Troubleshooting Insteon Comms: Anomaly?

Posted on
Sat Sep 12, 2020 7:16 am
BillC offline
Posts: 206
Joined: Mar 09, 2008

Troubleshooting Insteon Comms: Anomaly?

I have two Insteon devices on one circuit (in one wall box) that respond to commands/queries about 10-15% of the time, yet manually activating the device always gets posted to the log. Any idea what the problem could be?

Code: Select all
Sep 12, 2020 at 08:59:01
   Error                           "Outside:  Front Porch Lights" off; send failed (no acknowledgment)
   Error                           "Outside:  Front Porch Lights" off; send failed (no acknowledgment)

Sep 12, 2020 at 08:59:27
   Received INSTEON                "Outside:  Front Porch Lights" off

Sep 12, 2020 at 09:00:07
   Error                           "1st Floor Hall Lights" status request; send failed (no acknowledgment)

Sep 12, 2020 at 09:01:31
   Error                           "1st Floor Hall Lights" status request; send failed (no acknowledgment)

Sep 12, 2020 at 09:03:47
   Received INSTEON                "1st Floor Hall Lights" off
   Received INSTEON                "Outside:  Front Porch Lights" on
   Received INSTEON                "Outside:  Front Porch Lights" off
   Received INSTEON                "1st Floor Hall Lights" on

Sep 12, 2020 at 09:04:21
   Error                           "1st Floor Hall Lights" status request; send failed (no acknowledgment)

Sep 12, 2020 at 09:04:37
   Error                           "Outside:  Front Porch Lights" status request; send failed (no acknowledgment)


Posted on
Mon Sep 14, 2020 4:56 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 16344
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Troubleshooting Insteon Comms: Anomaly?

Signal noise of some kind is the most likely culprit (despite the behavior). You can try to resync them and make sure that there aren't any errant inter-device links (specifically to devices that don't exist any longer). But signal noise is almost always the issue with situations like this.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Mon Sep 14, 2020 5:42 pm
BillC offline
Posts: 206
Joined: Mar 09, 2008

Re: Troubleshooting Insteon Comms: Anomaly?

Thanks, Jay.

The microswitch in one of them is getting hard to activate; both are powerline only. I'm going to replace it with a dual-band device and see if that helps.

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron