Problems with triggers

Posted on
Wed Nov 30, 2016 8:11 pm
captcurrent offline
Posts: 361
Joined: Nov 28, 2005

Problems with triggers

I am not sure how to properly express thissto activate the associated action group
I am using X10 Door sensors and am trying to confirm that all door are closed

Using Switchboard and building a dive group I find sort of last in first out situation .. last door status change seems to govern the group
(see monitor attachment)
monitor.jpeg
monitor.jpeg (91.79 KiB) Viewed 1910 times


So I tried to build a trigger to check the doors (see trigger attachment)
trigger.jpeg
trigger.jpeg (71.34 KiB) Viewed 1910 times


trouble is it doesnt seem to see the correct value of the varable (FrontDoorWest-A)

From the image (variable) can see the variable front_door_west_open is true yet the trigger treats li like it is false..
variable.jpeg
variable.jpeg (88.39 KiB) Viewed 1910 times


I am just treading water on this so any help or suggestions would be appreciated

Posted on
Wed Nov 30, 2016 8:31 pm
matt (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 18732
Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Location: Texas

Re: Problems with triggers

How are you testing the conditional? Note pressing the Execute Actions button in the Main Window UI bypasses (ignores) the conditional and always executes the action.

Image

Posted on
Thu Dec 01, 2016 8:00 am
captcurrent offline
Posts: 361
Joined: Nov 28, 2005

Re: Problems with triggers

OOps didn't know that

If the conditional, such as mine, is not met does the trigger action still appear in the log??

Posted on
Thu Dec 01, 2016 8:51 am
matt (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 18732
Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Location: Texas

Re: Problems with triggers

If the conditional isn't matched nothing will be logged (and trigger will not fire).

Image

Posted on
Thu Dec 01, 2016 11:32 am
captcurrent offline
Posts: 361
Joined: Nov 28, 2005

Re: Problems with triggers

Guess I will have to build separate triggers and debug

Am I right on the last status in driving a device group. Essentially if I have five doors closed and one opens the action group will go even though 4 remain closed

Posted on
Thu Dec 01, 2016 1:55 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 14884
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Problems with triggers

captcurrent wrote:
Am I right on the last status in driving a device group. Essentially if I have five doors closed and one opens the action group will go even though 4 remain closed


I believe that's more of a question for Benjamin (the developer of the Switchboard plugin).

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Thu Dec 01, 2016 2:45 pm
captcurrent offline
Posts: 361
Joined: Nov 28, 2005

Re: Problems with triggers

I see no signs that it is being maintained... last Version of Indigo referenced is 5

Posted on
Thu Dec 01, 2016 3:20 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 14884
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Problems with triggers

I'd still post the question on that forum - perhaps someone else who uses the plugin can answer.

If your sensors are standard X10 sensors then you might be able to use a Device Group instead. It has an option to set the group's state to ON either when one device in the group is on or when ALL of the devices in the group are on. You'd use the former in your scenario to know when they're all off.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Thu Dec 01, 2016 3:59 pm
captcurrent offline
Posts: 361
Joined: Nov 28, 2005

Re: Problems with triggers

I have a problem trying to so In following the steps shown in http://wiki.indigodomo.com/doku.php?id= ... ice_groups

when i create a new device, there is no Device Collection to select fromhe Type menu, and therefore no Device Group from the model menu,

Running version 7.02 in both server and client on Sierra

Posted on
Thu Dec 01, 2016 5:37 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 14884
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Problems with triggers

That should read Virtual Devices (not Device Collection) - I've updated the docs.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Thu Dec 01, 2016 6:12 pm
captcurrent offline
Posts: 361
Joined: Nov 28, 2005

Re: Problems with triggers

OK I sort of beat the issue.... I appears that switchboard and I are fighting over the same Variable that I use to trigger a door check/... I built triggers for each door and verified its status

The issue was the variable the switchboard action groups was suppose to change... DoorClosed

I added a new variable DoorClosed_Copy and let the trigger from the door actionsupdate it apart form the switch board action groups and all works... after 4 days of debugging


Ok I was thinking of changing over the devices from X10 Switch board Monitored to straight device but the device type (DS10A) is no loner apparently supported.. I have enough issues between the boolean logic with out trying to apply on/off to an open/closed

any suggestions on this one??


I think there is a light a the end of the tunnel just concerned how big the locomotive is

Posted on
Thu Dec 01, 2016 6:21 pm
captcurrent offline
Posts: 361
Joined: Nov 28, 2005

Re: Problems with triggers

ahh VIRTUAL like reality Ok figured out how to activate that but it doesn't see my sensors as I they are switchboard monitiored Please see my post above about DS10S

Thanks for all the help it sort of works with bailing wire and duct tape see if I can clena it the rest the way up by rebuilding devices

Posted on
Mon Dec 12, 2016 3:27 pm
bschollnick2 offline
Posts: 1324
Joined: Oct 17, 2004
Location: Rochester, Ny

Re: Problems with triggers

jay (support) wrote:
captcurrent wrote:
Am I right on the last status in driving a device group. Essentially if I have five doors closed and one opens the action group will go even though 4 remain closed


I believe that's more of a question for Benjamin (the developer of the Switchboard plugin).


It is being maintained, but I rarely am stressing the system anymore. I keep thinking about cleaning the code up, but I haven't found any bugs that might help encourage me to do so.

We're reached a place where the Home Automation at the house is "good enough", and I rarely get any feedback, comments, suggestions in the forums, so really the best way to reach me is via email (benjamin at schollnick dot net).

First, from the picture, you have "Only on Open", and "Only on Close" turned on. Those two chooses are exclusive. I'll have to look into adding that into the configuration file so that Indigo will prevent that. (See a bug report! That's the first one in two years!)

Only on Open, means that the trigger is only going to be seen by indigo on an "Open". Same with Close.

If you want both Open & closes to trigger, then turn both of those off.

But it sounds like you want to trigger on the Monitored group with the "Devices Trigger" trigger. When you have a monitored group, if you have *ANY* devices shown as Open, then "Devices Triggered" will be True.

It's a simple way to ensure that all the Doors / Windows, etc, are closed.

And now that I've posted to this forum, I'll be email notified. So feel free to let me know if this did or didn't help.

- Benjamin

------
My Plugins for Indigo (v4, v5, and v6) - http://bit.ly/U8XxPG

Security Script for v4 - http://bit.ly/QTgclf
for v5 - http://bit.ly/T6WBKu

Support Forum(s) - http://www.perceptiveautomation.com/userforum/viewforum.php?f=33

Posted on
Thu Dec 22, 2016 5:03 pm
captcurrent offline
Posts: 361
Joined: Nov 28, 2005

Re: Problems with triggers

I was over thinking it i followed your simple guidance and it appear fine

i was trying to be too fancy and trying o not only fine open or close but notify who the changer was example security come on and a door is still open , who is that door


Thanks!!

Posted on
Sat Dec 31, 2016 8:05 am
bschollnick2 offline
Posts: 1324
Joined: Oct 17, 2004
Location: Rochester, Ny

Re: Problems with triggers

captcurrent wrote:
I was over thinking it i followed your simple guidance and it appear fine

i was trying to be too fancy and trying o not only fine open or close but notify who the changer was example security come on and a door is still open , who is that door


Thanks!!


Glad I could help....

------
My Plugins for Indigo (v4, v5, and v6) - http://bit.ly/U8XxPG

Security Script for v4 - http://bit.ly/QTgclf
for v5 - http://bit.ly/T6WBKu

Support Forum(s) - http://www.perceptiveautomation.com/userforum/viewforum.php?f=33

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest