Amazon Echo (1st Generation)

Posted on
Fri Mar 20, 2020 9:27 am
ELWOOD offline
Posts: 224
Joined: Feb 11, 2007
Location: Ramsey, NJ

Amazon Echo (1st Generation)

Got an email from Amazon today for reconditioned 1st generation alexa echo. Is this a version that might get my Alexa working again?

https://computers.woot.com/offers/amazon-echo-1st-generation-99?utm_campaign=AmazonOffer+-+20200319+-+Computers+-+3199310&utm_source=Amazon&utm_medium=email&ref_=pe_3199310_487053690

Elwood

Posted on
Fri Mar 20, 2020 10:01 am
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 16212
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Amazon Echo (1st Generation)

Looks like the one I have, though I will say I haven't tried it with just that one on the network (also have a gen1 dot as well). My suspicion is that it will work, but that's just a hunch. YMMV.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Fri Mar 20, 2020 11:05 am
CliveS offline
Posts: 491
Joined: Jan 10, 2016
Location: Medomsley, County Durham, UK

Re: Amazon Echo (1st Generation)

Yes that is the same as I bought to get my Alexa to work again in Indigo, it has only two buttons on top and the ring at the top for manual volume.
Grab it while you can and get Alexa back

CliveS

Indigo 7.4.1 : MacOS Catalina 10.15.1 : Mac mini Server (Mid 2011) : 2 GHz Core i7. : 8 GB. : 2 x 256GB Samsung EVO SSD
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The best way to get the right answer on the Internet is not to ask a question, it's to post the wrong answer

Posted on
Fri Mar 20, 2020 12:33 pm
siclark offline
Posts: 1234
Joined: Jun 13, 2017
Location: UK

Re: Amazon Echo (1st Generation)

ELWOOD wrote:
Got an email from Amazon today for reconditioned 1st generation alexa echo. Is this a version that might get my Alexa working again?

https://computers.woot.com/offers/amazon-echo-1st-generation-99?utm_campaign=AmazonOffer+-+20200319+-+Computers+-+3199310&utm_source=Amazon&utm_medium=email&ref_=pe_3199310_487053690

Elwood


There are ways to get Alexa back without needing a 1st generation echo, one simple that mirrors the hue bulbs and works locally ,the other that relies on an alexa skill and a 3rd party server but that gets you full alexa device types.

Posted on
Fri Mar 27, 2020 5:24 pm
siclark offline
Posts: 1234
Joined: Jun 13, 2017
Location: UK

Re: Amazon Echo (1st Generation)

edit. Above no longer needs 3rd part server, can be self hosted

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests