ad2usb plugin discussion

Posted on
Thu Jul 27, 2017 2:02 am
berkinet offline
User avatar
Posts: 2830
Joined: Nov 18, 2008
Location: Berkeley, CA, USA & Mougins, France

Re: ad2usb plugin discussion

scs wrote:
...I understand the AD2Pi can emulate a zone expander on Vista panels, but I haven't been able to verify if my panel is compatible with the type of zone expander that the AD2Pi emulates.
The AD2* will provide expander emulation for all the standard residential Honeywell ADEMCO/Vista panels 15P. 20P, 21IP, 40P and, I think, 50P. I believe it emulates the 4219 zone expander.

Posted on
Fri Jul 28, 2017 8:32 am
scs offline
Posts: 18
Joined: Nov 28, 2014

Re: ad2usb plugin discussion

berkinet wrote:
scs wrote:
...I understand the AD2Pi can emulate a zone expander on Vista panels, but I haven't been able to verify if my panel is compatible with the type of zone expander that the AD2Pi emulates.
The AD2* will provide expander emulation for all the standard residential Honeywell ADEMCO/Vista panels 15P. 20P, 21IP, 40P and, I think, 50P. I believe it emulates the 4219 zone expander.


Yah, that makes sense. the 4219/4229 are the only compatible expanders for Vista 20P, and they aren't compatible with the Vista 128.... so I may swap out my panel if I can find a deal on a 20P.
Thanks
scs

PS: on a side note, are the keypad control pages provided in the plugin package just for Demo purposes?, or are they supposed to work? ....they display the status fine, but I can't arm the system with them. (read but no write)

Posted on
Fri Jul 28, 2017 11:21 am
berkinet offline
User avatar
Posts: 2830
Joined: Nov 18, 2008
Location: Berkeley, CA, USA & Mougins, France

Re: ad2usb plugin discussion

scs wrote:
...PS: on a side note, are the keypad control pages provided in the plugin package just for Demo purposes?, or are they supposed to work? ....they display the status fine, but I can't arm the system with them. (read but no write)
The control pages are provided as examples. Feel free to edit them as needed for your functionality.

Posted on
Sat Jul 29, 2017 3:16 pm
Japple55 offline
Posts: 191
Joined: Sep 26, 2015
Location: Florida

Re: ad2usb plugin discussion

berkinet wrote:
Japple55 wrote:
...When I manually set the alarm to AWAY mode using the keypad, and then clear it on my return by entering the user code, the display alternates between "Alarm Canceled" and Disarmed Chime - ready to arm." That is when the plugin starts generating the errors, and continues to do so until I re-enter the user code again. At that point, the display only reads"Disarmed Chime - ready to arm." So there is something about the "Alarm Canceled" message that the plugin doesn't like....

That seems likely. It will be a while before I can look at the problem. However, I don't know why you are seeing that message in the first place. It seems inappropriate to the actions you are taking.


Follow-up on this: after more testing, it appears that the "Alarm Cancelled" message only appears (alternating) if the alarm is disarmed by user code shortly after setting the AWAY mode, as in when testing. If I set it to AWAY mode, and then actually leave the house for a period of time, it will function normally and not generate any log errors when I disarm it upon return. I don't know why, or what the minimum time threshold is, but at least now I know it's not really an issue for normal operations.

Jim

Posted on
Sun Jul 30, 2017 1:52 am
berkinet offline
User avatar
Posts: 2830
Joined: Nov 18, 2008
Location: Berkeley, CA, USA & Mougins, France

Re: ad2usb plugin discussion

Japple55 wrote:
...Follow-up on this: after more testing, it appears that the "Alarm Cancelled" message only appears (alternating) if the alarm is disarmed by user code shortly after setting the AWAY mode, as in when testing. If I set it to AWAY mode, and then actually leave the house for a period of time, it will function normally and not generate any log errors when I disarm it upon return. I don't know why, or what the minimum time threshold is, but at least now I know it's not really an issue for normal operations....
Thanks for the update. I will look into the handling of the Alarm Cancelled message this winter when I am back in the US.

Posted on
Wed Aug 02, 2017 8:05 am
scs offline
Posts: 18
Joined: Nov 28, 2014

Re: ad2usb plugin discussion

This might seem like a simple question but I've been unable to find an answer to it in the docs or forum.
What's the character I need to provide when I "write to panel" with a command like L091 (to fault zone 09) so that it gets executed/entered at the panel ?

I have a Vista 20P Panel (v9.1) now , and also use the AD2Pi for virtual zone expansion with several of the Insteon sensors in the house here.
I have a Zone 09 that uses insteon sensors to fault the zone if the garage doors are opened . It uses a Indigo trigger that basically says " If Garage door sensor = On, then [AD2USB Action} Write to Panel "L091" <something is missing at the end because it doesn't execute on the panel, it just sits there



[00000001100000000A--],002,[f70000071002000028020000000000],"FAULT 02 PERIMETER DOORS "
V
!VER:ffffffff,V2.2a.8.2,TX;RX;SM;VZ;RF;ZX;RE;AU;3X;CG;DD;MF;LR;KE;MK;CB;DS;ER
[00000001100000000A--],002,[f70000071002000028020000000000],"FAULT 02 PERIMETER DOORS "
C
!>
!CONFIG>MODE=A&CONFIGBITS=ff00&ADDRESS=18&LRR=N&COM=N&EXP=YNNNN&REL=NNNN&MASK=ffffffff&DEDUPLICATE=Y
!Reading configuration.
!UART init.
[00000001100000000A--],002,[f70000071002000028020000000000],"FAULT 02 PERIMETER DOORS"
L091 <<<*Entered manually (including a return)*
091
!Sending..done
!EXP:07,01,01
[00000301100000000A--],009,[f70000071009030028020000000000],"FAULT 09 GARAGE "
[00000001100000000A--],002,[f70000071002000028020000000000],"FAULT 02 PERIMETER DOORS"
[00000001100000000A--],009,[f70000071009000028020000000000],"FAULT 09 GARAGE "
L[00000001100000000A--],002,[f70000071002000028020000000000],"FAULT 02 PERIMETER DOORS "
090 <<< *Entered manually*
090
!Sending..done
!EXP:07,01,00
[00000001100000000A--],002,[f70000071002000028020000000000],"FAULT 02 PERIMETER DOORS"
[10000001100000003A--],008,[f70000071008001c28020000000000]," DISARMED CHIME Ready to Arm " <<< *Closed Perimeter door, and opened garage door*
091
^^^ ( The trigger wrote that , but it just sits there since there's no return to "enter" the command)

Posted on
Wed Aug 02, 2017 10:45 am
scs offline
Posts: 18
Joined: Nov 28, 2014

Re: ad2usb plugin discussion

scs wrote:
This might seem like a simple question but I've been unable to find an answer to it in the docs or forum.
What's the character I need to provide when I "write to panel" with a command like L091 (to fault zone 09) so that it gets executed/entered at the panel ?

I have a Vista 20P Panel (v9.1) now , and also use the AD2Pi for virtual zone expansion with several of the Insteon sensors in the house here.
I have a Zone 09 that uses insteon sensors to fault the zone if the garage doors are opened . It uses a Indigo trigger that basically says " If Garage door sensor = On, then [AD2USB Action} Write to Panel "L091" <something is missing at the end because it doesn't execute on the panel, it just sits there


I just switched my triggers to to change the state of the Virtual Zones, and everything is working as expected . I open the garage door, and the keypad chimes and displays the Faulted Zone 9.
It would still be handy to "write to panel" though .... might come in useful at some point :)

Thanks for your efforts on this Berkinet,

Posted on
Wed Aug 23, 2017 3:58 pm
dz1rfj offline
Posts: 108
Joined: Mar 13, 2016

Re: ad2usb plugin discussion

A quick picture of my plugin settings if it helps anyone. Selecting ADVANCED prevented me from seeing my ADT triggers.
Attachments
ADTUSB.png
Plugin Config settings
ADTUSB.png (110.05 KiB) Viewed 144 times

Posted on
Thu Aug 24, 2017 2:34 am
berkinet offline
User avatar
Posts: 2830
Joined: Nov 18, 2008
Location: Berkeley, CA, USA & Mougins, France

Re: ad2usb plugin discussion

dz1rfj wrote:
A quick picture of my plugin settings if it helps anyone. Selecting ADVANCED prevented me from seeing my ADT triggers.

Thanks for posting your config. I do have one comment to offer. For most people, it is better to run the ser2sock program (to share the ad2usb over the network) and then connect to the ad2usb using IP. By doing that, you can connect to the ad2usb using other programs at the same time the plugin is running. That might be a telnet session direct to the ad2usb, the ad2usb MonoGUI, or some other software.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest