What kind of blinds/shades are you using?

Forum rules

Questions about hardware that can be controlled by Indigo (but not through the interfaces and plugins listed). If Indigo doesn't support some bit of hardware you're interested in, and you don't find a 3rd Party Plugin for it, add it to this forum. Be sure to include links to as much information as you can find about it.

Note: adding it here does not mean we're going to add it - in fact it's possible one of our 3rd party developers may decide to write a plugin for it. We add hardware/features based on a lot of different factors beyond just having a request for it.

Posted on
Wed Aug 09, 2017 11:37 am
Different Computers offline
User avatar
Posts: 1744
Joined: Jan 02, 2016
Location: East Coast

What kind of blinds/shades are you using?

I know I've seen discussion of blind and shade controls here, but the appropriate forum is empty.

We're renovating my office, and since it's mine I can use it for all sorts of trial automation. This office has one window, standard 36" double hung, and I'd like a vertical motorized modern looking blind or shade. Optimally, it would be an accordion shade. (Is that what they call them?) I'm in the US.

What are people using?

SmartThings refugee, so happy to be on Indigo. 10.12.6 on an i5 MBP w/Harmony Hub, Hue, DomoPad, Dynamic URL, Device Extensions, HomeKit Bridge, MatplotLib, Plex, uniFAP, Wunderground, Nanoleaf, LED Simple Effects, Airfoil Pro, Grafana.

Posted on
Wed Aug 09, 2017 2:45 pm
jalves offline
Posts: 453
Joined: Jun 16, 2013

Re: What kind of blinds/shades are you using?

We have Bali motorized accordion shades on four windows (well, 2 windows and a pair on a slider). They are Z-wave so I should be able to add them to my system for Indigo control. I just haven't yet done that - but others have.

Running Indigo 7.1.1 on a 27" iMac (mid-2017), 8G memory, 1T Fusion Drive, OS X 10.13.5
Jeff

Posted on
Thu Aug 10, 2017 8:15 am
Swancoat offline
Posts: 475
Joined: Nov 20, 2009
Location: Houston

Re: What kind of blinds/shades are you using?

I have a Lutron honeycomb shade (assume that's the 'accordion' style you mention) in my office and some roller shades in my living room. My experience with Lutron has been outstanding. Most of my Lutron stuff has been bulletproof. Two of my roller shades recently started to fail though - I contacted Lutron tech support (which is really good). Once they were aware of exactly what was going on, etc... the solution was basically, "Yep. Can't fix that. Send us the info from the sticker in the battery compartment and we'll remake the shades and send you new ones."

http://nerdhome.jimdo.com

Posted on
Thu Aug 10, 2017 10:27 am
durosity offline
User avatar
Posts: 3459
Joined: May 10, 2012
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, Ye Ol' England.

Re: What kind of blinds/shades are you using?

Wow that’s pretty epic customer services from Lutron.. that said I suppose they’re quite expensive so they probably build some of that cost into replacement modules!

Computer says no.

Posted on
Sat Mar 24, 2018 2:19 pm
Different Computers offline
User avatar
Posts: 1744
Joined: Jan 02, 2016
Location: East Coast

Re: What kind of blinds/shades are you using?

I thought I'd revisit this topic with a slightly different twist.

I am blessed that my wife is a very talented seamstress, and she has made almost all the curtains for our home. These are universally hung on a plain rod with rings, no drawstring. That's fine with me--except that I have been unable to find any sort of way to automate this short of jury rigged pulleys and motors.

Anyone in this situation and either aware of an existing solution or who has figured out how to conquer the problem?

SmartThings refugee, so happy to be on Indigo. 10.12.6 on an i5 MBP w/Harmony Hub, Hue, DomoPad, Dynamic URL, Device Extensions, HomeKit Bridge, MatplotLib, Plex, uniFAP, Wunderground, Nanoleaf, LED Simple Effects, Airfoil Pro, Grafana.

Posted on
Sat Mar 24, 2018 6:01 pm
FlyingDiver offline
Posts: 2239
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Cape Coral, FL

Re: What kind of blinds/shades are you using?

I wonder if you could rig up some sort of linear actuator just under the rod, behind the drapes, that would pull/push them. Should be able to get something with at least 100% extension.

A pair of these would give you 48" open in the center: https://www.robotshop.com/en/firgelli-2 ... uator.html

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Tue Mar 27, 2018 12:40 am
howartp offline
Posts: 3231
Joined: Jan 09, 2014
Location: West Yorkshire, UK

Re: What kind of blinds/shades are you using?

Get a new wife, then new curtains?

Alternatively, a full length worm/threaded rod hidden behind the main rod, with motor on the end powered by Zwave 2-way module.

(*actually it would need to be two rods or the curtains would gather at one end, not split in middle)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Posted on
Tue Mar 27, 2018 7:57 am
durosity offline
User avatar
Posts: 3459
Joined: May 10, 2012
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, Ye Ol' England.

Re: What kind of blinds/shades are you using?

howartp wrote:
Get a new wife, then new curtains?


That’s what I’d have said. I’m clearly rubbing off on you.

Being sensible for a moment can’t you just replace the track with a properly motorised one? The cost of them is coming down.. when I last looked at then 5 years it’s cost minimum £400 for a simple straight window, now it’d seem a bay window can cost as little as £159. Add a z-wave module to that and you’ve got nice looking curtain rail without any jerryrigged mechanisms that in my experience tend to fail :/


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Computer says no.

Posted on
Wed Mar 28, 2018 2:32 pm
noel1983 offline
Posts: 324
Joined: Oct 17, 2014

Re: What kind of blinds/shades are you using?

Any links to the reasonable price ones you mention Durosity?
cheers

Posted on
Wed Mar 28, 2018 6:02 pm
durosity offline
User avatar
Posts: 3459
Joined: May 10, 2012
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, Ye Ol' England.

Re: What kind of blinds/shades are you using?

https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?mpre ... 2864915630

Now this one by default comes with a wireless remote, but I was messaging them and they said they can substitute that for a 4 wired connection that IN THEORY should work with a fibaro roller shutter module (to allow for closing to a % level) or at the very least a dual relay module that’d allow it to fully open and fully close. Now I’ve not bought one of these yet due to all sorts of crazy stuff going on lately (I tell ya 2018 has been horrid so far!) but I do intend to once some things clear up.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Computer says no.

Posted on
Thu Jun 21, 2018 5:27 pm
pbaperez offline
User avatar
Posts: 31
Joined: Jun 08, 2011
Location: Austin, TX

Re: What kind of blinds/shades are you using?

Anyone know how to start a post on the the appropriate forum, per the above?

I just completed a DIY motorized sun shade project that I want to share.

Used a Somfy motor, thought I'd share it.

Posted on
Thu Jun 21, 2018 6:10 pm
DaveL17 offline
User avatar
Posts: 3909
Joined: Aug 20, 2013

Re: What kind of blinds/shades are you using?

pbaperez wrote:
Anyone know how to start a post on the the appropriate forum, per the above?

I just completed a DIY motorized sun shade project that I want to share.

Used a Somfy motor, thought I'd share it.

I would think that this would be a good forum to use: https://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=133

I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest