MCO Home CO2 Sensor

Forum rules

Questions about hardware that can be controlled by Indigo (but not through the interfaces and plugins listed). If Indigo doesn't support some bit of hardware you're interested in, and you don't find a 3rd Party Plugin for it, add it to this forum. Be sure to include links to as much information as you can find about it.

Note: adding it here does not mean we're going to add it - in fact it's possible one of our 3rd party developers may decide to write a plugin for it. We add hardware/features based on a lot of different factors beyond just having a request for it.

Posted on
Sat Mar 18, 2017 8:40 am
muxel offline
Posts: 3
Joined: Mar 18, 2017

MCO Home CO2 Sensor

I would appreciate if the MCO Home CO2 Multi Sensor (MH9 Series) could be added to the Z-Wave Devices. It is the only CO2 Sensor I could find that runs with a power supply so it can quickly update the measurements.

Here is the Z-Wave Log:

Indigo Z-Wave Version: 2.0.34
Node ID: 4
Model: Multilevel Sensor (routing)
Model ID: 09050201
Manufacturer: Unknown
Manufacturer ID: 015F
Protocol Version: 3.67
Application Version: 1.02
Model Definition Version: 0
Library Type: 5
Class Name: Multilevel Sensor (routing)
Class Hierarchy: 04 : 21 : 01
Command Class Base: 31
Command Versions: 20v1 85v1 86v1 71v1 70v1 31v5 72v1 9Ev1
Encryption Status: Not Supported
Multi-Endpoint Types: - none -
Multi-Endpoint Classes: - none -
Multi-Instance Counts: - none -
Features: routing, beaming
Neighbors: - none -
Associations: 1:[1] 2:[]
Config Values: - none -

Their homepage:
http://www.mcohome.com/show_list.php?id=15&sid=51

Posted on
Sat Mar 18, 2017 11:40 am
matt (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 19460
Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Location: Texas

Re: MCO Home CO2 Sensor

What currently is happening with that device in Indigo? Based on the log above, I would expect it to show in Indigo as a sensor device. Can you describe in detail what is and is not working?

Image

Posted on
Sun Mar 19, 2017 1:11 pm
muxel offline
Posts: 3
Joined: Mar 18, 2017

Re: MCO Home CO2 Sensor

It does show up, but I don't get any sensor data! The only field is "status", and that has no content.

Posted on
Sat Sep 09, 2017 10:49 am
palantir offline
Posts: 41
Joined: Sep 24, 2014

Re: MCO Home CO2 Sensor

I'm seeing the same thing. The device connects and shows up as a "Multilevel Sensor" but I cannot retrieve any data from it. Is this scheduled to be added any time soon? If not, is there a "hack-an-xml-together" workaround that I could attempt myself?

Many thanks,
Ronald

Posted on
Sat Sep 09, 2017 1:52 pm
matt (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 19460
Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Location: Texas

Re: MCO Home CO2 Sensor

Turn on the Z-Wave debug logging checkbox via the Interfaces->Z-Wave->Configure... menu item, then use the button in the Main Window to send it a status request. Copy/paste the Event Log results into a reply for me.

Also use the Interfaces->Z-Wave->Manage Associations... menu item to add an association for Group #2 back to the Z-Stick. Does that change its behavior?

Image

Posted on
Mon May 20, 2019 3:40 pm
palantir offline
Posts: 41
Joined: Sep 24, 2014

Re: MCO Home CO2 Sensor

Matt,

I have successfully connected my MCO CO2 sensor. However, only the temperature and humidity are successfully sent to Indigo.

I did enable zwave debug mode and sent a status request for all sensors. In the debugging I see an error message: "requestVarSensorStatus: ignored (no device found for dispatch)" for what appears to be the measured CO2 level. Please see below:

20 May 2019 at 23:24:40
Z-Wave Debug RCVD requestVarSensorStatus: 01 0B 00 04 00 2A 05 31 05 05 01 35 DA
Z-Wave Debug . . requestVarSensorStatus: node 042, endpoint None, type 5, raw value 0135...
Z-Wave Debug . . requestVarSensorStatus: 53% (float: 53.000000)
Z-Wave received "MCO - Humidity" sensor update to 53%
Z-Wave Debug RCVD requestVarSensorStatus: 01 0C 00 04 00 2A 06 31 05 01 22 00 E4 28
Z-Wave Debug . . requestVarSensorStatus: node 042, endpoint None, type 1, raw value 2200...
Z-Wave Debug . . requestVarSensorStatus: 22.8 °C (float: 22.800000)
Z-Wave received "MCO - Temperature" sensor update to 22.8 °C
Z-Wave Debug RCVD requestVarSensorStatus: 01 0C 00 04 00 2A 06 31 05 11 02 03 40 BF
Z-Wave Debug . . requestVarSensorStatus: node 042, endpoint None, type 17, raw value 0203...
Z-Wave Debug . . requestVarSensorStatus: 832 ppm (float: 832.000000)
Z-Wave Debug . . requestVarSensorStatus: ignored (no device found for dispatch)
Z-Wave Debug RCVD requestVarSensorStatus: 01 0C 00 04 00 2A 06 31 05 11 02 03 F0 0F
Z-Wave Debug . . requestVarSensorStatus: node 042, endpoint None, type 17, raw value 0203...
Z-Wave Debug . . requestVarSensorStatus: 1008 ppm (float: 1008.000000)
Z-Wave Debug . . requestVarSensorStatus: ignored (no device found for dispatch)
Z-Wave connection reset requested

Any thoughts?

Many thanks,
Ronald
Attachments
Screenshot 2019-05-20 23.29.43.png
Screenshot 2019-05-20 23.29.43.png (39.72 KiB) Viewed 816 times

Posted on
Tue May 28, 2019 3:12 pm
matt (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 19460
Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Location: Texas

Re: MCO Home CO2 Sensor

Hi Ronald,

Sorry for the slow response – we'll have this fixed in Indigo 7.3.2.

Image

Posted on
Wed May 29, 2019 2:06 am
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 6663
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: MCO Home CO2 Sensor

I looked at CO2 sensors (< $100) and they are really not very sensitive.
If you want to measure slight deviations most of them do not work they have accuracies of ~10% = 400ppm +=40ppm

if you want to use an alarm settings it is immediately dangerous for people > 8%.
I can't image any scenario (besides Apollo 13) in normal life where that could happen, may be next to a burner..

Karl

Posted on
Wed May 29, 2019 2:16 pm
johnpolasek offline
Posts: 870
Joined: Aug 05, 2011
Location: Aggieland, Texas

Re: MCO Home CO2 Sensor

Are you talking CO2 or CO? CO2 is almost never an alarm situation, but toxic (100 ppm to 1000 ppm) CO levels kill hundreds of people every year when gas furnaces develop cracks in the heat exchanger or people try to reduce their heating bill by using a gas cooktop or portable heater or charcoal grill to save on heating costs in winter.

Posted on
Thu May 30, 2019 2:34 pm
johnpolasek offline
Posts: 870
Joined: Aug 05, 2011
Location: Aggieland, Texas

Re: MCO Home CO2 Sensor

+1 on the interlinked smoke/CO detectors (I use the First Alert OneLinks) that all go off when there is an alarm condition on any of them independent of anything else. But I have an additional layer of protection by adding the smokebridge so that if something triggers the detector when I am not home, Indigo sends me a push alert in addition to goring off (provided the fire hasn't disrupted the internet connection before the detector trips). And although I haven't done it yet, I was thinking of adding a Z-wave CO detector that might allow me to see a slowly rising CO level BEFORE it reaches the hardwired alarm level in the Onelinks. But my post was refering to the point that some people are talking CO, which is toxic in comparatively low concentrations and can easily sneak up on you with CO2 that (as Karl points out) is unlikely to become dangerous unless you somehow get trapped in a sealed space and are probably already aware that you have a major suffocation potential.

Posted on
Tue Jun 11, 2019 10:08 am
palantir offline
Posts: 41
Joined: Sep 24, 2014

Re: MCO Home CO2 Sensor

matt (support) wrote:
Hi Ronald,

Sorry for the slow response – we'll have this fixed in Indigo 7.3.2.


Thank you sir. Much appreciated!
Ronald

Posted on
Tue Jun 11, 2019 10:10 am
palantir offline
Posts: 41
Joined: Sep 24, 2014

Re: MCO Home CO2 Sensor

johnpolasek wrote:
Are you talking CO2 or CO? CO2 is almost never an alarm situation, but toxic (100 ppm to 1000 ppm) CO levels kill hundreds of people every year when gas furnaces develop cracks in the heat exchanger or people try to reduce their heating bill by using a gas cooktop or portable heater or charcoal grill to save on heating costs in winter.


This particular device is a CO2 sensor...

Posted on
Mon Sep 30, 2019 4:05 pm
matt (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 19460
Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Location: Texas

Re: MCO Home CO2 Sensor

Indigo 7.4 is now available and fixes the problem above of the CO2 sensor values not being updated by Indigo.

Image

Posted on
Thu Nov 28, 2019 5:16 pm
palantir offline
Posts: 41
Joined: Sep 24, 2014

Re: MCO Home CO2 Sensor

matt (support) wrote:
Indigo 7.4 is now available and fixes the problem above of the CO2 sensor values not being updated by Indigo.


Matt, I can confirm that in my 7.4 setup indeed the CO2 value is now showing. Many thanks!
Ronald

Posted on
Thu Nov 28, 2019 5:21 pm
matt (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 19460
Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Location: Texas

Re: MCO Home CO2 Sensor

Thanks for the confirmation!

Image

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest