Looking for a sensor that looks for current (AC)

Posted on
Mon Jul 30, 2018 11:33 am
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 2794
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Re: Looking for a sensor that looks for current (AC)

Instead of looking for a current could you instead look for a lack of current? If you used an inline module (Instead InlineLinc or Z-wave inline module) you could use a plugin like Device Extensions to report on how many minutes since it was last updated and give you a notification if it surpasses a predetermined number of minutes.

The 220v is a tricky option but I know there is an Elk 220v module that you can get that is inline.

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

HomeKit Bridge | Device Extensions | Security Manager | LCD Creator | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Powermiser | Homebridge Buddy

Check Them Out Here

Posted on
Mon Jul 30, 2018 12:28 pm
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 2794
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Re: Looking for a sensor that looks for current (AC)

Without knowing how all the parts interoperate and the nuances of each, I would think that if you put, say, an InlineLinc onto the pump output and know that the pump should run at least every X minutes/hours/etc then it would be simple enough to alert when there was no response after that much time.

You could also get a water sensor, as you had mentioned, and instead of relying on it being "poo proof" you could just break it open and solder onto the sensors (generally 3 metal feet) and run wires down to the area you are interested in.

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

HomeKit Bridge | Device Extensions | Security Manager | LCD Creator | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Powermiser | Homebridge Buddy

Check Them Out Here

Posted on
Mon Jul 30, 2018 3:10 pm
Colly offline
Posts: 274
Joined: Jan 16, 2016
Location: Ireland

Re: Looking for a sensor that looks for current (AC)

How about using something like the Fibaro Double Switch 2? For each led you would link the Phase (assuming they are also 230 V) to the S1 & S2 and then trigger on the state or combination of states of S1/S2. In theory this should work however someone else may have experience to suggest it won't..

Posted on
Mon Jul 30, 2018 4:02 pm
Colly offline
Posts: 274
Joined: Jan 16, 2016
Location: Ireland

Re: Looking for a sensor that looks for current (AC)

I agree with not making HA responsible. My suggestion is to only use the led voltage to switch S1 & S2, there would be no load attached to the Fibaro. It sounds like you have other reasons not to go z-wave anyhow.
Another way to avoid having the z-wave module in that environment would be to run a cable from the control panel to a more friendly environment and place the module there.

Posted on
Mon Jul 30, 2018 4:34 pm
Colly offline
Posts: 274
Joined: Jan 16, 2016
Location: Ireland

Re: Looking for a sensor that looks for current (AC)

lanbrown wrote:
if it fails, then it fails but the device still runs.

Exactly, don't over complicate it if there's no need!
lanbrown wrote:
So using the input side of things only does make sense.

It might seem like a waste of a module however I wouldn't mind that once it does what you want.

Posted on
Mon Jul 30, 2018 9:00 pm
matt (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 19178
Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Location: Texas

Re: Looking for a sensor that looks for current (AC)

Yes, the ZW140 was added to v7.1.0. We are a bit behind on updating our online device compatibility database.

Image

Posted on
Sun Oct 07, 2018 4:25 am
jblackburn offline
Posts: 65
Joined: Dec 11, 2013
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: Looking for a sensor that looks for current (AC)


Posted on
Wed Oct 10, 2018 4:48 am
agame offline
Posts: 241
Joined: Jul 13, 2017
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Looking for a sensor that looks for current (AC)

the Global Cache Flex also supports voltage sensing, and works nicely with Indigo.

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest