MenuItem ConfigUI saving/loading of values

Posted on
Tue Mar 27, 2018 12:27 pm
vtmikel offline

MenuItem ConfigUI saving/loading of values

I need help with something I've never done before in a plugin and I couldn't find an example to look at.

I want to build a MenuItem with a ConfigUI that essentially contains advanced configuration values for my plugin. I noticed a few things:

Question 1: The fields in MenuItems ConfigUI don't seem to save the values automatically like they do in the Plugin Configuration...

Question 2: If I have to save the values of the fields in the MenuItem configUI myself, I can do that in the CallbackMethod, but where and how would I load those values back up, particularly when I need to change the selected item of lists or menus?

Thanks.

Posted on
Tue Mar 27, 2018 12:48 pm
FlyingDiver offline

Re: MenuItem ConfigUI saving/loading of values

First question - why a separate menu item and not just an advanced section of the normal config dialog? Perhaps a section hidden by an "Advanced" checkbox?

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Tue Mar 27, 2018 12:51 pm
vtmikel offline

FlyingDiver wrote:
First question - why a separate menu item and not just an advanced section of the normal config dialog? Perhaps a section hidden by an "Advanced" checkbox?

I'll go this way if I need to. I already had a fairly advanced configuration so consider this "level 3", but still something that every user will need to access. This plugin has no devices, so everything will be in the plugin menu. This was my attempt to break it up.

Posted on
Tue Mar 27, 2018 12:57 pm
FlyingDiver offline

vtmikel wrote:
Question 1: The fields in MenuItems ConfigUI don't seem to save the values automatically like they do in the Plugin Configuration...

Where would it save them to? It's not the plugin config dialog, so it doesn't know you're trying to save those fields as pluginPrefs...

vtmikel wrote: