Door lock that reports state

Posted on
Wed Dec 26, 2018 9:18 am
peszko offline
Posts: 61
Joined: Mar 07, 2012

Door lock that reports state

I'm thinking of adding door lock to my setup and am not sure which one would work best with Indigo. My preference is z-wave at this point. I'm looking for having a key backup and a code keypad (or even fingerprint) input. I would also like to know the state (locked or unlocked) and possibly how the lock was operated (z-wave, key or code). Does such a lock exists? Any suggestions on locks would be welcome.

Posted on
Wed Dec 26, 2018 9:51 am
jalves offline
Posts: 494
Joined: Jun 16, 2013

Re: Door lock that reports state

I have two Kwikset locks in my home (912 & 916 models) and they provide (with Indigo) all the things you mentioned. No troubles other that being a bit finicky when first including them.

Running Indigo 7.2.0 on a 27" iMac (mid-2017), 40G memory, 1T Fusion Drive, OS X 10.13.6
Jeff

Posted on
Sat Dec 29, 2018 10:58 am
peszko offline
Posts: 61
Joined: Mar 07, 2012

Re: Door lock that reports state

Has anybody used the Yale Assure locks? The good thing for me with those locks is that the local locksmith can change out the cylinders on those to use the Abloy Protect 2 cylinders matching they existing locks and keys. How well do they integrate with Indigo? (I was looking at YRD226ZW2619)

Posted on
Sun Jan 06, 2019 1:44 pm
RWBUMP offline
Posts: 4
Joined: Jun 25, 2016

Re: Door lock that reports state

Just curious what did you do to get your Kwikset 912 to work with Indigo 7.2? I can get my Aeotec Stick gen 5 stick to pair, and I can add the device, but the statuses don't change, nor will it update state or operate the lock when commanded from Indigo. I also can't access the device in the Z-wave configuration parameters drop down list or manage associations. I have no problems with my August Smart lock. It worked right out of the box.

Posted on
Sun Jan 06, 2019 2:04 pm
matt (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 18860
Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Location: Texas

Re: Door lock that reports state

It sounds like it was included without encryption. If that is the case, you'll need to exclude it then re-include it using the encryption button option (in the device dialog).

Image

Posted on
Sun Jan 06, 2019 4:13 pm
jalves offline
Posts: 494
Joined: Jun 16, 2013

Re: Door lock that reports state

Have to agree with Matt above - once included with encryption all those features just work.

Running Indigo 7.2.0 on a 27" iMac (mid-2017), 40G memory, 1T Fusion Drive, OS X 10.13.6
Jeff

Posted on
Sat Jan 19, 2019 2:22 am
mswall offline
Posts: 24
Joined: Jan 23, 2009

Re: Door lock that reports state

Yes - We have three of the Yale Assure locks in out house with the IM1 - IOS module. I use an AppleTV 4k as my hub and these locks, if installed correctly without any obstructions, work flawlessly. We are very pleased with them. I'm hoping for some kind of a backward-bridge so that I can access them in Indigo, but it's not a problem - I pretty much control everything using HomeKit/EVE on the iPad and iPhones with HomeKit Bridge running in Indigo. Those apps get everything accessible in one place.

Posted on
Sat Jan 19, 2019 2:23 pm
jltnol offline
Posts: 347
Joined: Oct 15, 2013

Re: Door lock that reports state

I've got 2 Schlage Z-wave locks and have been happy with both. They report their state to Indigo, and can tell you which code was used last to unlock them via the keypad. Including them was a bit tricky as I recall, but in the end was more operator error than anything.

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest