Alexa notifications via Notify Me Skill

Posted on
Sun Apr 22, 2018 9:21 am
ckeyes888 offline
Posts: 2417
Joined: Nov 26, 2009
Location: Kalispell, MT

Re: Alexa notifications via Notify Me Skill

Thanks, all good to know. I’ve tried the “ghetto” setup but find the delay a bit long.
Hope they’ll update the notify to actually speak soon.

Carl

Posted on
Mon Apr 23, 2018 6:54 am
whmoorejr offline
User avatar
Posts: 762
Joined: Jan 15, 2013
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Alexa notifications via Notify Me Skill

ckeyes888 wrote:
find the delay a bit long.


Agreed. For a security notification, I don't like delays. I use it primarily for courtesy notifications....

Geofence to announce when I'm arriving
Who just used their code to open the door followed-up by "Welcome home ________."
Reminder announcements, "Kids feed the animals" "Kids, time for bed" "Five minutes until school bus", etc.

For my security notifications, I stick with Pushover and an alert_text variable on control pages.

I would much prefer an immediate announcement of an event over a chime that requires a follow-up action to decipher the chime.

Bill
My Plugin: My People

Posted on
Tue Apr 24, 2018 4:54 pm
whmoorejr offline
User avatar
Posts: 762
Joined: Jan 15, 2013
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Alexa notifications via Notify Me Skill

ckeyes888 wrote:
Can the spoken text be directed to a variable?


Code: Select all
message = indigo.variables[1276581486].value
import json
import requests
body = json.dumps({
 "notification": (message),
 "accessCode":


Add the first line to bring in a variable.

Change the "notification": "Hello World" -> "notification":(message)

Leave everything else the same and it should work. (did for me).

Bill
My Plugin: My People

Posted on
Tue Apr 24, 2018 7:13 pm
ckeyes888 offline
Posts: 2417
Joined: Nov 26, 2009
Location: Kalispell, MT

Re: Alexa notifications via Notify Me Skill

Thanks. Much more useful.

Carl

Posted on
Mon Apr 30, 2018 5:07 pm
ryanbuckner offline
Posts: 1074
Joined: Oct 08, 2011
Location: Northern Virginia

Re: Alexa notifications via Notify Me Skill

This is fun, but what's the actual use case if you have to ask Alexa to read your notifications to hear the text?

Posted on
Tue May 01, 2018 8:54 am
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 18199
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Alexa notifications via Notify Me Skill

Because the ring flashes continuously (until cleared) and it makes a noise when a new notification arrives, I think that's a good way of getting attention. Particularly if you have enough Echo devices around the house so that it would be obvious wherever you may be.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Wed May 02, 2018 11:03 am
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 18199
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Alexa notifications via Notify Me Skill

FYI: viewtopic.php?f=123&t=20641

This could have been made into a plugin, but the script is so simple I thought it probably wasn't worth the effort. Someone else may do it however... :)

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Mon May 14, 2018 9:10 am
ryanbuckner offline
Posts: 1074
Joined: Oct 08, 2011
Location: Northern Virginia

Re: Alexa notifications via Notify Me Skill

There is a "Reminder" native skill that allows you to set a phrase to be announced at a scheduled time. Not sure if there's an API for that tho.

Posted on
Thu Jun 21, 2018 11:49 am
whmoorejr offline
User avatar
Posts: 762
Joined: Jan 15, 2013
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Alexa notifications via Notify Me Skill

ryanbuckner wrote:
There is a "Reminder" native skill that allows you to set a phrase to be announced at a scheduled time. Not sure if there's an API for that tho.


Yes?
https://developer.amazon.com/docs/alexa-voice-service/enable-named-timers-and-reminders.html

Plus you can execute your set "Reminder" phrase by voice command.

Bill
My Plugin: My People

Posted on
Thu Jun 04, 2020 11:55 am
kellermix1 offline

Re: Alexa notifications via Notify Me Skill

Hi how are you?
I'm trying to have Indigo talk to the Alexa through the Notify me skill.
I found out that a script should do the trick.
I've enabled the skill and they sent me the access code.
I'm not a programmer so I have no Idea how to set this up.
all I need alexa to say is "Garage door is open "or "garage door is closed" when it sees a device state changed from sensor value 252 to 147.Could you please send me a sample script and I will paste in the access code.Thanks for your help, Michael keller

Posted on
Thu Jun 04, 2020 12:17 pm
whmoorejr offline
User avatar
Posts: 762
Joined: Jan 15, 2013
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Alexa notifications via Notify Me Skill

kellermix1 wrote:
all I need alexa to say is "Garage door is open "or "garage door is closed" when it sees a device state changed from sensor value 252 to 147.


Problem... The "Notify Me Skill" doesn't speak. It creates a notification. So you will get the 'ding' followed by the yellow ring. When you ask, "Alexa, what are my notifications, she will say [whatever you script her to say]. To have her just announce stuff via indigo, there are a couple ways to do it... both require some tinkering. Like you, I'm not a programmer. So when I set off to get Alexa to talk to me, there was a lot of trial and error, plenty of cursing and a lot of help from folks on the forum.

kellermix1 wrote:
Could you please send me a sample script and I will paste in the access code.Thanks for your help, Michael keller


Create 2 triggers. One to fire when the garage door is open, the other to fire when it's closed.
The garage door open trigger will perform the action, "Execute Script (Script and File Actions)", "Embedded Python:"
Code: Select all
import json
import requests
body = json.dumps({
 "notification": "The Garage Door is Open",
 "accessCode": "your_access_code_here_inside_the_quotation_marks"
})
requests.post(url = "https://api.notifymyecho.com/v1/NotifyMe", data = body)

So when the "Garage Door Open" trigger fires, it will run that script and create a notification message on your amazon device.

As for making her speak, make sounds, etc., directly from indigo. I think you have 3 options:
1) Wait for Matt & Jay to create a fully functional Alexa plugin (They are working on it)
2) Script method (Two threads to read through because there are a couple ways to do it):
https://forums.indigodomo.com/viewtopic.php?f=138&t=22753
https://forums.indigodomo.com/viewtopic.php?f=138&t=20535
3) Node-Red. This one is unique because it allows for full control of your Alexa devices: Speech, sounds, routines, etc. There is a thread that describes how to install node-red (it runs as a server application in the background) with a web like interface where you drag and drop stuff onto it to create "Flows". It takes a bit to get it figured out, but once you do, it's fun.
https://forums.indigodomo.com/viewtopic.php?f=133&t=23486

Good luck and have fun.

Bill
My Plugin: My People

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests