New to python - WHERE do my scripts go, and how do i call

Posted on
Mon Sep 18, 2017 8:00 am
sjbrownie offline

New to python - WHERE do my scripts go, and how do i call

I'm new to python and Indigo. I have reasonable code experience (PHP mostly).

What I have:
I have a Raspberry Pi that serves as Garage door supervisor. I can query the state of any of my garage doors with a simple http request. On the scripting command line I have made the http query, and assigned it to a variable in indigo.

What I am missing:
I cant figure out how / where to save and re-use the commands I had success with.
I want to make a device called Garage Door, and then use the variable from the http query to know its status (open / closed).

Thanks for the help in advance. Its probably such a noob question to you all.

Posted on
Mon Sep 18, 2017 9:54 am
autolog offline

Re: New to python - WHERE do my scripts go, and how do i cal

Sounds like you need to set-up a virtual device

One potential gotcha is that you have to enable the Virtual Devices interface from the main menu: Interfaces > Virtual Devices > Enable

You now need to set-up individual action groups for the virtual device. Go to the main window sidebar, select ACTION GROUPS and then click New...
You need to select Server Actions > Script and File Action > Execute Script to enter your script details.

That's a starter for 10 :)

Posted on
Mon Sep 18, 2017 10:39 am
sjbrownie offline

Thanks for Enable Virtual Devices tip.

Ive got my script entered as an action group as you indicate. Its working when i press run, it returns the correct property of the garage door (a 0 in this case). Sorry for my ignorace, but now how do I use that to update a virtual device?

Posted on
Mon Sep 18, 2017 11:24 am
autolog offline

I presume that you want to just check the status rather than be able to open/close the garage door from Indigo?