Creating variable script to operate within control page

Posted on
Mon Mar 02, 2020 6:26 pm
Eagleye offline

Creating variable script to operate within control page

I was wondering if it is possible to add indicator lights to control pages that turns on when certain trigger conditions are meet?
E.g. I have a "Plug-in Smart Switch 6" connected to a power outlet that monitors power usage to a submersible in-ground water tank pump. I know when the pump is operating, because the power usage increases.
I would like to add an indicator light to my control page that turns on when power usage reaches a certain level and then off when it drops below another level.

I though variables might work here, but I have limited knowledge in this area.

Posted on
Wed Apr 22, 2020 8:49 pm
whmoorejr offline

Re: Creating variable script to operate within control page

Variable would probably be the easiest route....

Create a variable "WaterTankPump" <- or whatever you want to call it.

Turn it on and write down the power usage. For example use, let's say it's 40w when on and 0.something when off.

Create two triggers, Both will be trigger off of the smart switch.
WaterTankPumpOn / Trigger when current load becomes greater than 30 / Condition=always / Actions: Variable Action: Modify Variable, WaterTankPump Set to "on"
WaterTankPumpOff / Trigger when current load becomes less than 30 /Condition=always / Actions: Variable Action: Modify Variable, WaterTankPump Set to "off"

Now you should be able to have a bi-color icon on a control page that looks at that variable.

To be a little fancier, create two actions.... WaterTankPump-On and WaterTankPump-Off. The actions would each have one action, to turn the smart switch on or off.

Now, create a Virtual on/off Device called "WaterTankPump". For on, select the action "WaterTankPump-On". For off, select "WaterTankPump-Off" action then select "Supports status" and use your "WaterTankPump" variable.