KNX...again!

Posted on
Mon Dec 15, 2014 2:20 am
FaTMax offline

KNX...again!

I have a question...

Came over this today:

http://knxtoday.com/2014/02/3220/knx-be ... pport.html

Does this mean that Indigo potentially can control KNX devices? I've recently started learning about programming KNX, and with my experience with Indigo I know it would blow anything out there out of the water.

I'm NOT a developer, so I'm unsure if I'm able to tackle this on my own. I will try to look into it though. As I now have a few test devices for KNX at home, I could try the copy-paste-google-edit-test approach to see how far I get along with it ;)

Any thoughts?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Tue Dec 16, 2014 8:12 am
matt (support) offline
Site Admin

Re: KNX...again!

This means it should be possible to create an Indigo plugin that acts as a bridge to KNX devices, but creating such a plugin would be non-trivial. That is, it would not be just a few lines of scripting. Depending on how simple the API is, it might be possible to do basic 1-way (no feedback) control of devices using curl in scripts. I didn't see any examples of the RESTful API though, at least on the first couple of links I followed from that article, so I'm not sure how complex it is.

Posted on
Tue Dec 16, 2014 2:16 pm
OnnoH offline

On a dutch forum I spotted some remarks on KNX.

Codesys (http://www.codesys.com/products/codesys ... ndler.html) seem to have an API/SDK.

They also mentioned a (german) software solution, but that runs on MS Windows and is an Indigo competitor, so I'm not mentioning it her :D

Posted on
Tue Dec 23, 2014 5:52 pm
FaTMax offline