Creating a sprinkler device

Posted on
Thu Mar 09, 2023 5:55 pm
siclark offline

Creating a sprinkler device

I'm struggling a bit with trying to create and update a sprinkler device. I've got my relay and sensors working but hit a block now.
How can I update the zoneCount and zoneNames which I want to do programmatically based on the results of the API (along with some other details)
However the instructions say they aren't writable and dev.replaceOnServer() doesn't work as I get error on dev.zoneCount"12

I'm sure I'm needing something obvious but I'm new to this.

Cheers. Simon

Posted on
Fri Mar 10, 2023 9:58 am
jay (support) offline
Site Admin

Re: Creating a sprinkler device

Just to confirm/close this, you figured this one out by looking at the Rachio plugin, right?

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Fri Mar 10, 2023 10:19 am
siclark offline

Yes. Many other questions about the Rachio plugin as without a Rachio API key it's a bit hard to step through and understand, bit solved this question.
Thanks

Posted on
Tue Mar 21, 2023 5:16 pm
siclark offline

Hi Jay.
Could you help with how to add onState to a sprinkler. I see your toggleStandbyMode method uses if dev.onState: but I can’t get my sprinkler device to accept supporting it and I think testing the rachio plug-in with json code from the rachio API docs, the rachio errors on that line too.
I can use setstandbyMode for my purposes but trying to understand more.

Thanks. Simon

Posted on
Wed Mar 22, 2023 12:05 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin

Sprinkler devices have no onState, so that action will not work correctly (it's a bug). Looking at the github commit log, it was added after I stopped working on it.