Does anyone have any spare TempLincs?

Posted on
Tue Apr 19, 2011 11:35 am
gmusser offline
Posts: 263
Joined: Feb 12, 2005
Location: New Jersey

Does anyone have any spare TempLincs?

... that they might be willing to part with? I'd really like to do temperature monitoring of my house.
George

Posted on
Tue Apr 19, 2011 3:41 pm
eme jota ce offline
Posts: 331
Joined: Jul 09, 2009
Location: SW Florida

Re: Does anyone have any spare TempLincs?

As an alternative, I've recently had very good results getting temp & humidity data into Indigo variables using Weathersnoop lite and Oregon Scientific hardware. O.S. has a receiver that can receive data from up to 10 temp/hum sensors and can connect to a mac via USB, Weathersnoop can store the data into an SQLite database, from there, I use an applescript to bring it into Indigo.

O.S. hardware purchase was a WMR200_ULTIMATE kit along with additional THGR810 receivers. Kit was on the sales page for greater than 50% off and has several Temp/humidity receivers along with two mac compatible receivers. Online chat guys offered an additional discount code without any prompting.

Setup has been reporting temp / hum data for 9 units into Indigo for about two weeks. No problems. I can say that all nine sensors were consistent while I had them placed very close to each other for about 12 hours before installation.

Posted on
Tue Apr 19, 2011 4:04 pm
gmusser offline
Posts: 263
Joined: Feb 12, 2005
Location: New Jersey

Re: Does anyone have any spare TempLincs?

Nice! I'm not sure I'd want such an elaborate setup - could I get by with just http://us.oregonscientific.com/cat-Weat ... ation.html?
George

Posted on
Tue Apr 19, 2011 4:57 pm
eme jota ce offline
Posts: 331
Joined: Jul 09, 2009
Location: SW Florida

Re: Does anyone have any spare TempLincs?

I'd check the Weathersnoop site for compatibility or send the developer a note to see if that unit will work.

Posted on
Wed Apr 20, 2011 7:13 am
matt (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 14015
Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Location: Texas

Re: Does anyone have any spare TempLincs?

Note that the new INSTEON Energy Display has a built-in temperature sensor. But two caveats: 1) It doesn't ship from Smarthome until the end of August, and 2) Indigo doesn't yet support it.

Image

Posted on
Wed Apr 20, 2011 7:49 am
gmusser offline
Posts: 263
Joined: Feb 12, 2005
Location: New Jersey

Re: Does anyone have any spare TempLincs?

Can the sensor be remotely polled?

Posted on
Wed Apr 20, 2011 7:55 am
matt (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 14015
Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Location: Texas

Re: Does anyone have any spare TempLincs?

I thought I heard it was possible, but I need to look into it some more. Most of these battery operated INSTEON modules go to sleep when not in use, which makes polling impossible.

Image

Posted on
Wed Nov 30, 2011 3:46 pm
bbruck offline
Posts: 279
Joined: Oct 05, 2008

Re: Does anyone have any spare TempLincs?

Matt - 5.0.2 doesn't support the energy display yet, does it?

Posted on
Wed Nov 30, 2011 3:49 pm
matt (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 14015
Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Location: Texas

Re: Does anyone have any spare TempLincs?

Not yet. No estimate either, but it is on my desk. However, I have a big desk.

Image

Posted on
Wed Nov 30, 2011 3:56 pm
bbruck offline
Posts: 279
Joined: Oct 05, 2008

Re: Does anyone have any spare TempLincs?

Yes, but it is such a CUTE little device, just sitting there and begging "Use me please!!!"

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests