Pulse Counting

Posted on
Tue Jan 14, 2020 9:38 pm
farberm offline

Pulse Counting

I am in need of some help setting up pulse counting to determine the hourly and daily water usage. I currently have a water meter that outputs 2 pulses per gallon and the output is connected to an Insteon 2450 i/O Linc. I know is is connected correctly as the light flashes when water is being used. What I would like to do is be able to set up a script to track the water usage hourly and daily and display it in a format similar to the following (see image) When entering a date it display the hourly amounts at the top graph and the daily for the month below.

I'm kind of new to using python and would need some help getting started and how to accomplish this. I have search online but did not really find anything. One option is to use Grafana but I still need to log the hourly and daily amount and store the data. That is the first part of the project. Once that is completed then I can work on the display options.

The graphic comes from a device called irrigation caddy. Mine is starting to fail and no longer reliable. I am not sure how to hack the web interface to determine how things are scripted. If someone can tell me how to do that then that would also be a solution.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2020-01-14 at 10.31.36 PM.png
Screen Shot 2020-01-14 at 10.31.36 PM.png (82.8 KiB) Viewed 3013 times

Posted on
Wed Jan 15, 2020 3:42 am
howartp offline

Re: Pulse Counting

I think my starting point would be the Timed Devices plugin, which has a few different device types. I think the Activity Tracker will be the one you want; one for hourly and one for daily.

Then you just need a trigger and script to store the value into a variable just before it resets, to maintain your historical data.

The Device Variable plugin will optionally collate the variables into one device for viewing in the UI.

Then either of the graphing plugins should be able to display your history for you.