Broadlink RM Pro - Inexpensive IR/RF Integration

Posted on
Wed Aug 21, 2019 8:12 pm
mundmc offline
User avatar
Posts: 792
Joined: Sep 14, 2012

Broadlink RM Pro - Inexpensive IR/RF Integration

virgahyatt wrote:
It does have to be an independent Homebridge install. Not the Indigo plugin. You can install one on the same machine as indigo that I have experienced complications with that. If you plan on using the indigo plugin to control the Broadlink in the end, then you only need the extra Homebridge to get the codes. Once you're done you can remove it.


Thank you for clarifying! Saved me some time and angst. I have more raspi’s i care to admit... one of them can get a new assignment :)

Edit: more importantly, I suspect there are certain RF codes that are both common and desirable- curious what they turn out to be!

Posted on
Wed Oct 09, 2019 4:31 pm
mundmc offline
User avatar
Posts: 792
Joined: Sep 14, 2012

Re: Broadlink RM Pro - Inexpensive IR/RF Integration

Following up on this:

Q: to implement in Indigo, do you simply use the plugin action to “send raw code” (sorry if that’s not the exact name).

I guess I’m wondering if the RF and the IR codes are both executed the same way via the plugin.

Q2: Have you tried using available codes from public databases? I am curious if they transport to Broadlink without any re-coding.

Posted on
Wed Oct 09, 2019 5:45 pm
virgahyatt offline
Posts: 132
Joined: Jan 11, 2014

Re: Broadlink RM Pro - Inexpensive IR/RF Integration

Yes just the raw code command. I have not tried any public codes.

Posted on
Tue Feb 18, 2020 8:20 am
Alphaman offline
Posts: 35
Joined: Jun 07, 2014

Re: Broadlink RM Pro - Inexpensive IR/RF Integration

Anyone looking into testing the plugin with the Broadlink RM4 Pro? There don’t seem to be many changes between it and the RM Pro, save for the added ability to use an external sensor, a “Zero-conf” feature, and a new app.

Thoughts? The promise of an updated app is enticing, if nothing else.

Posted on
Thu Apr 02, 2020 4:31 pm
mundmc offline
User avatar
Posts: 792
Joined: Sep 14, 2012

Re: Broadlink RM Pro - Inexpensive IR/RF Integration

So 26 months later, i happened to have time to try putting the Homekit Bridge on an rpi, but getting the Broadlink plugin going on the pi was a bear.

Unfortunately, while i can capture codes, they ain’t working when I try them. I noticed the codes after “scan” and “learn” are the same in your example. Any tips?

Posted on
Fri Jan 29, 2021 5:34 pm
geoffsharris offline
Posts: 33
Joined: Nov 26, 2012

Re: Broadlink RM Pro - Inexpensive IR/RF Integration

Anyone interested in working with me to add the rm4 mini? Can get it to discover it and get authorization, but device is false and I ca't get it into learn mode. Don't think it would take much, but I need a bit of help understanding how the current plugin works.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests