MAC number to vendor info

Posted on
Wed Mar 14, 2018 9:52 am
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 6657
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

MAC number to vendor info

[url]/usr/bin/curl http://api.macvendors.com/[/url]

does not work any more (switched off due to misuse), have not found anything that does not require any registration (API) or offers just full screen queries = no command line option anymore.

hence my plugins (fingscan, unifi) that use that feature do not resolve any new MAC numbers any more,

still checking for alternatives.


Karl

Posted on
Wed Mar 14, 2018 10:08 am
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 2794
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Re: MAC number to vendor info

Not sure if it's the same folks but https://macvendorlookup.com says they are reworking their API and you can contact them to get in on the testing of it. They got DDOS'd as a result of API abuse but it looks like they are going to republish it so that they avoid that in the future.

That's who I've used for years for Mac lookups.

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

HomeKit Bridge | Device Extensions | Security Manager | LCD Creator | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Powermiser | Homebridge Buddy

Check Them Out Here

Posted on
Wed Mar 14, 2018 2:04 pm
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 6657
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: MAC number to vendor info

I believe they are the same.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Wed Mar 14, 2018 2:27 pm
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 2794
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Re: MAC number to vendor info

Then you should reach out to him, he's not eliminating the API just reworking it and if you contact him to explain your use I'm sure he'll let you in on the early phases of it.

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

HomeKit Bridge | Device Extensions | Security Manager | LCD Creator | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Powermiser | Homebridge Buddy

Check Them Out Here

Posted on
Wed Mar 14, 2018 9:39 pm
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 6657
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: MAC number to vendor info

did that and have downloaded the complete listing, from: https://regauth.standards.ieee.org/standards-ra-web/pub/view.html#registries
trying to make this into a small python package I can attach to the plugins and make available to others


Karl

ps,
this will give you a stripped down list of
MAC#,name for large /medium / small companies address ranges for MAC number ( E043DB / 1C8776D / 70B3D5913) ":" removed
Code: Select all
curl -L https://standards.ieee.org/develop/regauth/oui/oui.csv      |  tail -n +2  | cut -d',' -f'2,3' | sed 's/"//'> oui
curl -L https://standards.ieee.org/develop/regauth/oui28/mam.csv    |  tail -n +2  | cut -d',' -f'2,3' | sed 's/"//'> mam
curl -L https://standards.ieee.org/develop/regauth/oui36/oui36.csv  |  tail -n +2  | cut -d',' -f'2,3' | sed 's/"//'> oui36

lines look like:
Code: Select all
E043DB,Shenzhen ViewAt Technology Co.
2405F5,Integrated Device Technology (Malaysia) Sdn. Bhd.
3CD92B,Hewlett Packard
9C8E99,Hewlett Packard
B499BA,Hewlett Packard
1CC1DE,Hewlett Packard

8439BE3,ShenZhen Fudeyu Technology co.
1C88799,Xingtera China Ltd
40A36B5,National Research Council of Canada

70B3D5001,SOREDI touch systems GmbH
70B3D5D70,Rational Production srl Unipersonale
70B3D5426,Zehnder Group Nederland
70B3D5266,Spectra Displays Ltd
70B3D5D38,Vista Research
70B3D5996,XpertSea Solutions inc.
70B3D5605,Aplex Technology Inc.
!!! ":" removed !!!
will add a python wrapper around it to get
getMACtoVendor(MAC)

which will return vendor name

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest