Comments/Questions on RFXtrx

Posted on
Fri May 18, 2012 10:47 am
b_weijenberg offline
Posts: 103
Joined: Jun 14, 2006

Re: Comments/Questions on RFXtrx

No, the protocols used by the RFXLAN are different from the RFXtrx433/RFXrec433

It seems there is a Belkin LAN-USB hub that can be used to connect the RFXtrx to a network but I don't know if the plug-in supports a TCP/IP connection.

Posted on
Sat May 19, 2012 5:09 am
johnpolasek offline
Posts: 231
Joined: Aug 05, 2011

Re: Comments/Questions on RFXtrx

b_weijenberg wrote:
There should be no need to configure the protocols using RFXmngr.
It is prefered that the plug-in initializes the protocols used in the RFXtrx433/RFXrec433. I will check with the developer if this is implemented.


I guess I misunderstood you when you said that enabling protocols that are not in use reduces the sensitivity of the receiver; Since I do not use the European X10, ATI, HomeEasy, etc, I had intended to disable those, although the receiver seems to work fairly well with them enabled...

b_weijenberg wrote:
Note that you have to connect the USB before you start RFXflash, the RFX is not detected if you start RFXflash and after that the USB.
RFXmngr can be started before you connect the USB.
Only 1 application can connect the RFX at the same time. If you have connected the RFX with RFXmngr than RFXflash will not detect the RFX.


I had restarted the Windows machine after reflashing the RFXrec(with the unit still attached through the USB), and then tried to reconnect; the RFXFlash refused to connect, and RFXmngr connected but left all the protocol and frequency checkboxes unchecked and unselectable. Perhaps the unit simply needed to be powered down to reinitialize itself? I now have it back on the Macintosh, and as long as it continues to work there, I don't plan to tinker.

Posted on
Sat May 19, 2012 6:18 am
b_weijenberg offline
Posts: 103
Joined: Jun 14, 2006

Re: Comments/Questions on RFXtrx

Please read the message posted by Matt Fri May 18, 2012 2:07 pm.

Posted on
Mon May 21, 2012 5:58 am
johnpolasek offline
Posts: 231
Joined: Aug 05, 2011

Re: Comments/Questions on RFXtrx

b_weijenberg wrote:
Please read the message posted by Matt Fri May 18, 2012 2:07 pm.



Thanks; That is a whole lot easier; either it was a newly implemented feature or I totally missed it when I first set up the RFX a few weeks ago... But another question: is the "signal strength" state implimented or is it simply generating a blanket "5" for temperature sensors? The Radio Shack temperature transmitters I am using all show signal strength 5, including the one from the freezer when I pulled it out and synched it with the RFX, and initially the one in the freezer simply stopped updating when I closed the lid so I assumed the metal was shielding it. But upon checking the log, I see that it IS updating occasionally once or twice per day... but the signal strength when it does is STILL 5. I don't think it's a sensor problem because the display hung above the freezer seems to be updating continuously and the transmitter is rated to -40 (F or C) while the freezer is running around 5 F (-15 C).

Posted on
Mon May 21, 2012 7:37 am
b_weijenberg offline
Posts: 103
Joined: Jun 14, 2006

Re: Comments/Questions on RFXtrx

The signal strength is a value between about 5 to 10 and is only an indication. I think 4 is the absolute minimum.

The THC138 can be used for freezer or fridge.
The very last available here: http://oregonscientific.premiumstore.co ... hc138.html

Posted on
Mon May 21, 2012 3:09 pm
Dewster35 offline
User avatar
Posts: 816
Joined: Jul 06, 2010
Location: Petoskey, MI

Re: Comments/Questions on RFXtrx

Will pretty much any temperature sensor transmitting on 433.92MHz be able to be picked up by this receiver or do you have to add support for specific manufacturers and models?

Posted on
Tue May 22, 2012 1:47 am
b_weijenberg offline
Posts: 103
Joined: Jun 14, 2006

Re: Comments/Questions on RFXtrx

Only sensors listed on this page are supported (even if another sensor is 433.92MHz)
http://www.rfxcom.com/oregon.htm

Posted on
Tue May 22, 2012 5:46 am
Dewster35 offline
User avatar
Posts: 816
Joined: Jul 06, 2010
Location: Petoskey, MI

Re: Comments/Questions on RFXtrx

Ok... can we ask that certain devices get added to the list to be supported or is it technically impossible?

Posted on
Tue May 22, 2012 7:20 am
b_weijenberg offline
Posts: 103
Joined: Jun 14, 2006

Re: Comments/Questions on RFXtrx

Is the list not long enough ;-)

For the moment no other sensors will be added because the technical limits are almost reached.
If you find a sensor that is received but not listed please send a message to rfxcom support with the brand and type of that sensor and how the sensor is recognized and it will be added to the list. For example a Radio Shack sensor can use oregon inside and will be reported as Oregon sensor.

Posted on
Tue May 22, 2012 7:32 am
Dewster35 offline
User avatar
Posts: 816
Joined: Jul 06, 2010
Location: Petoskey, MI

Re: Comments/Questions on RFXtrx

Haha... it's a long list, but you know these types of lists are never long enough!

What is your support email address?

Posted on
Tue May 22, 2012 7:49 am
b_weijenberg offline
Posts: 103
Joined: Jun 14, 2006

Re: Comments/Questions on RFXtrx

See the contact page at www.rfxcom.com

Posted on
Tue Jun 05, 2012 6:25 am
Dewster35 offline
User avatar
Posts: 816
Joined: Jul 06, 2010
Location: Petoskey, MI

Re: Comments/Questions on RFXtrx

jay (support) wrote:
You can install mono and try it - it worked for me after several attempts. Terrible user experience though given the mono bugs, etc...


Jay,
Can you explain in a brief walkthrough to changing the firmware version on a mac using mono? I'm having the same issues with my water sensor and I really don't want to hose anything up!

Posted on
Tue Jun 05, 2012 9:14 am
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 8636
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Comments/Questions on RFXtrx

I think that's better supported by the RFXCOM guys since it's their software - Robert/Bert?

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook

Posted on
Thu Jun 07, 2012 6:54 am
Dewster35 offline
User avatar
Posts: 816
Joined: Jul 06, 2010
Location: Petoskey, MI

Re: Comments/Questions on RFXtrx

Guys, any chance I can get a walkthrough on how to update the firmware using Mono so I can get my water gage giving me good data?

Posted on
Thu Jun 07, 2012 12:00 pm
b_weijenberg offline
Posts: 103
Joined: Jun 14, 2006

Re: Comments/Questions on RFXtrx

Sorry, I don't have a Mac OS system so I can't help you.
I hope this site will give you all help information to get it operational.
http://www.mono-project.com/Mono:OSX
Or find a Windows system to flash the RFXrec433/RFXtrx433

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron