API not reporting device capabilities correctly?

Posted on
Sun Nov 16, 2014 1:41 am
indy offline
Posts: 23
Joined: Nov 15, 2014
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

API not reporting device capabilities correctly?

Hi

I'm finding that there is a little discrepancy between the information shown in API results and what is shown in the Indigo UI.

I have a AeoTec Smart Energy Switch (DSC06106) http://aeotec.com/z-wave-plug-in-switch/141-smart-switch-manual-instructions.html -- this device allows a gadgets connected to it to be able to be turned on and off. Additionally it reports energy usage.

The device is all setup in Indigo. In the Indigo Mac app "Device Details" in section for this device, I can see that the total device electricity usage is being reported. So that is super!

However when I try and get the information of that device via the API, the usage information is not there. Not only that, the device shows up as <typeSupportsEnergyMeter>False</typeSupportsEnergyMeter>.

So I think there is a mismatch somewhere between what is in the UI and what is in the API.

Is there any way to correct this?

Thanks

Indy

Posted on
Sun Nov 16, 2014 3:31 am
howartp offline
Posts: 4559
Joined: Jan 09, 2014
Location: West Yorkshire, UK

Re: API not reporting device capabilities correctly?

I suspect the first thing Matt/Jay will ask you to do is Edit Device Settings, then hit Write to Log - and copy/paste the entries from the log back here.

This will let them check exactly which version of that device you have so they can check the definitions.

Posted on
Sun Nov 16, 2014 3:39 am
indy offline
Posts: 23
Joined: Nov 15, 2014
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: API not reporting device capabilities correctly?

Thanks howartp. I'm attaching that information here:

Here are the device settings obtained from "Edit Device Settings"

Code: Select all
Z-Wave                          Indigo Device "Family Room Floor Lamp"
Z-Wave Properties:
Indigo Z-Wave Version: 1.0.281
Node ID: 9
Model: Smart Energy Switch (DSC06106)
Model ID: 00030006
Manufacturer: Aeon Labs
Manufacturer ID: 0086
Protocol Version: 2.78
Application Version: 1.43
Model Definition Version: 1
Library Type: 3
Class Name: Relay Power Switch
Class Hierarchy: 04 : 10 : 01
Command Class Base: 25
Command Versions: 20v1 25v1 86v1 27v1 32v2 70v1 31v3 72v1 85v1
Multi-Endpoint Types: - none -
Multi-Endpoint Classes: - none -
Multi-Instance Counts: - none -
Features: routing, beaming, energyMeter
Neighbors: 1, 8
Associations: 1:[1]
Config Values: 1:0 101:0 102:0 103:0 112:600 111:600 80:2 113:600 90:0 91:50 92:10


And this is what the API call for the same device shows:

Code: Select all
name : Family Room Floor Lamp
address : 0
addressStr : unknown
classID : 1
desc : 009 - Smart Energy Switch (DSC06106) - the one with cord
devProtocol : 999
displayInUI : True
displayLongState : off
displayRawState : off
folderID : 1015841512
hasStateToDisplay : True
id : 95639562
isOn : False
lastChanged : 469489769
lastChangedDateStr : 2014-11-16
lastChangedRFC3339 : 2014-11-16T08:49:29Z
lastChangedRFC822 : Sun, 16 Nov 2014 08:49:29 GMT
lastChangedTimeStr : 09:49:29 PM
type : Smart Energy Switch (DSC06106)
typeFlags : 17
typeSupportsDim : False
typeSupportsEnergyMeter : False
typeSupportsHVAC : False
typeSupportsIO : False
typeSupportsOnOff : True
typeSupportsSensorValue : False
typeSupportsSpeedControl : False
typeSupportsSprinkler : False
versByte : 0

Posted on
Sun Nov 16, 2014 12:31 pm
matt (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 21411
Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Location: Texas

Re: API not reporting device capabilities correctly?

The RESTful API doesn't currently expose the energy sensor values. The typeSupportsEnergyMeter is a legacy flag only used by the INSTEON iMeter Solo module.

We will be updating the RESTful API to fully expose the device object. Currently it is fully exposed via the Python IOM (Indigo Object Model), which is what we will be changing the RESTful API to use. This means it is currently exposed via Indigo python scripts and plugins. We don't have an ETA on when the RESTful work will be done, but it is high on the priority list :-).

Image

Posted on
Sun Nov 16, 2014 1:40 pm
indy offline
Posts: 23
Joined: Nov 15, 2014
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: API not reporting device capabilities correctly?

:) High on priority list -- will do for me!

And between the time I posted this to the forum, I did discover the Indigo scripting tutorial and played with it. Very cool!

I will use that to see if I can get hold of the values I need.

But update to Rest API would be most welcome and will help a lot.

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest