PyCharm Problem?

Posted on
Sat Nov 16, 2019 11:47 am
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 16902
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: PyCharm Problem?

So, the Plugins preference tab looks like this at the bottom:

grab4.png
grab4.png (11.48 KiB) Viewed 850 times


but your plugin's menu doesn't look like this at the top:

grab3.png
grab3.png (13.02 KiB) Viewed 850 times


Note that you have to close the preferences dialog for the change to take effect.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Sun Nov 17, 2019 8:43 am
dclonts offline
Posts: 49
Joined: Nov 05, 2006

Re: PyCharm Problem?

Correct. PyCharm enabled. Debug menus enabled. But I do not have the debug options. See attached.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2019-11-17 at 8.38.43 AM.png
Screen Shot 2019-11-17 at 8.38.43 AM.png (144.16 KiB) Viewed 834 times

David Clonts

Posted on
Sun Nov 17, 2019 8:45 am
dclonts offline
Posts: 49
Joined: Nov 05, 2006

Re: PyCharm Problem?

Running Indigo 7.3.1 btw.

David Clonts

Posted on
Sun Nov 17, 2019 8:19 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 16902
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: PyCharm Problem?

Can you take a screenshot of the Plugin tab in the Preferences dialog?

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Mon Nov 18, 2019 11:43 am
dclonts offline
Posts: 49
Joined: Nov 05, 2006

Re: PyCharm Problem?

Here you go. Is there a pref file I can trash? seems off...
Attachments
Screen Shot 2019-11-18 at 11.42.46 AM.png
Screen Shot 2019-11-18 at 11.42.46 AM.png (392.7 KiB) Viewed 780 times

David Clonts

Posted on
Mon Nov 18, 2019 1:45 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 16902
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: PyCharm Problem?

Email us (support AT indigodomo DOT com) the following file:

Code: Select all
/Library/Application Support/Perceptive Automation/Indigo 7.3/Preferences/Indigo Server Prefs.indiPref

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Mon Nov 18, 2019 3:13 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 16902
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: PyCharm Problem?

Matt just had a thought: what ID are you using for your plugin? It should NOT start with "com.perceptiveautomation" or "com.indigodomo" since those are our private namespaces. You can make one up if you don't have a DNS hostname that you can reverse.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Mon Nov 18, 2019 8:12 pm
dclonts offline
Posts: 49
Joined: Nov 05, 2006

Re: PyCharm Problem?

So what did it was take the prefs out and put back in. Now it's working...not sure exactly why. But I'm good.

Thanks

David Clonts

Posted on
Thu Nov 21, 2019 4:06 pm
dclonts offline
Posts: 49
Joined: Nov 05, 2006

Re: PyCharm Problem?

Well, closer.

When my plugin starts, get the following in the log, and the PyCharm debug config is still waiting for process to connect. is this related to the PyCharm fork of pydevd?..

Enabling plugin "Hayward 2.0.3"
Debugging plugin "Hayward 2.0.3" (pid 64492)
PyCharm Debugging Error Unable to load pydevd
PyCharm Debugging Error Make sure you have the most recent version of PyCharm installed and in your /Applications/ folder
Started plugin "Hayward 2.0.3"
PyCharm Debugging Error Unable to load pydevd
PyCharm Debugging Error Make sure you have the most recent version of PyCharm installed and in your /Applications/ folder

Nov 21, 2019 at 4:03:57 PM
Hayward Error device "new device 2" does not have a valid device type PL-PS-16-V
Received INSTEON "u-Thermostat" off (button 1)

David Clonts

Posted on
Thu Nov 21, 2019 4:12 pm
dclonts offline
Posts: 49
Joined: Nov 05, 2006

Re: PyCharm Problem?

Final datapoint. Jetbrains was kind enough to install PyCharm in:

/Users/dclonts/Applications/JetBrains Toolbox/PyCharm Professional.app

that is, within a folder JetBrains Toolbox in my home directory, not in the root.

may be source of problem?

David Clonts

Posted on
Thu Nov 21, 2019 5:51 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 16902
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: PyCharm Problem?

That's really weird - usually there isn't an installer, you just drag it to the /Applications folder. That's where it needs to be. And it should just be named PyCharm.app...

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Thu Nov 21, 2019 6:07 pm
dclonts offline
Posts: 49
Joined: Nov 05, 2006

Re: PyCharm Problem?

Yeah, looks like new from JetBraIns--an app to manage/update/install their IDE's: https://www.jetbrains.com/toolbox-app/.

So, Ill try a symlink to the PyCharm Pro...if that does not work, will just install it as PyCharm in the application s directory.

AND...I assume it is the root app dirrectory, and not under user's home directory.

Will let you know.

David Clonts

Posted on
Fri Nov 22, 2019 9:24 am
dclonts offline
Posts: 49
Joined: Nov 05, 2006

Re: PyCharm Problem?

Yay. Simlink did not work. Reinstall (direct install) of PyCharm in /applications. Did the trick.

Thanks for all the help!

David Clonts

Posted on
Fri Nov 22, 2019 10:21 am
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 16902
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: PyCharm Problem?

Good to know, thanks. We need to include the pydevd module that ships with PyCharm in order for debugging to work. We used to include that module with Indigo, but if the version of the module isn't the same as what ships with PyCharm then there are issues. So instead we just include the path to the module in the PyCharm install instead.

We'll see if we can figure out how to get the new location in (in some future release).

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Sat Jul 18, 2020 6:27 pm
dclonts offline
Posts: 49
Joined: Nov 05, 2006

Re: PyCharm Problem?

So the debugger loading problem is back. get this in event log:

Reloading plugin "HaywardCurrent 2.0.3"
Stopping plugin "HaywardCurrent 2.0.3" (pid 18968)
Stopped plugin "HaywardCurrent 2.0.3"
Debugging plugin "HaywardCurrent 2.0.3" (pid 18985)
PyCharm Debugging Error Unable to load pydevd
PyCharm Debugging Error Make sure you have the most recent version of PyCharm installed and in your /Applications/ folder
Started plugin "HaywardCurrent 2.0.3"
PyCharm Debugging Error Unable to load pydevd
PyCharm Debugging Error Make sure you have the most recent version of PyCharm installed and in your /Applications/ folder

And the debug window in pycharm is stuck at:

Starting debug server at port 5678
Use the following code to connect to the debugger:
import pydevd_pycharm
pydevd_pycharm.settrace('localhost', port=5678, stdoutToServer=True, stderrToServer=True, suspend=False)
Waiting for process connection...

David Clonts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests

cron