Alarm.com integration

Forum rules

Questions about hardware that can be controlled by Indigo (but not through the interfaces and plugins listed). If Indigo doesn't support some bit of hardware you're interested in, and you don't find a 3rd Party Plugin for it, add it to this forum. Be sure to include links to as much information as you can find about it.

Note: adding it here does not mean we're going to add it - in fact it's possible one of our 3rd party developers may decide to write a plugin for it. We add hardware/features based on a lot of different factors beyond just having a request for it.

Posted on
Tue Sep 11, 2018 2:42 pm
rgspb offline
Posts: 128
Joined: Apr 24, 2009
Location: Florida

Alarm.com integration

I've tried searching the forums and have not been able to find an answer to my question. I've just upgraded my home alarm system with Alarm.com integration. I can now control and monitor my home alarm on my iPhone/iPad and also use Alexa to control it. How can I connect this to Indigo?
(Also It's not very clear which forum I should have posted this in, it's a little confusing)

Posted on
Tue Sep 11, 2018 3:21 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 14533
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Alarm.com integration

There are several factors, but my guess is going to be no. There are several plugins for alarm panels, but they all require serial connections (I believe). The last time anyone talked about Alarm.com, they wouldn't allow extra boards to be added to their panels (even if the hardware that they installed was one for which there was a plugin).

If the panel they installed in your house is can be controlled by one of the plugins above, then you'd need to contact Alarm.com to see if they would install the appropriate serial interface to it.

[MODERATOR NOTE] moved to a more appropriate forum since it's a question about hardware integration.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Tue Sep 11, 2018 4:28 pm
rgspb offline
Posts: 128
Joined: Apr 24, 2009
Location: Florida

Re: Alarm.com integration

Ok so it sounds like no matter what there will have to be a physical connection. Not really what I was hoping for. I guess I’ll just have to settle for Alexa integration. Thanks for the info!

Posted on
Tue Sep 11, 2018 4:59 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 14533
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Alarm.com integration

Well, I suppose it's possible they have a network based API - you'd have to ask them about that. If they do, then someone would need to write a plugin (or scripts) to use it. Seems unlikely though.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Tue Sep 11, 2018 5:21 pm
lanbrown offline
Posts: 526
Joined: Sep 26, 2017

Re: Alarm.com integration

They have an API but have no plans to allow their customer to be able to directly access it. You pay for it, but you cannot use it.

I would have steered clear of Alarm.com since they feel the need to have a closed API. Imagine what will happen when they get hacked.

Straight from the horses mouth; remember that this is for your best customer experience.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2018-09-11 at 6.17.38 PM.png
Screen Shot 2018-09-11 at 6.17.38 PM.png (295.21 KiB) Viewed 181 times

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest