.png
Screen Shot 2015-08-19 at 17.11.30.png (46.98 KiB) Viewed 6714 times

Posted on
Wed Aug 19, 2015 9:27 am
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 8366
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Using Fing as a new way to detect smartphone presence

could you switch on WIFI debug?

Karl

Posted on
Wed Aug 19, 2015 9:34 am
WouterK offline
Posts: 167
Joined: Aug 19, 2015

Re: Using Fing as a new way to detect smartphone presence

I only see the "toggle debug" option is that what you mean?
(Sorry, newbie)

Wouter

Posted on
Wed Aug 19, 2015 9:39 am
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 8366
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Using Fing as a new way to detect smartphone presence

in config you can select the debug level at the bottom, I have split this into sections as other wise your log file gets swamped

Posted on
Wed Aug 19, 2015 9:58 am
WouterK offline
Posts: 167
Joined: Aug 19, 2015

Re: Using Fing as a new way to detect smartphone presence

No WIFI Debug sorry:

These are options I have

Regards Wouter
Attachments
Screen Shot 2015-08-19 at 17.57.12.png
Screen Shot 2015-08-19 at 17.57.12.png (77.24 KiB) Viewed 6726 times

Posted on
Wed Aug 19, 2015 10:01 am
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 8366
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Using Fing as a new way to detect smartphone presence

it is in menu/ Configure
Attachments
Screen Shot 2015-08-19 at 11.01.13 AM.png
Screen Shot 2015-08-19 at 11.01.13 AM.png (21.75 KiB) Viewed 6725 times
Screen Shot 2015-08-19 at 10.59.58 AM.png
Screen Shot 2015-08-19 at 10.59.58 AM.png (201.38 KiB) Viewed 6725 times

Posted on
Wed Aug 19, 2015 10:05 am
WouterK offline
Posts: 167
Joined: Aug 19, 2015

Re: Using Fing as a new way to detect smartphone presence

I am sorry. Done that.

Regards Wouter

Page 27 of 32 1 ... 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30 ... 32

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 38 guests

cron